FPR Tuning for CAMPRO S4PH

BoxCarRacer

I bought myself an aftermarket FPR & fuel rail kit for my 1.6 CAMPRO engine. After 2 days installing it, it started to make whistling noise even after the engine has been revved or driven for some time. Am not sure about the setting though because it was done by someone else. My friend says its normal for FPR to sound like that but i still think its annoying especially during long drives.

I've tried googling & search through this forum for answers & guide but i cant seem to find one. Worse still, i just dont know whats the default pressure before i installed the FPR. Found a post in G2C, it says that CAMPRO default pressure should be around 3.5 BAR. Is it true?

The question is, does the whistling sound is caused by too much pressure? or the opposite?

What other factor to consider before I manually adjusting it? (its going to be my first time :stupid:)

Can anyone suggest what is the optimum pressure for it?

Thanks.

BRo Skywalker,

The installation was done by a reputable shop. I had the problem 2 days after. The whistling sound is common now & not only by stepping on the throttle. I checked on the gauge & when idle, it sat on 3.6 Bar.

Should i set the bar higher or lower? to which level?

Thanks.

kindly check ur connector such as hose and other thing make sure tight enought coz tis prob occur on me once.some more pls check ur adjuster fpr might no tight. lastly if ur oem regulator stil attach pls remove for FUTURE TUNING purposes.tq any q pls sms 019 3658515 wil help u

I just installed mine too today, and i meet this problem also.
The whistling noise really annoying me.
BoxCarRacer, do you solve your problem yet?
really need help here.

but i think Works branded should be a good item right...
anyway...will back to mechanic again for diagnosis...
Or any advise, please share...

crazykatak : I am using WORKS FPR.

Jerry ann : I thought i solved it by lowering it to 3.5 bar but yesterday, the whistling sound came back again. Thinking of setting it to 3.8 bar. Will it do any harm? Should be fine rite? coz the spray shud be concentrated & narrower.

The mechanic told me that 3 to 4.5 will be okay.
But i dont think it is the setting problem...anyway...you can try yours since it may be different causes...

Try adjusting the hoses that connects to the FPR (try and error). It works for me. Mine sets at 3.8 bar.

---------- Post added at 10:21 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 10:20 PM ----------

Adjust the way it routes a little and see the effect.

bro...

juz want to share my experience..i bought works regulator n fuel rail last october..n i oso had da same problem..whistle sound n da pressure at da gauge cant be maintain...i ody claim da warranty three times for new unit of fpr...including da 1st unit..i ody used 4 unit of works fpr...n da probs still occur..

so i decided to claim again change it with arospeed fpr...n finally probs gone...dis is my experienced..no offense to harm anyone...if u dont believe...try to swap wif ur old fpr or ur friends fpr..

goodluck...:driver:

st3305m : Thanks for sharing your experience with us.

Well, I bought the black series edition. I dont think its "cap ayam" or what la because i bought from a well known place in KL & the guy who did it for me is an experienced person too. The problem is, i am staying in JB! so its kinda hard for me to ask the same person to diagnose my problem.

Anyway, I have yet to re-tune my pressure level. This couple of days are kinda weird. The whistling sound comes & goes. Does the SIEMENS ecu plays a part in this? like adjusting to different kind of a/f ratio or something?

st3305m : Thanks for sharing your experience with us.

Well, I bought the black series edition. I dont think its "cap ayam" or what la because i bought from a well known place in KL & the guy who did it for me is an experienced person too. The problem is, i am staying in JB! so its kinda hard for me to ask the same person to diagnose my problem.

Anyway, I have yet to re-tune my pressure level. This couple of days are kinda weird. The whistling sound comes & goes. Does the SIEMENS ecu plays a part in this? like adjusting to different kind of a/f ratio or something?

i oso bought the black edition bro...someone told me tat da 1st batch of works (sliver edition) fpr is good..i believe its nothing to do wif da a/f ratio bcoz it is constantly monitor by o2 sensor and da ecu control da ratio...

i believe da whistle probs is from da diaphragm itself...:biggrin:

st3305m : I have a feeling you're right. I tried to adjust the level higher than 3.6 Bar, the whistle just got louder.

Jerry_ann : Hows your problem? is it solved?

Jerry will come tomorrow to get it checked. As for you box, wait for my news.

It has been confirmed as a problem within the valve but no concrete evidence saying that the regulator is performing poorly, except the whistling noise. It appears that only the newer batch has the problem. Swapping to a unit from the older batch seemed solving the problem, but there's no visual difference between the two batches.

However, we are working with the manufacturer through the supplier to identify the actual cause(s) of the whistling noise. It may be a tedious and time consuming process as it involves oversea manufacturer.

We are sorry to put you guys in such a situation.

Erm actually Works FPR is known for that problem, my mech stopped using it for quite some time already after many complains. He recommends tomei, he says is double sealed or something for better durability

As I said, only the newer batch is suffering from the whistling problem. Been using the older batch for more than 2 years without any issue. To say that it's 'known' for that problem is unfair.

Double diaphragm? All Works Engineering FPRs have double diaphragm design.

I had to go somewhere this morning with my family so i decided to lower the pressure down hoping that the whistle sound go away. I set it to 3.2 Bar. After couple of minutes of driving, the whistling sound came back! :banghead:

Guess its true then. I realize one thing though. When I set it to normal or higher, its fine until i tried to tighten it up. Valve thingy perhaprs?

Anyway, I gave up on setting it & leaving it to normal stock pressure at the moment.

Drex, ill be waiting patiently for the good news. Hoping to get it replaced tho. At least, there's a reason for me to go up KL again :biggrin:

Thanks.

I replaced the diaphragm assembly on jerry's car today. At first it seems solving the problem but after a short drive it started to make noise. So I lower it to 0 bars while running the engine, in hope to clear up possible dirt caught between in the valve. Increased it back to normal pressure at the noise went away. So I thought it's done and jerry left.

But then, he sent me a message saying that it came back.. fulamak I am clueless now.