GEN 2 flooded...HELP EMERGENCY...

lampasula

Tonight rained heavily my place, my dad drive his new Gen2 going thru a flooded road. He tried to go slowly but he didnt realise how deep actualy is the water...

halfway thru, the car stall, most probably because the engine compartment was flooded, my family was stuck in the rain in the middle of the road.

when they open the doors and get out of the car, water came rushing in...now the car is all flooded...carpet, cushion etc are all spoilt...

they call a workshop and tol the car back...now my dad is feeling so bad and regret...

normally when this happens, what is the best way to deal with it? send the car to local workshops or eon service centre? would it cost a bomb to get it all fixed?does the car insurance cover man-made accident like this?

please help me out... :( :(

havent came across this matter before.. usually i will advice ppl 2 stop at the side if they see the road is badly flooded n dont really know the how deep the road is..

bobo said:
havent came across this matter before.. usually i will advice ppl 2 stop at the side if they see the road is badly flooded n dont really know the how deep the road is..

thats the thing, i ask them why they dont stop before going too deep, they said, water is everywhere, so basically my dad is confuse where to stop or just go on...

so, is it possible for the local workshop to fix the car? or must send to proton?

oouucchh....it sound like...total lost man...
even if u clean the carpet..cushion..it will still give a very bad smell...
wat about the engine..cant start at all...?

Depends... better send to Proton since it is a new car. You may not be able to claim warranty though.

acbc said:
Depends... better send to Proton since it is a new car. You may not be able to claim warranty though.

but according to some of my relatives...if send to proton...they will charge us a huge bomb....is the correct?

my dad is very frustrating right now...please give me more insight...anyone knows any cases like this before?

I think you should check if ur insurances cover flood or not... Because even though its a new car I dun think so they will cover for flood cases.. Correct me if i'm wrong

Dino@Casper said:
I think you should check if ur insurances cover flood or not... Because even though its a new car I dun think so they will cover for flood cases.. Correct me if i'm wrong

yeah i know...no cover for insurance....thats why headache now...my dads gonna spend a bomb...now still dunno wheter the engine can survive... :confused:

Like that i advice you too find a trustable mechanic outside to repair for u... n check if the engine is still intact.... because its really gonna cost u a bomb if u send 2 proton... very very big bomb

usually insurance wont cover damage caused by natural disaster, unless you pay a premium for it.

double check insurance policy, normally it will not cover act of god (bencana alam) which include damage caused by uprooted trees due to storm, or flood.

as modern generation cars have CAI just below bonnet..ur gen2 might have swallowed water inside the engine. if this is true, there is possibility the con rod had bent becoz engines are not designed to compressed H2O. i sure hope not in this case.

other than that, if by any chance water had slipped into where ECU is located then short circuit is what u will get. if not mistaken ECU for Waja and Gen2 is underneath the foorboard just in front and below the gearshift lever. the wire harness for engine compartment is designed to shield against water splash, even alternator but not starter motor. battery still may short circuit as well as the fuse box and its fuses and relays.

interior trims may be cleaned..but will leave a disturbing smell.

get a repair quotation from a franchise dealer and independent repairer. do not inform ur insurance first.

if too costly to repair, tow the car somewhere and burn it then claim insurance laa... heh heh heh...

but dont mention my name laa...if anybody ask whose idea.

zan said:
double check insurance policy, normally it will not cover act of god (bencana alam) which include damage caused by uprooted trees due to storm, or flood.

as modern generation cars have CAI just below bonnet..ur gen2 might have swallowed water inside the engine. if this is true, there is possibility the con rod had bent becoz engines are not designed to compressed H2O. i sure hope not in this case.

other than that, if by any chance water had slipped into where ECU is located then short circuit is what u will get. if not mistaken ECU for Waja and Gen2 is underneath the foorboard just in front and below the gearshift lever. the wire harness for engine compartment is designed to shield against water splash, even alternator but not starter motor. battery still may short circuit as well as the fuse box and its fuses and relays.

interior trims may be cleaned..but will leave a disturbing smell.

get a repair quotation from a franchise dealer and independent repairer. do not inform ur insurance first.

if too costly to repair, tow the car somewhere and burn it then claim insurance laa... heh heh heh...

but dont mention my name laa...if anybody ask whose idea.

is that feasable? if worse come to worse i will ask my dad to consider that man...

lampasula said:
is that feasable? if worse come to worse i will ask my dad to consider that man...

the last solution. repairs can be expensive, a friendly reminder to you...

ECU Engine PW811900 RM883.20
Auto Trans ECU 8631A018 RM2538.43
Wiring Loom Engine Comp PW85042 RM5763.80
Engine (short motor) PW892021 RM7967.07
[Assy] Engine PW892034 RM15721.13

i wish actual repair cost for ur car is low. pls remember headlamps which had submerged in water may have damaged reflector, once the residues dry up inside u need to figure out how to clean it. easy way is to replace...per unit is just below RM300.

p/s that is why i requested not to mention my name. :D

bro...ur engine is safe if ur daddy din start it again after the car engine die off...

take out d ECU n spray with WD-40....n dry it.....

interior parts those can clean afterward.......

engine...dun start it...removed ur plug cables n plugs...start it.....d water wil come out.....

dun send to eon.....

send to ur local workshop.....juz tel them d engine masuk air...they wil solve for u...if still cannot..Pm me....i help u ask my sifu....

engine masuk air small problem only....juz scare ur ecu KONG only...hope ur ecu din get flood.....take it out ASAP n dry it....

zan said:
the last solution. repairs can be expensive, a friendly reminder to you...

ECU Engine PW811900 RM883.20
Auto Trans ECU 8631A018 RM2538.43
Wiring Loom Engine Comp PW85042 RM5763.80
Engine (short motor) PW892021 RM7967.07
[Assy] Engine PW892034 RM15721.13

i wish actual repair cost for ur car is low. pls remember headlamps which had submerged in water may have damaged reflector, once the residues dry up inside u need to figure out how to clean it. easy way is to replace...per unit is just below RM300.

p/s that is why i requested not to mention my name. :D

that r crazy price for a local-made car..better throw in evo4-6 engine..got extra some more...wat a lousy campro enjin gotta cost ud for rm15K?

huakenny said:
that r crazy price for a local-made car..better throw in evo4-6 engine..got extra some more...wat a lousy campro enjin gotta cost ud for rm15K?

yep, i agreed wif u dude...damn..rm15k for campro...better spend that money on other engine laa...fto v6 mivec or evo 4,5,6,7,etc..etc..engine...more power!!..

p/s: faced this problem wif my old sunny....but, thank god..nothing happen laa...put in first gear and reved the engine kaw-kaw!!...(location= infront of the national library..)...phewww..

i went thru flood before wit eg9 auto....wat u need to do went u passing if never let ur right foor left d acceleration pedal....u muzk pres d accel pedal..once u leave it...d water go in ur ekzos n ur engine will die off....once die off.bye bye...gotta tow away...

las time i went thru d flood half car la d water high......no problem oso..juz plate number gone....

but if u r no experience dun try to go thru...coz once u go..u cannot turn back...muz go thru d flood....

huakenny said:
i went thru flood before wit eg9 auto....wat u need to do went u passing if never let ur right foor left d acceleration pedal....u muzk pres d accel pedal..once u leave it...d water go in ur ekzos n ur engine will die off....once die off.bye bye...gotta tow away...

las time i went thru d flood half car la d water high......no problem oso..juz plate number gone....

but if u r no experience dun try to go thru...coz once u go..u cannot turn back...muz go thru d flood....

once the engine die....bye bye oohh..it'll gonna be an expensive lesson to the victim....