How do u think of a BMW e30?

reedoor said:

Zan, de reason y i wanna change to e30 is not bcos it can drift la :P but then mostly bcos i wud like to save more & thought for long time, i don really wanna pay 5yr instalment for Gti. but for drifting... might try la... hahaha...

silverfish, i understand ur concern, tats my concern also... i did send a PM to Tom asking him bout his maintance & other stuff of these e30s. If de maintainance is not high, & i can manage to save more a month. then it shudnt b a prob for me lo. :)
thx yo!

fstrader, de owner ask me to keep de car with his current 15in rim, he drove me a round, showed me de torque & cornering... i was amazed tat such a old car can perform tat well. but if in de end i really get de car, i'll definately go bigger than tat... hahaha... i sell rim 1 ma... for sure gonna get bigger nicer rim la... :) deep dish bad boy look wud b de ideal look. :D

acbc, understand wat u mean. de owner did showed me how fast tat car can go... hahaha... i was like sssurp sssssurp...
yea, how much is ur roadtax?

thx & cheers...

ahahahhaha since u sell rims then better still, 19' kao kao one hehehehehehe ...

fstrader said:
ahahahhaha since u sell rims then better still, 19' kao kao one hehehehehehe ...
hahaha... u no Tom's car using 18" Hamann HM2, de kinda deep dish 1? haha... i hav exactly de same... 19". :P

reedoor said:

acbc, understand wat u mean. de owner did showed me how fast tat car can go... hahaha... i was like sssurp sssssurp...
yea, how much is ur roadtax?

thx & cheers...

The owner was playing 'catch' because I flashed him off (right lane). I don't even need to hold 2 hands on the steering... just one will do. The other on the arm rest n selecting some relaxing tunes on the iPod.

Since mine is A/T, just put 70-80% on the throttle n that's it. Fastest for me is the road to KLIA at 210kph going against a Wira EVO (can't be sure but he has a Lancer Evo emblem on the rear boot).

Roadtax? Hahaha... a secret, believe it or not... I'm not paying much.

acbc said:
The owner was playing 'catch' because I flashed him off (right lane). I don't even need to hold 2 hands on the steering... just one will do. The other on the arm rest n selecting some relaxing tunes on the iPod.

Since mine is A/T, just put 70-80% on the throttle n that's it. Fastest for me is the road to KLIA at 210kph going against a Wira EVO (can't be sure but he has a Lancer Evo emblem on the rear boot).

Roadtax? Hahaha... a secret, believe it or not... I'm not paying much.
hahaha... okok... PM me ur story... :)

fstrader said:
da darkside is paying d roadtax :p
haha... ok... LOL
bro fstrader, i was thr during de KLCC autocross also, so tats ur car la... haha... :D cheers...

reedoor said:
hahha... ok... hmmm... :)
don u like Tom's car? his car is jus nice ma, rite? yea, which color u think is nice for an e30? im thinking white also, but then scared ppl say i follow him... hahaha...

haha..tom has a nice car..he added a customized widebody kit...looks awesome on that car..

when i was searching for a used car...i was also lookin at the E30..so while lookin thre was this guy selling one..but it needed loads of repair and refurbushing...but when i saw wat the guy was really driving i was stunned..to see a Blood Red widebody M3 ..wow...it was a rare sight ...and wasnt for sale ahhaha...but he apparently got that widebody from germany..

dunno if he is a ZTH member..if he is ..maybe he can show u a picture of his car...

reedoor said:
haha... ok... LOL
bro fstrader, i was thr during de KLCC autocross also, so tats ur car la... haha... :D cheers...

aiks bro...u saw me there ahh??? cum up to my car and say "hello" maaaa :tongue:

anyway i am da slowest of da class A ehehehhehehehe :biggrin:

E30, if search carefully can find few good examples. in my personal opinion, BMW drivers like to bash their cars becoz they're sooooo good to drive. and normally they would avoid 318i.

to avoid heavy repairs, find clean examples with standard specification. start modifying from step one. much more satisfaction there. but i agree, by swapping to japanese power unit wud not make it a BMW anymore...

i envy u laa...i think in 2006 or 07, i plan to get one also... ha ha ha

people sayto be a complete driver, must own a BMW at least once in lifetime. people wont say that to a mercedez. he he dunno why.

yalah..got to agree with fstrader..better sale ur gti and bpught e30..its a really nicee and lovely car..my uncle got one..i love to drive it and even got my first accident with that car to :P..by the way better u just keep the bimmer straight six..just do a proper exhaust system and it will produce a nice bass sound..lovely

if u planning to buy one, ajak TOm out for tt and ask his opinions la... sure he can help u out... he sifu mah...

by then, zth got 2 bmw e30... perhaps one black one white??... more cun...

