Feedback/suggestions

supernt

I would like some feedback/advice/suggestions regarding my current situation.

I'm currently driving an FD1 year 09 and I believe my absorbers are due to be replaced. The car is so uncomfortable til I don't even feel like driving it anymore :laugh: ... anyways.. what should I do from here? I currently have my budget allocated for something else in the months to come but I still need to do something about the car. I have allocated about 1k+ for the replacement absorbers so the question is, what do I go for? Do I even have options to go for anything but the OEM absorbers from Honda due to the budget allocation?

I would like some feedback/advice/suggestions regarding my current situation.

I'm currently driving an FD1 year 09 and I believe my absorbers are due to be replaced. The car is so uncomfortable til I don't even feel like driving it anymore :laugh: ... anyways.. what should I do from here? I currently have my budget allocated for something else in the months to come but I still need to do something about the car. I have allocated about 1k+ for the replacement absorbers so the question is, what do I go for? Do I even have options to go for anything but the OEM absorbers from Honda due to the budget allocation?

You've replied your own question. You're looking for comfort so OEM is the best. You're looking at budget also OEM is the cheapest.

Yeah that's what I thought.. out of options due to the budget.. I was offered Tokico. Never heard of it to be honest so I don't know if it's worth considering or if I should just go ahead with the OEM.

Would be nice if I could get some feedback/comments regarding Tokico.

Either OEM or OEM type aftermarket replacement can be considered. Tokico, Kayaba, Monroe to name a few are aftermarket brands. They actually manufacture for car brands as OEM so you have to check what is yours. I remember my old ex Honda had Kayaba made OEM shocks......

Ah so then they're worth considering. How would they react with aftermarket lowering springs?

Are they long stroke or short stroke absorbers? Long stroke + short springs = bumpy and lots of discomfort.

I'm not sure. Haven't heard of Tokico only until recently, let alone know anyone using them on their FD.

Depends on how hard (spring rate) and low your spring is. Some springs like the Tanabe NF is designed to work within the stock absorbers tolerance/capability with only like 5-10% stiffer and just 2-3cm lower, so they're still a good match.

Original absorbers for Japanese cars are often made either by Kayaba or Tokico (but Kayaba seems to have share).

If using lowering spring get short stroke absorber or better still go hi lo adjustable absorber, or even better get fully adjustable....:smokin:

Depends on how hard (spring rate) and low your spring is. Some springs like the Tanabe NF is designed to work within the stock absorbers tolerance/capability with only like 5-10% stiffer and just 2-3cm lower, so they're still a good match.

Original absorbers for Japanese cars are often made either by Kayaba or Tokico (but Kayaba seems to have share).

Gotcha

If using lowering spring get short stroke absorber or better still go hi lo adjustable absorber, or even better get fully adjustable....:smokin:

Fully adjustable is the way to go, maybe in the months to come. For now, just to get things going I'll have to temporarily ride on the OEMs :laugh:

Actually Tokico is a good brand.. but they did not advertise it strongly..
anyway.. humans are very funny where me say good, others say no good..
since that you are in tight budget, why not gave it a try...
Malay word always usefull to me "belum cuba belum tau".. (Never try never know)

Good luck..:driver:

Actually Tokico is a good brand.. but they did not advertise it strongly..
anyway.. humans are very funny where me say good, others say no good..
since that you are in tight budget, why not gave it a try...
Malay word always usefull to me "belum cuba belum tau".. (Never try never know)

Good luck..:driver:

I just mentioned the same thing in the other thread, some will say A good, some will say B good.....lol:rofl:

Well, that is why there are a lot of brand name and things coming out in order to serve human needs..:top::flute:

So depends on luck too. Those say A good, suddenly get lemon one, will say no good......lol
Kena before on Monroe, got people use good but mine was bad.....:banghead:

So depends on luck too. Those say A good, suddenly get lemon one, will say no good......lol
Kena before on Monroe, got people use good but mine was bad.....:banghead:

yup.. fully agreed.. lucks did help a lot.. just like my old Alza.. use for 5 year no problem, problem arise but just found out it is factory default where warranty already no more..
they did not properly tighten up both my drive shaft that make both drive shaft screw area kong...:banghead::banghead: need to change both to new one when change my gearbox oil seal since unable to tighten it back... money fly:bawling::bawling::bawling::bawling::bawling:
no luck to claim but lucky no accident happens..:marchmellow:

yup.. fully agreed.. lucks did help a lot.. just like my old Alza.. use for 5 year no problem, problem arise but just found out it is factory default where warranty already no more..
they did not properly tighten up both my drive shaft that make both drive shaft screw area kong...:banghead::banghead: need to change both to new one when change my gearbox oil seal since unable to tighten it back... money fly:bawling::bawling::bawling::bawling::bawling:
no luck to claim but lucky no accident happens..:marchmellow:

Yup, look at bright side, no accident happen......:driver: