First of all, I think this thread suits here more than the detailing room coz in my opinion, this is not detailing. I merely trying some method and DIY. :hmmmm:
Quite a number of people from around the world have used Spar Urethane + Mineral Spirits method for headlamp restoration. Since I am amused by what this remedy can do, I decided to give it a try since I have a can of Spar Urethane.
Other things needed: Mineral spirits, a plastic cup (non wax), a spoon, towels, and of course, white mice 
So there he is, driving a white kancil-converted-mira. Enjoy the pics ~
1. The white mice...it's small, it's white, and with cataracts. Perfect candidate!
2. Lets take it closer....its that a whacked bug on the fog lamp?
3. Lets take a look at the other side ...
4. I cleaned up the mess with water + degreaser 2:1 and then dry sand with 400 grit
5. From 400, I continued with dry sand 600, then move to wet sand 800,1000, and then 1500 grit. Notice that I did not tape the lamp surrounding. When I wanted to tape it, my friend said "tape what lah...my paint already kong le...no need waste time" and I was like :hmmmm: ok lor
6. After 2000 grit wet sanding. I stop here coz I dont have higher grit. After all the sanding, I used a clay bar to remove all the stuffs on the surface.
7. Then I mixed 1:1.3 of mineral spirits + spar urethane, kacau kacau it in the plastic cup and then used a polishing microfiber cloth (very minimal lint) to spread the mixture left and right. Most people uses blue shop towel but I cant find it in Malaysia. Sorry guys no photo of the mixture coz my hand was messy at that time.
8. The result is very promising. This is a 50-50 shot. Driver side done, passenger side has to be done.
9. Finished both lamps and took the ride outside for a shot. Not bad and I was quite satisfied. Notice that the driver side fog lamp is still blurry. I found out that the fault is actually from the inside
. I cant do anything without dismantling the lamp. My friend did not mind and is happy with the result so I dint go any further.
So there it is. The method works! Most of the people who used this method said that it will last for 1-2 years, depending on how severe is the weather. I'll keep you guys posted every 3 months if possible. Thanks for readingzzzzzzzzzZZzzzzZzzzZz ~:sleep::sleep::sleep:
Quite a number of people from around the world have used Spar Urethane + Mineral Spirits method for headlamp restoration. Since I am amused by what this remedy can do, I decided to give it a try since I have a can of Spar Urethane.

So there he is, driving a white kancil-converted-mira. Enjoy the pics ~

1. The white mice...it's small, it's white, and with cataracts. Perfect candidate!

2. Lets take it closer....its that a whacked bug on the fog lamp?

3. Lets take a look at the other side ...

4. I cleaned up the mess with water + degreaser 2:1 and then dry sand with 400 grit

5. From 400, I continued with dry sand 600, then move to wet sand 800,1000, and then 1500 grit. Notice that I did not tape the lamp surrounding. When I wanted to tape it, my friend said "tape what lah...my paint already kong le...no need waste time" and I was like :hmmmm: ok lor

6. After 2000 grit wet sanding. I stop here coz I dont have higher grit. After all the sanding, I used a clay bar to remove all the stuffs on the surface.

7. Then I mixed 1:1.3 of mineral spirits + spar urethane, kacau kacau it in the plastic cup and then used a polishing microfiber cloth (very minimal lint) to spread the mixture left and right. Most people uses blue shop towel but I cant find it in Malaysia. Sorry guys no photo of the mixture coz my hand was messy at that time.

8. The result is very promising. This is a 50-50 shot. Driver side done, passenger side has to be done.

9. Finished both lamps and took the ride outside for a shot. Not bad and I was quite satisfied. Notice that the driver side fog lamp is still blurry. I found out that the fault is actually from the inside

So there it is. The method works! Most of the people who used this method said that it will last for 1-2 years, depending on how severe is the weather. I'll keep you guys posted every 3 months if possible. Thanks for readingzzzzzzzzzZZzzzzZzzzZz ~:sleep::sleep::sleep: