FF Engine Into RWD Car ???

Perdanalusuh

I have and old school classic with RWD engine. I have hard time to find 1.0 - 1.3cc RWD engine year 1995 onwards. Can a FF engine which is widely available fit into a RWD car. If can... what sort of modifications needed ?

bro, dun think so;
alot have to be changed; even the way u place ur engine would be different whereby the engine would be mounted horizontaly for FF and vertically for FR.
I think all that's under the floor of your car would need to be change to accomodate that; which involves tons of money...

think wise!

Perdanalusuh said:
How about mix n match ff engine with rwd gearbox.... can huh.. ???
can can, i'm doing that now. beside knocking the firewall abit to fit the distributor, and if you prefer to fork out another big sum of money to get a distributor less ignition system, you don't even have to do anything. everything just bolt on.

well, it actually depend alot on what car you wanna transplant the engine.

newer rwd only engine at 1.3liter i can think of right now is from Avanza or from RX7/8

bro boon, what he asked is can engine from a ff car be fitted to a fr chassis. because he already has an old skool car and he wants to change the engine with newer spec one.

am i right perdanalusuh?

well this could be done actually, provided you are using the engine which is in same family with your current car. what is your car btw if i may ask.

like what you can see in the case of those AE86 guys. originally it is fitted with an engine called 4AGE which is a fuel injected 16 valve 1.6 liter. and AE86s it self are very good as it is in the fr package. and many who owns one have fall in love with the car. but pity when toyota decides that the 86 will be the last corolla to be produced in a fr package. but toyota still wants to develops the mighty 4AGEs as this engined proved to be very interesting. and toyota continues to build the 4AGE but fitted it in a newer, "cheaper than fr" ff chassis. and since then the AE86 owners have fitted their engine bay with a much better, stronger ff based 4AGEs.

and back to your question, yes it can be done but not easily because a lot of things are involved. my suggestion to you is go ahead and do some research first and then decide for yourself wether it's worth it or not.

peace everyone

u mean FF engine fitted as FR in a FR car??..
i guess should be no problem... jz that all the mountings need to change lo... could face problem with jpj....

FF engine CAN be fitted into FR chassis. for example VR4 in lancer kotak (pardon me, vr4 is 4wd but it's still transversely mounted). modifications on intake manifold n throttle body positioning, waterpump pipe, thermostat, and many other things required. since u mentioned that u cant find any FR engine, so u have to take the risk and bear the hardship....

definitely possible and can be done...

oh..okie....
thought he wanted to fit in FF engine and convert everything to FF.......(than axels needed to be change and everything)
kekekeke
but i guessed if FF engine mounted but still keep it as FR; hmmmmmmmmmmm; guessed all the sifus already answered.

cheers!

thats what i said. must know what car first. If its a toyota old school then very easy already, cuz they basically share a hell lot of parts.

4G63T in a porsche...

porshe4g63.jpg

img-9.jpg

img-8.jpg

Wow so many answers... hehehhe

Well actually its a year 62 Morris Minor. The problem is I dont want to cut the casis of the engine bay which is vertical only 18 Inch otherwise radiator cannot fit in.

Some crazy enaugh to put 4age but need to cut here and there to fit those engine in but its a classic car... do I need such a powerful engine ? Maintaning the original engine is costly and not practical for daily drive.

The is my mechanic suggestions :

1.Datsun 1200 or C22 - cheap but engine is old
2.Daihatsu L5 turbo or N/A - I dont know how he convert it to RWD. He say Kancil engine also can...
3.Suzuki Jimmy 1.3 which is RWD but engine expensive

Datsun/Nissan C22 will cost me around RM2k plus and Daihatsu and Suzuki will cost me RM4k plus not including installation charges which is RM1k - RM1.5k. I wonder if I change all the belts , plugs , water pump , clutch the price will cost me another RM1k.... wow its like converting my V6tt already... : )

Today Im going to chop shop to servey on engine and prices otherwise I will not know if the mechanic is choping my head... : )

no shit?! a morris minor? lol never got a chance to see one with my eyes, din even they exist in malaysia at all.

i wonder if avanza engine can go in or not...

There a many in Malaysia but people drive it just for weekend car or only for special occations.

If you check motortrader.com at classic segment one are even crazy enaugh to put Levin 1.6 supercharger inside the morris at price the car at RM40k plus ? Wow... I bought mine with new paint , good interior , new tire and new road tax at only RM5k.... Now the car is in transformation... put a Suzuki Jimny 1.3cc. Azanva is FF engine... but I think need to cut some of the engine bay which I rather not and I'm not sure if the engine can be match with RWD gear box.

I use Suzuki coz its a RWD engine. I wont take the risk for failure in mathing FF engine with RWD gearbox... Im no rich to throw money to the drain... : )

dude.. avanza is FR lar... i peek into the engine bay whenever there's a car show/launching, everytime go become "fake tauke", only to see and sit in car only XD. maybe i din see clearly enough, but its more or less like mine ler.. FR layout. Wait till someone post a pic of avanza engine bay or maybe i'll ask from someone see see..

screw jpj. Just ask those uncle uncle with old old car about their engine, ask those who have change their engine before, and see how many actually bother to go to JPJ to register.

Lambert said:
then once caught the car will be sita.
JPJ here won't even bother to look at old cars with stock looking exterior. They'll stop you if your car is tinted or muffler noisy. I've been through multiple roadblocks (well, not the major operation one, since they don't do that often here) and they just let me through, while stopping other cars.

icic, but transform from fwd to rwd quite big project, and also need to cut some part of body, scare the body cannot tahan.