fresh stock tune up

so are you saying motorsports isnt a good company? and are you saying if i change my exhaust to aftermarket exhaust, its gonna reduce my torque?
ok just like NISSAN(NISMO) and PROTON(MOTORSPORTS/R3). im getting a mod kit from their own racing developement. shouldnt that be good?

^_^ I'm not saying the company is not good. More important is, do you really know how this stuff work? That is my point bro zach...^_^.

Many of my friends and customers always want to make their car become more powerful, so they search any performance part that related to the word "RACING", "MOTORSPORT", "HKS", "SPOON", "TRD", "5ZIGEN"..... and this part are not cheap. After installing the part, customer feel really happy and say "my car are more powerful now", "I can feel the power!!!" well... this is just the begining of the story.

Few month later, "what happen to my engine ar?, you are the guy to install the part, you must know what happen to it.....(@#$%^& DO RE MI FA SO)" This story always happen around me and my friends...-_-.

Every performance part have their own function and side effect/weak point.

More power need more air and fuel, side effect: high fuel consumption.
More grip need bigger tire, side effect: hard to move.
More stable need stiff suspension, side effect: car act like a frog on bumpy road.
More stylish need more accressorise, side effect: destrubing, hard to focus on road.

so where are you working at cartoon? :]
i wouldnt think a performance would do much difference but it has been said that the R3 muffler for savvy increases horsepower insignificantly. after all i didnt decide to get the exhaust since it wasnt my upfront modding intention yet. i still need to shield my radiator then after i would get a voltage stablelizer from pivot which has been said to be really good. after all of that being done then im getting a performance spring kit so my car has better stability at high speeds.
last but not least, i was expecting you to explain to me furthermore about mufflers but i havent gotten any [:
care2share? =P

Oh...sorry sorry bro zach, OK I will try to explain how the exhaust system work ^_^.

Exhaust system have 3 main structure, 1)exhaust manifold/extractor, 2)catalytic convertor, 3)silencer/muffler. All this 3 structure are connect with exhaust pipe. So how it works?

1)exhaust manifold, help engine easier to push out the exhaust gas. In the first wave of exhaust stroke, the exhaust valve on the engine will open, then piston push out the high presure exhaust gas, then follow by second wave exhaust stroke, but this time the exhaust gas not only be push by the piston, it also suck by the first wave of exhaust stroke, make the engine more easy to push out the exhaust gas, then the exhaust gas act like a pulse, one by one be suck out from the exhaust pipe.

Original engine spec, all cyclinders are using the same exhaust manifold, so it can create the exhaust pulse very fast, make maximum torque output came very soon, help the car faster to pick up in low range RPM. But if the RPM keep increasing, the exhaust pulse will overlap each other and create back presure. (b'cause all cyclinders are using the same exhaust manifold. That is why other people say need some back presure to make the car easy to pick up) The back presure will limit the engine maximum power output.

To unlock the true power of the engine, all cyclinders are using individual pipe with the same lenght, then all connect to a single pipe again in order to reducing the amount of back presure, now the engine can release the true power of it. But before this, the exhaust wave must reach certain RPM speed to create the exhaust pulse, which mean the maximum output will be in high range RPM, same time the torque of low range RPM will be weaken and focus on high range RPM.

2)catalytic convertor, a pollution control device installed in the exhaust system that converts harmful combustion gases into carbon dioxide and water vapor by means of a heat-producing chemical reaction. (sourse from Midas Mufflers, Brake Repair, Car Maintenance and Auto Repair Services) (I'm not good enought to explain it in english...very sorry bro zach...-_-!)

3)silencer/muffler, to cancel the niose came from cyclindres. This section will not effect the performance much. But it can act like a musical instrument of the car ^_^.

Exhaust pipe, changing the width of exhaust pipe will also effect the exhaust pulse. If the exhaust pipe is too width, exhaust pulse are hard to keep it form, then it will end up inside the exhaust pipe and create back presure. So don't trust bigger is better~^_^.

Phew...., hope I can give you the answer you want bro zach...^_^! in this exhaust system, exhaust manifold/extractor and exhaust pipe are the key to effect the engine performance.

Just incase if you don't like the way of the performance exhaust system perform, you can change back to the original one ^_^.

thanks alot for the explaination cartoon :D but you still havent told me where you work =P
ok so lets say i get a performance muffler, it will make my car less noisier correct?

Nop, not really, it is base on how they design it. Let say, to make the exhaust sound less noisier, more silencer/muffler is needed. But the silencer it self are act like a obstacle to the exhaust flow.

For performance exhaust, they well reduce the size of the silencer/muffler (even don't use the muffler), in order to reduce any obstacle to block the exhaust flow. So normal performance exhaust will lounder then the stock exhaust.

I have do some research to you bro zach ^_^, here is the information from R3 website:

R3 Freeflow Exhaust System (Stage 1)
Optimised performance exhaust system tuned for noticeable improved in engine performance and acceleration
Mandrel-bent steel construction, best results when combined with R3-design exhaust manifold
Dyno-tested power increase up to 6hp

Question here, for which car model can increase up to 6hp?? They didn't tell us...
Performance chat?? Dyno-tested?? all I can see is the blur chart... don't know where it come from?
Hard to believe right...-_- ~!

Where I work ah~?, Mmmm.......... in HONDA.

Hi there cartoon..i've read all of that being posted in this thread..u r great at cars..i've join this forum just to thx u for ur info n knowledge..thx..

i will take a picture of the performance r3 muffler and post it here and then you tell me how well that thing works. anyway have you heard of pivot voltage stablelizer?

pivot voltage stablelizer, yup I heard it before ^_^. As I say, most of the voltage stablelizer, function are same. So don't worry too much bro zach, except buy from the second hand or direct sales.

There are fake voltage stablelizer in the market too, so please buy the product from a shop and keep the bill as a prof, incase the product have problem.

Bro zach, you mean this muffler?
http://www.racerallyresearch.com/parts/images/zero05.jpg
*source from R3 website*

for the savvy its abit different but the tip is just abit wider than the stock muffler.

Well, it is ok mah~^_^ wider tip make other people feel your car can VROOM~!!!. If base on the picture I post, I don't expect it can increase hourse power, but the tip look really sporty~!!!

HA HA HA HA~^_^! may be. You better ask the salesman for more detial about the exhaust and how the sound is ^_^. For some other people, they really like the sound ^_^ make them feel like riding a race car on street.

But other people beside them, feel really distrubing......^_^!

well too bad im not gonna get it yet. im eye'ing on the performance spring which will make my car slightly lowered but before that im getting the pivot voltage stablelizer. so only by the end of march then only i can install the r3 performance spring ;[ its so damn expensive

but performance spring with fucked up roads in KL....im having second thoughts...maybe i just get the sound card for my car first..

HA HA HA HA~^_^!, I already experience that, b'cause my kancil are using the "performance" spring which is very stiff one from the previous owner...-_-

Travel in KL road is really damn !@#$%^& DO RE ME FA SO one..... but when in cornering, the feel is really smonth one.

hahaha. what about the adjustable suspension?

Write your reply...