Merc? Old man's car... take a look at all the businessmen out there - all driving Merc. Only the young n successful ones will choose a BMW or Audi. Some even prefer Volvo. I'm bias to 1 car make. In fact, if I can find a genuine Audi Quattro, I will take it.

If u really want a Merc, buy the tuned up version variants from AMG or Kleemann.

IMO E30 > any other bmw models .. in terms of looks
anything close to it is the E46 models , new models looks .. how to say .. not that appealing ( no offence to beemer fans )

performance wise .. since i dont own 1 i cant tell

E30 is a good car.. both my mechanics are driving e30... its fun 2 drive... its a manual and hell it still looks good

Well E20 is definietly 1 of my list if i have enaugh 20K cash for it. But before u start to admire plp cars Etc, tom E30. you've to find out how much effort, time and money had spent on it. Perhaps getting know it later u will think twice.

No doubt buying 'Cash" car do save your monthly installment but don't forget, its a 15 yrs old car which anything can happen. 1st, some money you will need to do restoration before u can even mod and the "some" money, hehehe.. some genuine BMW parts is not cheap also. you may even facing this problem that after fix this, thn next thing broke down and its like u r forever repairing the car. But to me, this supposedly to fall in restoration period.

It may take u 2-3 yrs to get everything done up to ur spec and u calculate back, the amount of money u've spent might be not little as well.

We have to analyse the affordibility of having such a car. Do we have enaugh time, cash and passion to go thru all this? In the end, would the future next 3 years new car launched out and appealing u so much that you will thn start to think selling off your E30?

so its back to square 1, to get such a supern condition, how much effort, time and money have the owner spent into it and can u do the same? A tip top condition with well mod E30 can easily fetch you rm30K which is in CASH.

merc old man car??.. what about the merc CLS??... also consider old man car??.. old man cant handle such power and high gadgetry la...
u say old school nvm la... now many young people also like old school ma...

jeremy clarkson say old cars probably faster than new generation cars...

SkYwAlKeR said:
merc old man car??.. what about the merc CLS??... also consider old man car??.. old man cant handle such power and high gadgetry la...
u say old school nvm la... now many young people also like old school ma...

jeremy clarkson say old cars probably faster than new generation cars...

Like I said... as long it is a Merc, it is an old man's car. Buy the tuned up variants if u still prefer a Merc.

Don't underestimate an old man... I know one (who is already in his late 60s) and driving a souped up BMW 325 with M3 conversion (ya... a manual tranny!).

bmw dont sell millions of E30 worldwide for no reason my friend.

i sold my putra which i bought new in 97 for a 1989 E30 3 yrs ago.....u know why? coz the feeling u get from driving the E30 is much2 better than the putra, of course putra is faster (than the 318i, hp per hp), but it cant beat the handling characteristic & driving dynamics of an E30. put some nice bodykit (mtech, AC, hartge, zender.....bigger rims, slam it down, & u get a truly menacing looking car. i swear that i still get a lot of stares on the road....and twice i found a note on the w/screen offering to buy my car ...no joke, E30 has a lot of admirers. best of all, it's cheap and i can even afford another car to play :biggrin:

search carefully & u'll find a nice example.....being expensive and exclusive when new, these bmws were well taken care off, so if you find a 1 or 2-owner cars, especially enthusiasts owners, u cud get a good deal

get the one with big tail lights (post 88 models)....the galvanized body is better against rust.

acbc said:
Like I said... as long it is a Merc, it is an old man's car. Buy the tuned up variants if u still prefer a Merc.

Don't underestimate an old man... I know one (who is already in his late 60s) and driving a souped up BMW 325 with M3 conversion (ya... a manual tranny!).
ooo... okay lo if u wanna categorize merc as old man's car... i'm not underestimating old folks driving skills... jz that impression of merc=old people car kinda funny...

fstrader said:
aiks bro...u saw me there ahh??? cum up to my car and say "hello" maaaa :tongue:

anyway i am da slowest of da class A ehehehhehehehe :biggrin:
hahhaa... its ok la... ur a beginner? not bad liao lo.... :)