how to filter out lower freq.

artnet

Is there any other way to filter out the low freq? except
those active/electronic crossover?

i wanna filter out the freq below 30hz.

my sub cannot take it... it looks blup blup...

are u sure it is the frequency below 30Hz that caused your sub to sound 'blup blup'??
it might also because u're feeding clipped signal to them

to filter out low frequency....u can try using capacitor..... but u need to know the calculations....which frequency cut off = what value of capacitor

ermm... if i reduce the volt input gain further i cannot achieve any more bass.

it is perfect for most of the songs... but only a few songs that has really deep deep... and getting low and low... it will happen ... it doesn't has sound, but u'll see it blup blup... the lower i set my built in HU equalizer like +1db at 10-30range it is more severe!

well, i've try to overcome this uncontrolled vibration for days... changed to a thicker wood box (less than 1cm to 0.75inch) change the port length longer(3.5inches to 10inches). and i achieve a very good result. but still certain part of the songs will occur.

mayb a sealed enclosure will help 2 have more control of the sub?

the jbl bp.600.1 not powerful enuf 4 the Cadance ar? :P

just my 2 cent

it is sufficient... it actually only requires 200watt RMS to run it.
but it can withstand the 350watts RMS. I'm powering it with 300watts.

i notice that capacitor or inductor just filter out the upper frequencies.
i read it from the JBL manual.

wht i need is to filter off freq below 30hz only, maintain the above.
amp itself has crossover to filter others. i want my sub to play at
30/35hz - 60/80hz only.

Originally posted by marantz599@Mar 9 2005, 23:20
i think he is toking bout subsonic control lah
erm...jbl bp600.1 no subsonic filter.. ;)

too bad artnet...run it active? :P juz 4 the sub loh :D

:o it is called subsonic control....

i will look around...i bought a active crossover form boeytan..
it has it.. but i sold to another fren when i got my new HU.
coz my new HU got built in crossover... darn... never think of
it...

i ask my bro regarding this problem. he said can use the capcitor or inductor to high pass the 30hz.

but it won't be clean... cannot has that clean cut.. only can achieve 6-12db/octave slope only.

tht's why those good crossover is pricey...

Originally posted by artnet@Mar 9 2005, 22:37
it is sufficient... it actually only requires 200watt RMS to run it.
but it can withstand the 350watts RMS. I'm powering it with 300watts.

i notice that capacitor or inductor just filter out the upper frequencies.
i read it from the JBL manual.

wht i need is to filter off freq below 30hz only, maintain the above.
amp itself has crossover to filter others. i want my sub to play at
30/35hz - 60/80hz only.
[snapback]803970[/snapback]​

your problem solved already?
For this one, I think you will need a bandpass crossover. Cutoff at the mentioned setting.
You can use a higher rolloff slope. Like 18db or higher.
Since this will be custom made, try to calculate the values of the inductor and capacitor from this link.

http://www.pac-audio.com/crossover/crossoverbp.asp

WINISD speaker design and calculator

Hmm... how about bandpass enclosure for the subs?

wow... good. thanks.
i tested the active crossover which has 12db octave subsonic filter...
it doen't change anything :(
so, my assumption is wrong.
then added a 1.2F capacitor, it somehow gets better..
now very little so i guess i need to adjust the amp gain again.
and built a proper box for it.