How to identify a good muffler

lonewolf

hmm...

let say i give u 3 models, all without stickers...
is there any possibilities that i can identity which is better than the other?.,,

i mean like..most shops..claim..."oh, this one is better, got cotton and bla bla bla. thats why is more expensive and can last longer..."...but how do i know whats inside and what they claim is really in there?..

cotton...i think its called "fibre"...all muffler got ler...to muffle the sound...thats y its called a "muffler".....

for me to choose a muffler...i wil look at the muffler shape/design....if ok then proceed to next step...

test the sound....hehe

Haha, thanks for stating the obvious, fluffy!

I'd say just by first sight, check out the weld quality. Just by looking at the weld seams, it'll tell you whether will it last or not. Secondly, look out for rust. You won't want your muffler to break after 1 year due to rust. Also, give the muffler a solid thump by your palms. It should feel solid, not too soft and you could easily tell whether its a good built by hearing the thump.

buy branded 1 how? like HKS, Apexi those.......need to knock and hear the sound? the welding and such?

HKS, 5ZIgen and Tanabe are pretty good quality ones, so its not necessary to do the thump test. In fact, you'd look like a fool if you start asking them if this is good quality ones. Its only when you go to cheaper exhaust shop and they're trying to sell you those unbranded ones.

sound come 1st...then u have to instal many others b4 u get the rights one right...waste time lo

I think most JASMA mufflers are pretty quiet. They fall below a certain sound dB, therefore making it a JASMA approved muffler. In Japan, they have regulations on muffler sound level, unlike here in Malaysia where you have sound polution from mufflers alone.

woo..Thanks for the guide..

just wondering..besides "fibre" in the muff...is there any other stuff they will put instead?..

we do have such regulations here, by Jabatan Alam Sekitar or somethin like dat, not exceeding 80 dB, correct me.

1) determine u want an S-flow muffler or straight flow muffler
2) determine the suitable inlet and outlet diameter for ur car exhaust setup
3) determine the shape of muffler u desire (s-flow will be bigger than straight flow)
4) look for rust, bends, and bad weldings
5) ask tauke to test sound

SkYwAlKeR said:
1) determine u want an S-flow muffler or straight flow muffler
2) determine the suitable inlet and outlet diameter for ur car exhaust setup
3) determine the shape of muffler u desire (s-flow will be bigger than straight flow)
4) look for rust, bends, and bad weldings
5) ask tauke to test sound

S-Flow muffler normally the TABUNG quite big right?
Straight Flow muffler smaller the TABUNG?

i wanna ask something.....if those twin exhaust muffler......all those is straight flow?

gohkokeng said:
S-Flow muffler normally the TABUNG quite big right?
Straight Flow muffler smaller the TABUNG?

i wanna ask something.....if those twin exhaust muffler......all those is straight flow?
yeah, bigger tabung usually means s-flow muffler....

if twin muffler like those oem satria muffler, those are s-flow muffler... but those twin muffler (both tip is together) direct from tabung, they might be straight flow....

jz peek through the lubang to check lor....:regular_smile:

s-flow exhausts are those which the internal part of the muffler is a S shape.......... Example, Tanabe Medallion Hyper... While straight flow exhausts are those which u can see through the other end easily by looking trough the muffler tip like A'pexi N1... satria's i think should be called s-shaped exhaust

cheeeeeerssss

ok for final CONFIRMATION

i learnt from sifu-sifu here

S-Flow for Auto transmission car
Straight Flow for manual car and turbo car

is it correct?

actually example for like my LMST....is S-Flow....but if i change to Straight Flow...how?

actually i plan to change Zenden 4-2-1 and Bullet from kent20 then piping kasi besar sikit loh.....original LMST piping is 1.5 inch or .1.7inch? and Straight Flow along......

cause in my opinion Straight Flow faster flow then S-Slow.....therefore Straight Flow lesser restriction than S-Flow right?