TRUE STORY: I got SCAMMED on a client meeting

terrible

dudes... I think his phone wasnt scammed becoz they want to steal the phone la
its his business tool. his company's rivals probably did that to sabotage his business. coz if u lose ur phone and number, u're gonna have a hard time keeping in touch with ur business clients. and besides that, ur phone containes numorous phone numbers, not all of us keep COMPLETE backups. so if u lose the phone, u lose contacts to a lot of people.

MetalZone said:
terrible

its his business tool. his company's rivals probably did that to sabotage his business. coz if u lose ur phone and number, u're gonna have a hard time keeping in touch with ur business clients. and besides that, ur phone containes numorous phone numbers, not all of us keep COMPLETE backups. so if u lose the phone, u lose contacts to a lot of people.
This one kira lucky dii. I got a relative he got killed when he went to the carpart to get his car after lunch with his clients. Then he didn't come back. His car also stolen. Then must be kidnap him along and killed him along the way.

At least the phone hilang can buy. nyawa hilang kenot buy

rodneyk said:
This one kira lucky dii. I got a relative he got killed when he went to the carpart to get his car after lunch with his clients. Then he didn't come back. His car also stolen. Then must be kidnap him along and killed him along the way.

At least the phone hilang can buy. nyawa hilang kenot buy

im sorry to hear that!!!ya phone hilang is ok la!!!money can buy u a new 1 but life money cant buy it!!

Cypress said:
im sorry to hear that!!!ya phone hilang is ok la!!!money can buy u a new 1 but life money cant buy it!!
its okay.
yea thats why should treasure life even though sometimes life can be really hard. but thats the fun in life. ups and downs
heehheehe
impermanence

OKiDo,

If no one believe you after reading your long writeups, i'm here standing up and say I BELIEVE YOU 100% coz that was the same guy, using the same technique, having the same motif and keep the same thing in his pouch late last year who call me up for meeting around that area.

this guy reallllyyyyyy pro... i mean the way he speak, how much homework he do first before approaching you for your handphone etc, he really did a good effort i can say. up to now i still can't figure out what's his motif.

i'm supprise that he's still alive and still manage to do such "business" in KL.

god bless him.

BlackHD said:
OKiDo,

If no one believe you after reading your long writeups, i'm here standing up and say I BELIEVE YOU 100% coz that was the same guy, using the same technique, having the same motif and keep the same thing in his pouch late last year who call me up for meeting around that area.

this guy reallllyyyyyy pro... i mean the way he speak, how much homework he do first before approaching you for your handphone etc, he really did a good effort i can say. up to now i still can't figure out what's his motif.

i'm supprise that he's still alive and still manage to do such "business" in KL.

god bless him.
Nex time if anyone got this kind of guy call them up to meet
do not refuse
just go
but inform authorities
so easier to catch him
:P
in malaysia i'm not sure
but in uk if there is a reasonable belief that a crime has been committed then a citizen may arrest another for the crime believed committed. But if its the wrong person, prepared to be sued for depriving of his liberty for the duration that you arrested him as a citizen.
remember it must have been committed only you can arrest him.

BlackSamurai said:
Okido bro,

are you Daniel Thong? I receive an email with the same content this morning with name "Daniel Thong" attached below.

Or you get this thing from email and post this thing up here to give zthian a warning?

Yup, that's me. Hope you get the story and do let you gf/bf, family, relatives and friends know about this. It seems I blast out the mail and got a number of replies telling me they experience something like I did either few weeks back or few months back.

Like my case, if only I knew such activities was going on, I would not ask my brother to stay back and wait for me at Menara MNI. I would ask him to quietly follow us and watch out for me on that guy.

ya, go for legal way, no point use gangster way ( for me la ) coz this kind of people best is to let those polis torture him, and let others rape him in the jail... wahahaha...

rodneyk: here also u can catch them... but the thing is you won't know who is behind them, maybe someone is watching, when u start catching him sudently bunch of muscular appear beside you how? so better let polis handle it.

BlackHD said:
ya, go for legal way, no point use gangster way ( for me la ) coz this kind of people best is to let those polis torture him, and let others rape him in the jail... wahahaha...

rodneyk: here also u can catch them... but the thing is you won't know who is behind them, maybe someone is watching, when u start catching him sudently bunch of muscular appear beside you how? so better let polis handle it.
hehehehe
well it depends as well how the scenario is. If it is a simple scenario where you inform him of your grounds of arresting him then he willing succumb to you and be arrested by you without hesitation then good la. but then again things like this are very rare
he would most likely put up a fight
when he does so you could get assistance as well by the waiter or other customers. Perhaps malaysians will just follow their tidak apa attitude and just watch. so to be safe
yea leave it to police

MetalZone said:
terrible

MetalZone, you got a creative idea there but unfortunately you are wrong. My company is one of Microsoft partner which get free softwares of Microsoft product range from Operating system (Server 2003), SQL Database, Visual Studio.net developer kits, Microsoft Office 2003 enterprise pro, MS CRM, Sharepoint portal, One Notes, Exchange server, Business Contact Manager, Blah blah blah ..and it cost so much that it will be a mandatory death sentence for an IT company not to use it for free. I have all my contact backup in my office server, my FTP server in US and also in CDs.

