Flood Water

peachmonkey

Hi all!
I need some help...A few days ago the road that I was travelling was hit by flood. It was at night so I didn't see the water till it was too late. So I went on straight (with gear 1 engaged).

The water level was quite high as the carpet inside my car seems damp now. Not sure if it entered the engine though.

The thing is now whenever I start my engine there seems to be some funny noise. The noise is more obvious when I turn the air-con on. Plus there's a funny smell in the car. Could the smell be form the damp carpet or the air-con? The gears are also harder to engage.
Should I get my car checked after running through the flood water? Anything I should look out for?

Thanks!

u didn' see the water and u already engage 1st gear? do you always drive ur can in 1st gear?

Anyway, water are bound to enter the cabin as the car cabin is not design to be water tight like a boat. The car need breathing holes and for ventilation. If water is deep enuf, the breathing hole of the tranny might took in some water. Similarly, if CAI is located too low, water might get ingested (especially car charging into poodle of water).
Water entry into mecahnical parts differs from car to car.....as the location of mecahnical parts are different. What car do u drive?

To be on the safe side better change your engine oil and gear oil. Remove your carpet and wash it. Better check the air-cond compressor to see if it needs to serviced or changed.

Ken yeang,
Heh,I suspected puddles of water on that road,that's why I was driving in low gear. I did not expect though such a huge collection of water. So it was kinda lucky I was already in 1st gear :p

I'm driving a Wira (carb). No modification done, but I have been having some problems with my distributer lately (changed twice in the past 3 months). The current one seems to be working fine. Juz worried it might get affected.

Slipknot,
I'm planning to change my engine and gear oil by the end of the month. And also remove all the seats and sun-dry the carpet. How do I check if the air-con comp. needs attention? Can DIY? Or must bring to air-con repair shop?

peachmonkey,

Orrrr.....like that. You must be a good driver liow. Anyway, try to check the mecanical parts in the engine bay, preferably during bright and clear day. u can see and check much better. Sand residue or water marks on mecahnical parts might tell u clues of water intrusion. Is there are squeikking on your brakes? My frens brakes always got tikus sound after he drive thru flood. He drives the same car as yours.

Hrmm...tat day after I went through the flood my brakes didn't work till I pumped them a few times. Lucky I wasn't going fast yet...Hahah!

Mine squeks too but I have a feeling it coz the disc need to be skimmed already. The surface isn't smooth anymore. Will do that by my next service.
Any thing I should tell my mech when he does the service? I was thinking of replacing the gear oil only.

yea woh.. kk seem hit by storm recently ler..
if like that one if u flood ur car thru...

lolz..

hehe....just change engine oil (even though it has not reach its expired period). some 50 buck lub oil might save the engine from posible rosak.

To prevent (minimize, actual) future water entry, try take out the car carpet and look for holes on the floor pan. Buy some water proofing adhesive tape (rubber tape/bitumen tiles/tape, sold at hardware shop) and try patching all the visible holes. That would at least minimise water entry. These tapes are non-permanent and can be peeled off just in case you need to drain out water....from another massive flood. hehehe...

Hrmm...thanks for the advise ken yeang. I might juz do that. But kinda troublesome to remove the carpet, need to remove the chairs also lah....Hahah!

Thanks for helping!
Cheers!

peachmonkey said:
Ken yeang,
Heh,I suspected puddles of water on that road,that's why I was driving in low gear. I did not expect though such a huge collection of water. So it was kinda lucky I was already in 1st gear :p

I'm driving a Wira (carb). No modification done, but I have been having some problems with my distributer lately (changed twice in the past 3 months). The current one seems to be working fine. Juz worried it might get affected.

Slipknot,
I'm planning to change my engine and gear oil by the end of the month. And also remove all the seats and sun-dry the carpet. How do I check if the air-con comp. needs attention? Can DIY? Or must bring to air-con repair shop?

If the air-cond compressor makes a sound then you need to service. Probably water went in and affect the bearings. Its hard to DIY an air-cond compressor because you need to remove a few things before you can take out the air-cond compressor. Suggest you go to a car air-cond repair shop.