How u keep the Engine 'healthy'?

TODA

How u guys maintain a healthy engine? revv freely n still in good condition? (yeah sounds stupid, coz wear & tear defintely there) but still, how u upkeep the engine for it to last as long as possible n beef out almost the same power as new........

Running transplanted stock b16 for at least 4 yrs already, dunno wat i can do afraid engine pecah one day...coz i only change oil + filter only but go 8k rpm almost every weekend(its everyday during 1st yr), cant resist to engage the V......... :cry_smile:

my h22a on prelude bb1.. clock 260k.. mileage.. its still good.. very2 good.. revvs it till limit.. i oso can't resist the beauty of the h22a vtec..

im the 3rd owner.. i dont know how the previous2 owner take care of the car + engine.. but i can say that rite now its well taken care now by me..

my simple guide to maintain a healthy engine is by care the engine oil its self .. see the level of engine oil everytime.. coz vtec tends to eat/makan some of the oil .. any oil would do.. but i do prefer semi-syntetic.. can say oso i revvs higher.. but its still serve me very well..

i dont know bout standard stock b16 engine would pecah/blow.. but h22a is a stronger engine.. for me just watch the engine oil .. coz if no oil.. then u know what will happen next..

err PORT & POLISH also sounds good.. hehe planning to do..

cheers.. hope it helps..

when i got my b16a hafkat oso clocked 170k mileage but so far the engine still good. now the mileage is 210k.
change the engine oil when it suppose to be changed.

just check ur current engine compression....wear n tear could lower ur compression n hence produce less power ...might get a bad FC too...

using semi .. change it every 5000km ... :) for my 92' b16a .... :) n rev it over 8k rpm sometimes.... cheers.. :)

when i prayed .. i prayed for my car health as well ;)

Engine lubricants are the single most important oil. Keep the level in checked and make sure you change the oil at the supposed interval.

Me too have a bad habit of changing at way after the mileage mark. I use semi synthetic which is supposed to be changed at 8000Km, but sometimes i drag it till 10,000 or even 11,000. Very bad for the engine. But at least i know i don't rev the engines that high. Maybe once a week i touch 7K RPM.

icic........ many of u guys stress on the engine oil.....well tat part is well taken care of, since i change it every 5000km using semi syn..........

hmmm..... i hav heard some noisy tappet sound coming from the engine from time 2 time....i also suspect the engine is not that powerful now.......

last time, i resolve this by adjusting the tappets n engine is smooth again.........power comes back..........is this correct?

so far, no white smoke coming out of my exhaust yet....'touch wood' i hope my stock car can maintain well n allow me 2 join some events soon *pray HARD*

yes adjusting the tappet can improve a bit.
one more thing to keep ur engine healthy is to make sure its free from oil leaking.. hehe
or maybe dust free.... haha

dun forget an air filter too...need to clean it to make smooth breathing rite...
bfor ur engine get avluanza flu..hahaha

I had a long history of engine leaking here and there, and also a blown engine from my previous cars... i guess i'm paranoid now that i check my oil level almost everyday... haha but i don't really care what ppl say as long as i have the peace of mind.. :_:

superstreet said:
I had a long history of engine leaking here and there, and also a blown engine from my previous cars... i guess i'm paranoid now that i check my oil level almost everyday... haha but i don't really care what ppl say as long as i have the peace of mind.. :_:
ur rite bro...

I'm using K&N air filter. Apparently they don't advise you to wash the filter just with running water. Need to buy the cleaner set which cost like RM70 per set. Darn, this guys are smart businessman. I was told not to use the airgun to blow off those dirts.

superstreet said:

yaya safety 1st

I drive BB1 + H22A clocked 190k so far. I don't do any heavy mods so its fairly simple to keep the engine smooth. Be disciplined in your oil change, timing belt, radiator flush every now and then.

Anyone use engine/fuel additives here? I do.....sometimes. But i know most probably it only works in my head. heh heh

prodigy said:
I'm using K&N air filter. Apparently they don't advise you to wash the filter just with running water. Need to buy the cleaner set which cost like RM70 per set. Darn, this guys are smart businessman. I was told not to use the airgun to blow off those dirts.

yup, there was a time i go visit my mechanic, i borrow his air gun to spray my air filter inside-out hoping to clear the dirt.........man i kena from him, "u chi sin ar.......spoil ur filter then u know!" :shcokedcamo:

I think mine already time.......

agree w superstreet, safety 1st........those ppl who care for their car, will be loved by their cars.......ahahah my theory

bb1-man, actually im still wondering these fuel n oil additives......... works as it claims or not?? how to tell, frens say no diff, some say wah got diff :retarded:

Looks like i'm the only one here who uses fully syn motor oil and still change it every 5000km