The only most valuable contact I have in my phone is my back up chics contact.

I believe it is a SCAM than Acompetitor rival. If because of contacts, why scam my phone? Should hack, break, rob our Database server will all of our global clients particulars ... that worth event more, right?

OKiDo said:
MetalZone, you got a creative idea there but unfortunately you are wrong. My company is one of Microsoft partner which get free softwares of Microsoft product range from Operating system (Server 2003), SQL Database, Visual Studio.net developer kits, Microsoft Office 2003 enterprise pro, MS CRM, Sharepoint portal, One Notes, Exchange server, Business Contact Manager, Blah blah blah ..and it cost so much that it will be a mandatory death sentence for an IT company not to use it for free. I have all my contact backup in my office server, my FTP server in US and also in CDs.

The only most valuable contact I have in my phone is my back up chics contact.

I believe it is a SCAM than Acompetitor rival. If because of contacts, why scam my phone? Should hack, break, rob our Database server will all of our global clients particulars ... that worth event more, right?
LOL
hahahahaha back up chics contact
maybe he too desperate for chics?
hahahahahahaahahahaa
need your help but pai seh wanna ask
so he had to go thru all these scenarios just to get their contacts
sorry ya
just a thought
i know i'm not supposed to be joking about this stuff
sorry bro

BlackHD said:
OKiDo,

god bless him.

That is why I wasn't pissed but more of sharing experience with all ZTH ppl so in case in future someone might call up and have the say way of meeting up and the same familiar face description from me, and most important the same KOK & BULL stories of not carrying a phone and need to borrow yours to call someone.

My entire company was impress that they do go to that extend to SCAM a phone. Even my business partners from other company replied my mail saying their stuff got SCAMMED few months back in Sg. Wang but that guy was using a old looking brief case and file folder. I guess some would invest that much for a SCAM. Mine was just brown envelope and a lousy New York Yankee pouch with a pad lock.

Hey guys,

Thanks for the concerns and replies. It's good to know that people are concern and take note of such organized crime. Only thing that we can't do is hunt this people down. Only way is to catch them red handed like snatch thieves.

By the way, fortunately for me I was using Sony Ericsson T630 because I was eye-ing on XDA Mini when my colleague bought one not long after it was launched.

Thank God for that.

No point to look back and feel too sorry about it as long the message is spread like virus to warn others.

I believe there is many such scammers around not just this one I have encountered. I lesson I learned is everyone has a handphone, even primary school kid (may not be expensive ones). So it is logical that everyone carries a handphone and does not need to borrow to make any calls to wife or whoever it is. TRUE?

how cow! my colleague was scammed by the same guy! i was looking out for the "mole"! my colleague was duped at sg wang. same modus operandi la, slightly diff abit.

my colleague met wt the fler, and mr mole's phone batt was dying, so had to call his wife to give directions cuz she not familiar wt the place or what not....

damn...never thought he would surface in this forum....

so he operates around klcc and sg wang? be on the lookout for anyone in that area with a mole and walking around with a phone.

Here's some of the replies I receive after my mail blast to the people I know.

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Hi Daniel,

This is a syndicate and is the latest trend now. Guess what, my sales exec
experienced the same encounter few weeks back. It happened in Sg Wang
(Starbucks i think). Same modus operandi. Lost his handphone, the bag the
person left contains a rock wrapped with a piece of paper. Please be very
careful on this.

Best regards,

RC.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

HI Daniel,
Sorry to hear about your phone. I first heard of something like this 1-2 months back, same modus operandi the only difference was that they used a locked briefcase. I couldn't believe they went to all the trouble to use a briefcase, so I guess they smartened up a bit to use a pouch instead. I will forward your story to our mailing list so that more people are aware.

Best Regards,

KL.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Hi Daniel,
Sorry to know that you were hit by this scam. FYI, this scam has been around for the past 2 years, few articles on Chinese Newspaper. In the past, their victims are mostly insurance, MLM or reality agents, now they are getting more sophisticated.

Best regards,

TL.

Now only I know there are so many victims out there but not many are aware of this. It make this thing look like some rape case that the victim is too shy to tell out or might made them a fool for being CONNED into giving their hand phone away. But my point of view is the more people who know the better chance to catch the culprit and more people will know what to do. Unlike me who found out later by losing my phone to him. I hope this thread will do many people good and be prepared in near future IF they do encounter such CONMANS.

did u save the stuff left by them to be kept as evidence when they are caught? their fingerprints are still on it. damn, watching too much csi.

lugnut said:
did u save the stuff left by them to be kept as evidence when they are caught? their fingerprints are still on it. damn, watching too much csi.
their fingerprints are still on it but there is also a chance that more than 10 people's fingerprints are on it as well.
also do you know how long it would take to scan for a matching prints in malaysia?
i can tell you its not as fast as what you see on tv

write to the papers la(ie. thestar).. let everyone know about this.. maybe call up the radio station in the morning.. tell them about this experience.. :)

psyk said:
write to the papers la(ie. thestar).. let everyone know about this.. maybe call up the radio station in the morning.. tell them about this experience.. :)
yea i think that would be good
:)