Driving through a flood...

Cow

Sigh damn stress..had to turn my car into a sampan last night on my way home.

Drove through about almost 1 feet of water..can see that the water level almost reaching the lowest part of my door... *sWt*

after that, brakes felt spongy... things were ok after I ddragged the brakes as I was driving to heat them up.

Then...steam started coming out from the front of the car..but car temperature not rising..must've been from water touching the exhaust system..

sigh...stress

JGE_4G15

Aug 26, 2006
ya ya...
at least you got out of it without stalling in the middle of it....

if i were you i wont dare to do it....
its almost half a wheel le.....
dangerous sia......

juz my 2cents......

Daniel Lee

Apr 21, 2005
Luckily the flood didn't cause any major problem to your car.
Where was the location of the flood?

Cow

ya luckily didn't stall..but damn scary lor...

i didn't want to, but I kinda had no choice, as there were cars behind me and the cars in front of me went through with no problem....

EDIT: Daniel, the flood was neat the IGB building Jln.Ipoh

K_Takuya

Moderate Moderator
Sep 1, 2005
Limau bali,Ipoh
yesterday the rain is damn heavy in kl...im on my way to ipoh.. i have to slow down untill 60kmh...cannot see anything.. was on my way to PLUS heading ipoh...

auxoura

manual car im sure we know how to avoid it from stalling....

>clutch > keep the rev up

but what about auto car?

JGE_4G15

Aug 26, 2006
fro me,
i'm driving auto car...
wat i do is i will put the gear to "L" instead of "D"
coz the gear ratio different from "D"....
car go slow and can have high rev.........

Cow

yah whatever it is, keep those revs up...

and I think it would help if you drag your brakes lightly when going through the flood too. Cause I notice that once the brakes get somewhat submerged in water, they tend to perform like shit...

JGE_4G15

Aug 26, 2006
for me....
i will drag my brakes after i get out from the flood...
ya ya...
i agree...
the brakes r really like sjit...
no reaction even when u depress fully....

huakenny

LB Performance
Feb 24, 2005
Kota Kinabalu
i cross the flood in front of the Institute jantung Negara there yesterday when raining heavily....

its so jam coz everyones not dare to drive forward....

i just cross the floos n damn it....it is so deep n the distance is long....

but at last i crossed it without any big problem, just my front bumper skirt missing....

damn....just bought it last week n get it installed, now GONE oledi:angry_smile:

JGE_4G15

Aug 26, 2006
huakenny said:
if me, i wil shift from D to N n keep the rpm up.....use handbrake o ur left foot to step on the brake pedal....

:_:
wah....
crossing the flood side skirt will yilang de..
scary sial.....

then like tat..
u will b stuck in the flood.....
isnt u?

My friend thinking of change the 1.5 auto gearbox to
other 4 speed auto gearbox with plug n play.

Any recommendation?

or do a halfcut convert to 1.6 Mivec auto cheaper?