Gsr harder to get parts but some said its same as putra/gti parts

how bout wear and tear stuff..
and usual things that kaput..

power steering ?
drive shaft price ?
radiator ?
gearbox oil LSD price ?

now my mind is towards evo2 but the thing is that
afraid i wont be able to maintain the engine..

GSR n EVO users please tell me ur usual stuff that gets rosak .
the price u pay for it.. and how reliable is parts from halfcut

If u hv done some basic overhaul such as change gaskets, beltings, water pump to the engine before transplanting and:
1. Do not overboost (Evo: min 0.7-0.9 bar, max 1.2-1.4 bar)
2. Change engine oil at 3,000km intervals
3. Check the water and engine oil level (at least once a week)

I guess it would be okay and u wont face any major problems. Its like maintaining an NA engine.

i agree with GTIEVO3.
me using GSR,boosting at 0.7 bar,so far no problem,juz need to check oil n water level frequently.and more frequent oil change as GTIEVO3 mentioned.

yeah.. agreed with u guys..
i've used both, last ime it was gsr210 n now transplanted evo..
standard gsr parts cannot tahan one.. especially the clutch!! after buying the halfcut, straight away change the clutch.. different with 4g63 clutch, they last longer..
if u try to boost it 0.9-1b, the clutch will worn off damn quick 4 gsr..
even the thingy called hydraulic lesh is noisy, but it will settle down when its hot, but sometimes its still sounds... eerrgghhh irritating...
haf' to use a thick oil..
wear n tear? evo better than gsr? my opininon, what do u guys think?
if u get an e2, juz rebuild the engine.. u'll be surprised by the power it produce.. hehehe...

**off topic- GTIEVO3, r u using an e3?
-dude what type of engine oil r u using now? what grade ?W/??....
-whats type of oil that is juz nice for the engine? not to expensive n not to cheap.. :D

GSR210 is tht the so called RS version?
clutch wears out fast ah?do u mean the stock GSR clutch?me using Exedy racing clutch from day 1 till now,about 6 months dee,so far no problem la...not everyday also tekan kao kao la,juz occasionally la :P

ya, the 210 so called rs by malaysians..
the stock gsr clutch sux COMPARED to evo's... not talking abt exedy, the exedy is of couse better... hehehe..
last time i was a newbie with the gsr still 19 that time, always tekan one.. after puting the fuel/reg n afc, i boost it at 1 bar..
not even a month, approximately 23days after the transplant (still remember the days), my stock clutch worn out.. hehehe... thats the full story...
even my friends also said that the stock one sux.. all change to exedy or trinity.. :D

Kriminal Z,

FYI im using Castrol Magnatec, been using that for NA as well. Btw a lot of people using turbo engine uses that engine oil as well, not too thin and not too thick.

Originally posted by GTIEVO3@Aug 18 2004, 04:18 PM
Kriminal Z,

FYI im using Castrol Magnatec, been using that for NA as well. Btw a lot of people using turbo engine uses that engine oil as well, not too thin and not too thick.
ooo... i'm using that too...
but when the car reach around 3000-4000km...
i can really feel the heavy conditions of the engine... this sux..

as 4 me GSR user, i think the price of GSR parts is slightly higher than evo's.a bit lar.

but when u modd heavily ur GSR engine, must take care the engine temp.Easy to reach up...

sumtime i'll go crazy with my temp even my air fuel is ok...

as for me, i think i wuld go for more powerful engine..so b4 transplanting it, overhaul evrything and plant it..cus i wud rather to look forward for the power rather than the yer of manufacture..new engines oso culd cause prob..so it all depends to ur luck ..whether to get a good condition engine or vice-versa..
for maintenance is also another story..it all depends to individually, if ur those mad cow always full throttle on the road without any reason, then i think ur engine will worn out faster den it shud be,by overboosting oso might make ur engine lifespan shorter..but if ur a decent or like an old man driving den i think u will be veri satisfied wif watever engine u put in..but make sure ur engine is in healthy condition le..not those rosak here and ther..
for parts, i think Evo parts is easier to find than GSR..
for eg: GSR cams is diff to find original made but have to re-grind
unlike EVOS, they can choose those brands like JUN, TOMEI , re-grind oso can..so i think if ur looking for future upgrades, EVO will be the best stepping stones..at least u start frm a basic which is enuf power to drive around city..260bhp dats alot man..

10q brothers.. i guess im going for the evo3 low mileage.. changing the gaskets and seals.. but not doing full overhaul.. getting an accident cut which is 40k mileage only .. so i guess overhaul no need la

sifu's...just curious.....

what about fuel consumption of these 2 engine's...assuming stock standard... ;)

gsr stock std, 600km per full tank on high way ( penang - kl - penang)

city driving + some high way, 450km per full tank

question is, how heavy is ur foot

Originally posted by dolly@Nov 7 2004, 15:02
gsr stock std, 600km per full tank on high way ( penang - kl - penang)

city driving + some high way, 450km per full tank

question is, how heavy is ur foot
dolly, dats quite impressive even for a stock standard gsr...mind telling me..r u using any device to control the fuelling?? safc mebe??

wat bout ur filter?? using open pod or drop in??

piping size??

no wor, no gadget...no boost meter too lol. evelithing stk std except filter (open pod) and 2.5" straight flow piping.

wow dolly..impressive petrol consumption..as for me highway driving max i can go is around 420 wif the price of the petrol now..i think around RM 61-62 if im not mistaken..but ive tried b4 full tank around 2++km in city+highway..dun reli rev high..usually normal driving oni..

gsr...what ur definition of normal driving o_O i tink for you must be normal = switch gear at 4k rpm kekeke :lol:

no bro..usually i shift around 2-3k ..veri seldom shift at high rpm..mebi once in a blue moon go high rev but from 2nd gear to 3rd gear oni den stop high rev oredi..back to normal liao ,cus wana save petrol..ahah..evrythin go high rev den look at the petrol needle..hehe

mitsu engines so much better than made in msia proton stuff, my milage is way way better than the stock 93p