Extractor Question...

theorekz

An exhaust mechanic told me that a 4-2-1 extractor would reduce the noise of the muffler... is it a true statement??

as far as my "shallow" knowledge, a 4-2-1 will extract the gas faster right??

thanks for the info...
:)

i dont think can reduce the noise, but i believe center bullet only can make it. normally ppl place 1 bullet only, if the muffler really too noise then only put 2nd to reduce it. but the bullet not functioning for reduce noise lar, of course. ;p

the 2nd i not sure, so dont dare to answer...hehe!

Originally posted by nicteh@Apr 18 2005, 17:30
i dont think can reduce the noise, but i believe center bullet only can make it. normally ppl place 1 bullet only, if the muffler really too noise then only put 2nd to reduce it. but the bullet not functioning for reduce noise lar, of course. ;p

the 2nd i not sure, so dont dare to answer...hehe!
[snapback]907555[/snapback]​

i agree with u but really put the second bullet the car will run quiter and most people put two bullet is for top end n hill climbing.

thanks for the info provided...

i have a few question regarding the exhaustion...

this is the setting of my iswara 1.3 aeroback manual

stock exhaust manifold -> aftermarket bullet -> iswara sport edition exhaust system(include piping n muffler)
i'm now thinking of changing my manifold to a 4-2-1 system n change back to a stock muffler(cause cannot tahan LMST sound) :blink: ...

will this "idea" affect my car's performance??
https://www.zerotohundred.com/forums/style_emoticons/default/smile.gif alt='smile.gif' />

erm, just to share my knowledge...a bullet's purpose is just to silent the sound and make the air flows better, thus bring in better high end torque, but in my experience, bullets sucks big time, cut out low end torque, and u can't place a big bullet, so don't get conned by some exhaust shop telling u that bigger and longer bullet can last longer, but actually it's more expensive. Useless cause there's too much air restriction inside, i myself taking off my bullet.

cap ayam bullet for sale at 70 bucks, very very very new, very very very long, and very very very quiet. Who wants? I bought it at 170

theorekz,
4-2-1 -> stock muffler. i think not much affect your car performance. just very very very 'bit'. but the sound of your muffler a bit weired, if apply 421 with atock muffler.

a) 421 just for pick-up n smooth.
B) center bullet for concentrate the air, let say if u stop your car then push your pedal for few times then release the clutch it will spin more then u just spin normal.
c) muffler for top end.
there got specify bullet/ muffler for auto n manual.

o... i see...

but how about these configuration below, which is better??

1) 4-2-1 extractor -> aftermarket bullet -> LMST muffler(with silencer)

2) 4-2-1 extractor -> aftermarket bullet -> stock iswara muffler

which 1 is better?
in terms of power loss n noise...
thanks...

Originally posted by theorekz@Apr 19 2005, 16:08
o... i see...

but how about these configuration below, which is better??

1) 4-2-1 extractor -> aftermarket bullet -> LMST muffler(with silencer)

2) 4-2-1 extractor -> aftermarket bullet -> stock iswara muffler

which 1 is better?
in terms of power loss n noise...
thanks...
[snapback]910575[/snapback]​

y dont u try to put twin tail pipe exhaust type like wira 1.8 cos as i know the LMST sound very humming and i dun like it one bit hehe.

imho, muffler is the least performance providing item in the exhaust system, but it's indeed the noisiest factor for our exhaust system

no muffler damn loud
muffler u want loud or not loud up to u

silencer is a restriction for ur muffler, u sure u want it?

I suggest, get another aftermarket muffler, spend more on something useful rather than saving for something useless unless u're willing to take the risk.

PZ extractor for 4g13 410, center bullet if u want i can sell to u too

hi all....
i thinking of something
(actually i saw a satria done before... but my idea is shorter)
dono can work or not
so ask sifu sifu here advice..

i thinking... 4-1 extractor, (the '4' section longer)
then very short pipe, bend to a side,
then aftermarket muffler...
so the pipe comes out from the car side
somewhere under the front passenger door

like this can? good power?

be careful when u go over a hump, and it provides exceptional low end torque and pissing off high end torque. It's like when u reach 140, it's very hard to proceed to a higher speed. That's for extractor.

piping, the shorter the route the more low end torque there is, many may disagree though.

muffler don't care too much la bro, depends on the sound u want la