ICE Question.. help is needed

5hadow

i'm thinking of building audio system for my car... right now i'm driving a wira a/b and starting from scratch. just bought my self Pioneer DEH3950 and right now thinking of buying component set/ rear speaker/ amp and sub for my car. There's a few question i would like to ask...

1) can anyone rate me lightning audio speaker? i just watched Superstar audio show with lightning audio sound system inside and quite amazed with the sound quality. but few of my friend didnt rate lightning audio as high as i do, so i need u guys oppinion in this matter.

2) one of my friend told me that the speaker played a little part in sound quality. the most important is the amp. is this true? comment?

3) was it okay if i use my current HU to build my ICE system? do i need to upgrade it?

when u say lightning audio has good sound quality, what are u comparing it with actually? maybe u can join the weekly audio TTs and have a listen to several cars before u make a decision. check out mycarhifi.com for date & venues. usually fridays at kuchai lama, and another one fridays at tmn dagang, ampang.

speakers play a big part in SQ, more than amps, in fact u buy amps to suit what speakers u prefer usually, not the other way round. upgrading speakers has more impact compared to changing amps in the beginner to moderate sq level. but at high end sq changing amps make quite the difference.

your HU is entry level only, ok la for a start but should be upgraded later on if u have the budget.

hehe, i dunt do comparison for it actually because i'm new with this ICE thingy. But i do like the output because the sound is not kinda bassy thing, other sound like treble output is kinda solid to my ear.. some kinda like that la.. maybe i should join the audio TT. i'm sure gonna check that site out :D.

by saying that, i guess u have other brand in mind? care to recommend some? and the amp that suits it.. thanx in advance.

p/s i'm not thinking of any kinda amount to budget now, but u can take it in the range of 1-2k perhaps

1) can anyone rate me lightning audio speaker? i just watched Superstar audio show with lightning audio sound system inside and quite amazed with the sound quality. but few of my friend didnt rate lightning audio as high as i do, so i need u guys oppinion in this matter.?

Nope, only price high as high end product coz Distributor make bigger margin.. Like America Sound product.. at overseas it is unknown product even in US but price tak ingat.. potong kepala punya.......

2) one of my friend told me that the speaker played a little part in sound quality. the most important is the amp. is this true? comment??

Nope.. HU, Amp, Speaker, RCA/Speaker cable also play big part.. If U use RM3K amp than drive Mohawk speaker, what the result?.. Fxxxxk

3) was it okay if i use my current HU to build my ICE system? do i need to upgrade it?

Yes, for the moment keep it, slowly upgrade the amp, speaker, Sub.. After all those than time U change the HU either U bought "Pure Deck" or else. In the market now got alot good product between RM1K-RM2K like Vifa, Steg, Audison, Alpine, DLS, Morel, Focal & etc laa..

make it simpler, whats the component i need for a kinda beginner ICE system? HU, amp (2 channel? or 4 channel?), door speaker and rear speaker, right? whats the different between component set and 3-way speaker? which one should i use for front? and what are the difference between American Sound and japanese product?

p/s what is "Pure Deck"?

the only good speakers from LA is this http://www.woofersetc.com/index.cfm?fuseaction=product.display&Product_ID=2678

Its made by TC Sounds (same manufacturer for Eclipse Ti Pro, TC Subs, Audio Pulse, Sound Splinter)

The rest... well... I seen and heard better for the price.

I got some advice

(i) go slow, install 1 by one
(ii) please dun go for lightning audio stuff, seriously overprice. I seen LA amp going for 1800 whereas in US its only 200-300 USD. so u make the calculation
(iii) beginner setup prob will include 4 channel amp + component set + subwoofer. tat should do it.

overpriced.. i agree. already checked the lightning audio price in US and compared it with the market price here... its very potong kepala. :p

how about rear speaker? should i go for 4-way or 3-way? or perhaps just subwoofer? honestly i dun prefer my ICE to go boombooom, i would like to have ICE that can fits various type of music. that means, if it has to go ching.. ching.. then it should be that way. Comment?

go for simple set up, good HU, good 4ch amp, 1 pair of front component speaker and one subwoofer, thats all. no need rear, just spoils the front stage.

for below 2k i suggest buy good HU and good component speaker first. save up to buy 4ch amp, sub & wiring for next upgrade. pay a visit to other forums like mycarhifi.com, gr8tunes.com and icehifi.net and check out their buy/sell section to get good deals on branded 2nd hand items.

let say 2k alrite

(i) HU: pioneer 8650 Rm850, u can check with the seller here http://www.mycarhifi.com/carhififorum/viewtopic.php?t=4359
or
alpine 9851 http://www.mycarhifi.com/carhififorum/viewtopic.php?t=4364

how about rear speaker? should i go for 4-way or 3-way? or perhaps just subwoofer? honestly i dun prefer my ICE to go boombooom, i would like to have ICE that can fits various type of music. that means, if it has to go ching.. ching.. then it should be that way. Comment?

Ur ride Perdana it's. For rear fill use OEM speaker & drive by HU, it enough oledi..

Here some good stuff from calvinci at mycarhifi, gr8tunes & icehifi
a) Alpine7939E - RM600 "Pure Deck"
b) Alpine 7949E - RM750 "Pure Deck"
c) Rockford Fosgate RFX9300 - RM800
d) Precision Power PC275 - RM600
e) Precision Power PC2100 - RM700
f) Precision Power PPI A600 - RM900

Note# Pure Deck dont have fanky funky feature.. even built-in amp dont have (50wx4, 45wx4 this thing laa)

Good 4ch Amp from velocty (0123263683)
g) Precision Power PPI A404.2 - RM800
http://www.mycarhifi.com/carhififorum/viewtopic.php?t=3895

If U plan to set-up 4way active.. a/b/c + g + d + e/f..... total <RM2800 (depend on your own nego skill loorr)

2k for only HU? :o. and the other problem is, i've been tryin to register since yesterday at mycarhifi but up until now i dont get the verification email :(

wah.......for beginner osso go poison with pure deck ka? haha....later complain kenot play mp3 la, cdr la, pirate la, hahaha.....wait la till can appreciate good SQ then only get pure deck, all the time play ori cd....

i see.. pure deck is the CD player only, right? agreed about the SQ, i'm aware of it.. its just i'm too lazy to change CD... LOL. maybe i should go with Pure Deck with changer.. :p

if ur not a hardcore ice, dun need to go for pure deck la.... for practical sake, get HU tat can play mp3/cdr/cdrw/pasarmalam/original

wakakak.. perhaps ure right.. another few question.

1) how to select the amp that compatible with my speaker?
2) my current speaker has problem. sometimes the left speaker is not functioning and sometimes they do. why is that? was this is about the wiring? how do i fix the problem? should i go with the new wiring?