Holset turbo

well well...

to correct some facts :

1. GT Ball Bearings are now repairable. Genuine Garrett ball bearing cartridge ex-stock and ready to ship. Don't let old info block your vision, Call our dealers for more info.
Ball_brg_002_enlarged.jpg

2. Holset has many wheel trims and sizes as well. HX 35 to HX 40 there are easily 5-8 wheel sizes. :hmmmm:

3. HX series has many turbine housing sizes as well...so do some homework before getting one. :hmmmm:

4. Garrett GT series run over 2.5bar with ease and requires less oil and has less heat soak back. Ron Lumus (Garrett sponsored) in his Drag cars run up to 60psi with GT4718R's...no reliability issues.

5. Brent Rau swaps a turbo after every event. (reliability ?) and his configuration is RWD tube frame revving to 13k RPM and the Borg Warner doesn't even build boost till past 7k RPM.

6. Yup repair kits are cheap for Borg Warner and Holset, but fact is also, if "thrust play" comes into the turbo, it's a goner as well...no difference from any other brand of turbo. :nurse:

7. Garrett GTBB turbos don encounter "thrust play" hence the only time it fails is due to :
- engine failure, leading to no oil supply
- extreme heat soak back (water lines must be run)
- foreign object / particles impacting the wheels (turbine or compressor)
or else....it'll last a hell longer than most journal bearing turbos.

Anyway it's good for others to opt for something exotic or weird or new to try. My point is, to ensure a healthy motorsport community and to correct facts as far as we can. Myths don't carry weight...Facts do.. :burnout:

well well...

to correct some facts :

1. GT Ball Bearings are now repairable. Genuine Garrett ball bearing cartridge ex-stock and ready to ship. Don't let old info block your vision, Call our dealers for more info.
Ball_brg_002_enlarged.jpg

2. Holset has many wheel trims and sizes as well. HX 35 to HX 40 there are easily 5-8 wheel sizes. :hmmmm:

3. HX series has many turbine housing sizes as well...so do some homework before getting one. :hmmmm:

4. Garrett GT series run over 2.5bar with ease and requires less oil and has less heat soak back. Ron Lumus (Garrett sponsored) in his Drag cars run up to 60psi with GT4718R's...no reliability issues.

5. Brent Rau swaps a turbo after every event. (reliability ?) and his configuration is RWD tube frame revving to 13k RPM and the Borg Warner doesn't even build boost till past 7k RPM.

6. Yup repair kits are cheap for Borg Warner and Holset, but fact is also, if "thrust play" comes into the turbo, it's a goner as well...no difference from any other brand of turbo. :nurse:

7. Garrett GTBB turbos don encounter "thrust play" hence the only time it fails is due to :
- engine failure, leading to no oil supply
- extreme heat soak back (water lines must be run)
- foreign object / particles impacting the wheels (turbine or compressor)
or else....it'll last a hell longer than most journal bearing turbos.

Anyway it's good for others to opt for something exotic or weird or new to try. My point is, to ensure a healthy motorsport community and to correct facts as far as we can. Myths don't carry weight...Facts do.. :burnout:

1. dint know bout this, something new to learn i guess :D

2,3. agree , too many variation

4. my source on brent says otherwise, erm both of us dnt know brent directly hehe, will dig for sources , some are saying he is running 75-80psi , errr believable ?

wah...sdf...you give new info about gtbb arr...i don't know it repairable...

no wonder Brent Rau using a cheaper turbo since he need to change it every event... what garrett turbo that build boost earlier than brent rau turbo but making the same power as he do?

jin.. we have sources who know Brent directly..let's say the one who builds the engine.. :smokin:

jo1 ... a GT4718R would easily push you to 1,200 - 1,400hp easily and build boost earlier than the S400 series.

GT5533R are the biggest drag machines can take and some research on most 6 second cars around the world will tell you they run this turbo in the bay.... :adore:

jo1 ... a GT4718R would easily push you to 1,200 - 1,400hp easily and build boost earlier than the S400 series.

GT5533R are the biggest drag machines can take and some research on most 6 second cars around the world will tell you they run this turbo in the bay.... :adore:

to long ar my journey..gt35r----:slug:--gt4718r:bawling:

sdf : what do u think about the turbo rating compare a Garrett GT to a Holset (i dunno what model la..but the one that evo guys talk about la) with almost the same spec (compressor wheel size and trim, turbine wheel size and trim + all housing a/r if got la) ?

and...hx45pro is equivalent to GT what model eh ? rated at ?

HX45PRo close to a T04R spec

Well the US guys pluck out most holsets from GM trucks or Cummins gensets and hybrid a unit to fit their car. Mainly are paired using HX35 + HX40 frames and or the older models, H1C + H1E... difficult to tell which is best spec to compare versus a GT35R for example.

as explained in many forums, the best and only way to measure closest possible is to use the same engine and run a few different turbos similar in dimensions and trims to get best possible comparing results and the truth is..not many people will do this, cause it incurs alot of time and costs. What you read in forums are very very unfair to compare, especially engine build and hardwares and tuners are all different...

HX45PRo close to a T04R spec

Well the US guys pluck out most holsets from GM trucks or Cummins gensets and hybrid a unit to fit their car. Mainly are paired using HX35 + HX40 frames and or the older models, H1C + H1E... difficult to tell which is best spec to compare versus a GT35R for example.

as explained in many forums, the best and only way to measure closest possible is to use the same engine and run a few different turbos similar in dimensions and trims to get best possible comparing results and the truth is..not many people will do this, cause it incurs alot of time and costs. What you read in forums are very very unfair to compare, especially engine build and hardwares and tuners are all different...

give me gt42r for free and i will made a back to back run with the bw turbo.... what say you?

jin.. we have sources who know Brent directly..let's say the one who builds the engine.. :smokin:

seems true, according to my buddies at NABR who confirmed & marco from magnus, huhuhu .
seem that even the engine goes thru alot of beating

give me gt42r for free and i will made a back to back run with the bw turbo.... what say you?

loaded la jo1...borg warner pulak...74mm? can achieve kiggly's e.t la wei...:adore:

topic starts on Holset...ends up with a dare on GT42R ? questions are ambigious and leads to nowhere guys...come on...back on track.

As for your earlier question..are you asking if someone is gonna sponsor a 42R vs a S374 or something ?

yes laa sdf...this thread is for holset..but the price in malaysia still high ar compare to oversea...

Write your reply...