Goodness, I burnt a hole on the bonnet!!!

Supachip

My original battery +ve terminal had corroded and teared off, hence, went to some garage in puchong to buy a new after market terminal (looked damn big).

After that I've DIY replaced the terminal. Yesterday on the way back from work, while driving at 70km/h, enverthing in the car (signal light, instrument cluster, radio, etc) all went hair wired and the engine suddenly cut out. Moreover, fire sparks are flying all around on the winscreen....Damn scary !!

Luckily I was at the inner lane.....

stopped that car and discovered............. F**K, the battery terminal is too high, I didn't covered the terminal properly......please see the photo for the consequence.

:(

Guys, please be aware not to buy this kind of terminal in future.......

Supachip...sorry to hear that...
but thanks for sharing the info...

ya...its very dangerous...car can burn if kena 4 too long...always cover it wit a pice of rubber...anything tat is not conducting electric...those bicycle tubes also can...
n supachip...sorry to hear bout tat...gotta bcareful next time..oppss no more next time..hehehe

Originally posted by Supachip@Nov 24 2004, 12:49
My original battery +ve terminal had corroded and teared off, hence, went to some garage in puchong to buy a new after market terminal (looked damn big).

After that I've DIY replaced the terminal. Yesterday on the way back from work, while driving at 70km/h, enverthing in the car (signal light, instrument cluster, radio, etc) all went hair wired and the engine suddenly cut out. Moreover, fire sparks are flying all around on the winscreen....Damn scary !!

Luckily I was at the inner lane.....

stopped that car and discovered............. F**K, the battery terminal is too high, I didn't covered the terminal properly......please see the photo for the consequence.

:(

Guys, please be aware not to buy this kind of terminal in future.......
:o nightmares ...

Lucky u did not shorted the ECU (if is a fuel injection car)...

The bonnet was still sparking when I got out of the car !!! Quickly opened it and stopped the spark.....fuuuuuhhhh.

After that, tried to to crank the car......lucky didn't killed the engine ecu. Oh, yeah, my car is fuel injection wira 1.5

I think this kind of terminal is not suitable on saloon cars, see those high rising no.10 bolts......

lucky car not burn!!!
if not another fire car at road side!

u should put connect all the cable to here not to connect it so high

damn lucky!
can kept the hole for memory forever and don't touch up it ok??
if i see ur car on any place we all will know is u!!!

:lol: :lol: :lol: got buy 4D?????

Can't install those wires there lah bro, coz that bolt is no.13....too big for those wire rings.

Anyway, I've managed to get a lower terminal without those bolts on the top.

I will patch up the hole this saturday....... can't keep for memory coz it's my worst nightmare....... (imagine while driving at 70km, then suddenly spark all around the windscreen !!!).

Very "soi" these few days.

Scorching a hole on my car is like scorching my own heart :(

Originally posted by badguy@Nov 26 2004, 16:52
:lol: :lol: :lol: got buy 4D?????
you are one typical chinese... just like my dad. :lol: :lol:

Supachip, glad that you're okay! :)

a solution for this prob by most rally guys is to cover the top of the battery with a piece of rubber cut from a rubbermat. this prevents the terminals from touching the bonnet and short circuit itself. cheapo solution

I've patched up the hole.....cost me RM200 to respray the whole bonnet, but reasonable coz they're using glasurite paint. :)