ICE on Coupe

darren, we go shopping at Extreme night. :biggrin:
PS: I was told that SONY quite sensitive, some normal Audio CD also... you may have problem playing it.

Cow, the Jln. Ipoh shop, never been there before, did you try their service?

Daniel, yah pioneer for normal ear like me is more than sufficient. :biggrin:

BS, thx for that note. Here's what the marketing brochures states exactly...

MP3 files can be played effortlessly with the technologically advanced range of headunits.... Here is D CATCH.... "Now you can easily listen to MP3 tunes converted from your CD or from music purchased online"

Tatz a MAJOR problem... I normally download MP3s ... :shcokedcamo:

Any such problems with PIONEER players?? Aaaaarrrrrgh...my HU kaput oredi and I gotta listen to radio stations now.........

Yu and I are Pioneer user, mine no such problem.
Pioneer can even play song with Chinese filename, just that it can't display it on the screen.

PS: Darren, SONY HU support only ENGLISH MP3 filename.

I'm a proud Pioneer HU owner too. :)
But low end model la.
Problem-free!

I'm using sony, emmmm.... not that good even I already know, I change many HU before, most are sony. If want good HU, don't go for sony, I get it about RM 1,500 at that time, few years ago.
I like sony just b'coz of the look only, now need service liau, my old sony HU service till can't tahan any more, better don't go for sony.

BS,
Thats why I have to be extra careful when leaving my car. Making sure I take out the HU and keep it first.

Hi All,
Actually I owned 3 units and comparing them on SQ of course NAKA is the best of all before that is SONY (now sitting in my store still new, planning to install in my wife's car). My Satria is using PIONEER DEH-P3800MP.

If to compare with SONY I would say SONY has more flexlibility of fine tuning on SQ, pioneer is pure power and I found that most of the feature are for powerful setup. Giving the fact that Pioneer most use on poweramp that require strong signal to tune it from the sound processor and the MP3 capability in Pioneer is excellent, I try multiple type of CD and format also work.

but I still love my NAKA, even when we audition and compare on both of my friends using high end Alpine and Clarion also can't match to the clarity and natural sound of NAKAMICHI.

Overall it is still your own ear that is the judge of chosing what kind of system.

My long 2 cents?

hehe

but i always thought that your are using this series, DEH-P6800MP. Dunno why

http://img402.imageshack.us/img402/4734/291078777dehp6800mpfronlu0.jpg

darren, try do shopping here. :biggrin:

http://www.pioneerelectronics.com/pna/v3/pg/album/compare/0,,2076_310069880,00.html

thx everyone for their valuable inputs. I think I better switch to Pioneer since I normally burn my own CDs & MP3 discs. I am enquiring around in lelong.com.my (distributors) & also zth (going to contact the seller, "Cola").

Is ALPINE HU better than Pioneer HU?

I am comparing with ALPINE CDE-9846E to PIONEER DEH-4850MPH.

Oneshop HIGHLY recommended ALPINE CDE-9846E CD / MP3 Receiver unit. He even offers for testing for 1 month (of course I must pay RM700 for the unit, incl installations) & if I am not happy, I can swap to Pioneer DEH-4850MPH (RM610 incl installations). He claims I will never regret listening to ALPINE HU.

This ALPINE unit is a basic unit 45Wx4 but can adjust the treble & bass (not just 1 Treble/Bass but different levels...eg. can adjust BASS levels for each of this 60dB, 80dB, 100dB... I can remember this few levels lar...Same goes for Treble.

I am kinda confused now...btw is the ALPINE HU price ok??

dartango,
Remember. your speakers play a major role as well for those settings that found in the player.

Ace, any idea what kind of std speakers Hyundai provide to us?

I dunno how to remove the speakers to check.

My std HU is Clarion Single Disc.

Its just a one-way front and 2 way conventional 6 X 9 at the rear. Which is really not suitable at all for any of the HU you are intend to buy. Go get a 6.25" components and 5.25" components at the rear (side) to suits the player.

ace, which speaker brand is reasonable priced & quality?

What do you mean by 6.25" & 5.25" rear component speakers? All this could be high powered speakers which requires an amp.

It looks like I need an amp if I am going to change the speakers. Both those HU only has 1 output leh... Budget blow liao leh!!!

Can not be 1 out put mah, must have 2 lah. 1 is for front left & right & the other 1 is for rear left & right, some have another 1 for the sub, am I right Ace?
If u don have an amp, check what is ur out put power, like 4 x 50w is ok but no loud bass loh, if have amp than check what is ur HU out put signal like 5v preamp out put is good, hehehe..... I think so only, Ace say some thing:confused_smile:

This is my HU, used it for few years time, now need to service.
http://img236.imageshack.us/img236/3599/937sl2.jpg
http://img57.imageshack.us/img57/9286/cdxf7700imhz5.jpg​

http://img234.imageshack.us/img234/9514/1pw1.png

hahaha, fun posting pic......:X-:

Yu,
You are right mah. Your comments is good enought. But the 5V preout is not necessar as you only need it if you have a powerful SQ amp to go with it.

Darren,
you are right at some point. But nowadays good HU capable of powering those components 6.25 and 5.25 (four of them all round) up to like 50-60% of the speakers capability. Which is very good for some of your already.

Try to get those HU that are 50W X 4. Also the reason for the 6.25 front and 5.25 rear combination is for better sound staging and future proof. As you need more sound on the front and rear so 5.25 at rear should be good enought to save money. In future when you are ready for amp then go for the 4ch amp and you will be able to tune for sound stage and get the maximum potential from the speakers.

My player is Nakamichi CD-300

http://www.nakamichi.com/home.html