Brand New Disc Brake Conversion

munky

Guys, im thinking of changing my rear drum brakes to disc brakes, and im looking for brand new (not 2nd hand or chop shop). So what's the cheapest brand out there that i should look for ? And usually how much does the conversion cost ?

In sunway all i can find is project mu and spoon (caliper only) and they are f**king expensive. Dont mention brembo, ap racing, alcon bla bla, until i die also cannot afford

P/S: it's for honda accord sv4

try australian brand... but i think it's not big diff weather it's new or sec, if sec it's a lot easier and cheap compare new one.. but it still depend on u, what u want..

munky said:
Guys, im thinking of changing my rear drum brakes to disc brakes, and im looking for brand new (not 2nd hand or chop shop). So what's the cheapest brand out there that i should look for ? And usually how much does the conversion cost ?

In sunway all i can find is project mu and spoon (caliper only) and they are f**king expensive. Dont mention brembo, ap racing, alcon bla bla, until i die also cannot afford

P/S: it's for honda accord sv4

hehe, if wan brand that cheaper, try ask Grippen... heard the price was quite reasonable...

but seriously, u get from chop shop are MORE cheaper and easier for the conversion...

or u can buy the used caliper from chop shop, then get urself a new disc rotor lo... :D

i dont mind chop shop/2nd hand, but my dad ask me to find brand new.

Anyway, where can i get this grippen brand ? do they sell complete set i.e rotor/caliper/brake pads/cable etc ?

one more question, can i buy a new bigger rotor with caliper and put it at the front, and take the front rotor, put it at the rear ?

munky said:
one more question, can i buy a new bigger rotor with caliper and put it at the front, and take the front rotor, put it at the rear ?

u cant put the front caliper to rear, the knuckle or something is not match (sorry not so sure wat stuff already), was told my mechanic long time ago... so u still need to get a accord rear caliper or disc, or a aftermarket caliper or disc...

for front, sure u can change to bigger caliper and rotor... upgrade to 2 pot for front la... hehe...

NiCkY7 said:
u cant put the front caliper to rear, the knuckle or something is not match (sorry not so sure wat stuff already), was told my mechanic long time ago... so u still need to get a accord rear caliper or disc, or a aftermarket caliper or disc...

for front, sure u can change to bigger caliper and rotor... upgrade to 2 pot for front la... hehe...

oh i tot front and rear disc is the same, only the caliper is different.

Yea im thinking of getting the spoon caliper for front brakes. Slurrrppppppp

Anyway, thanx for the explanation. Will survey around sunway tomorrow

munky said:
oh i tot front and rear disc is the same, only the caliper is different.

Yea im thinking of getting the spoon caliper for front brakes. Slurrrppppppp

Anyway, thanx for the explanation. Will survey around sunway tomorrow

hehe, then also go Links and ask about the Grippen price... compare to Spoon...

tell me the prices also ya...

thanks... :D

Went to sunway today and asked amoil n kakimotor. They said if wanna change from drum to disc, need to go chop shop. Coz need so many things like the hand brake la, shaft bla bla bla i dunno wat else hehe. Brand new rotors/calipers can be used after u convert, meaning it's for upgrade

Nicky7, i didnt check the price la of spoon n grippen la coz i dunno where to find grippen. Btw ebc rotor kakimotor selling it for RM880 (for honda i think coz they tampal there 'dohc vtec' ) . Btw spoon caliper in n1 is 4 pot not twin pot

munky said:
Went to sunway today and asked amoil n kakimotor. They said if wanna change from drum to disc, need to go chop shop. Coz need so many things like the hand brake la, shaft bla bla bla i dunno wat else hehe. Brand new rotors/calipers can be used after u convert, meaning it's for upgrade

Nicky7, i didnt check the price la of spoon n grippen la coz i dunno where to find grippen. Btw ebc rotor kakimotor selling it for RM880 (for honda i think coz they tampal there 'dohc vtec' ) . Btw spoon caliper in n1 is 4 pot not twin pot

Grippen u can found it at Links, Links located at the row behind Amoil...

ya, spoon dun have 2 pot... that's y i ask u go find grippen, maybe they got la... hehe...

:p

N1 sells used spoon for honda for rm2900, calipers only
Grippen for satria (4pot front and 282 disc) is sold at rm3728