Sharing my first time experience on rotary... EPIC FAIL

This is my third try....

Since the wira bonnet is single stage now and is so beaten up, I figured out that I have to try it on another panel. So I got permission to do it on my dad's car... This car was used previously by me. Today, it has deteriorated so severely that I'm not sure if I can call it a car.

In fact, to categorize this case as neglect would be inaccurate because "proper care was taken to ensure that this car is properly neglected". Parked under sun, trees, no wash for >2 years, necessary stuff not fixed, interior not cleaned at all having damp smell all the time.

Let's start... To begin, the paint is dull, oxidised, unattractive, dry, and the white appeared greyish. Not washed for 2 years, I suspects that a lot of contaminants have bonded to the paint because After a good wash, the white still appear slight greyish. And some time ago, this mysterious brown spot that nobody knows what is it just appeared... Started out not so dark and it got worse by the day...

attachment.php

What i did was...
- Wash with a cheapo car wash first (Because too much dirt)
- Then clayed with ONR QD as lube
- Compounded don't know how many times with OHC and wool pad (speed 2.5 to work); then polish with OHP and optimum red cutting pad (speed 2 to work).
- Opti-seal
- Optimum Car Wax

This is after everything... Can't remove the brown spot but significantly lighten. I didn't dare compound further because cut a lot already. Can anyone tell me what is the brown spot??? :confused:
attachment.php

This area, where paint is known to be thinner. I compounded until I started to see some bluish (i don't know why it appeared pinkish on the screen). The paint was cut so thin until I can see a bit of primer through it!!! Once I see this, I stopped.
attachment.php

After everthing, Tada! Gloss restored... I love the reflections...
attachment.php

But under close inspection of light, what the??? :confused: Why I always compound also cannot remove the swirls and scratches? I don't think I didn't compound and polish enough because until the paint already thin.... :banghead:
http://www.zerotohundred.com/newforums/attachment.php?attachmentid=383323 http://www.zerotohundred.com/newforums/attachment.php?attachmentid=383328

This time, I used and wasted a lot of product because of poor panel division... This is what I've learned when trying to divide and polish contoured panels... The car's bonnet is curved with lines and trims.... Like this here...
attachment.php

By default, I divided it into 4 areas like this... This is what most website teach too.
attachment.php

But there is a contour here, in the place circled. Like a small step. After I compounded, I found that this place didn't get worked well and was dull and have lots of product splatter... Because there is a step and the wool/pad seems to skip over this area.
attachment.php

So finally I divided it this way... I did along area 5 first (where the countour/step is), carefully with the side of the wool/pads. Then proceeded to area 1, 2, 3, and then 4. Then all places get worked evenly...
attachment.php

Here are 50/50 videos. The one at night not so clear. Can't see the sharpness of the light. The one in the daytime is much obvious...
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9sPtRblRVsY
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hLBMP0aUFDY

Thank you KC, Fishbonezken for advising through emails. Thank you Muyo, S1tl and the rest for your guy's input here!

P.S - Seriously, how to remove swirls and scratches?

• DSC09391.JPG
    DSC09391.JPG
    179.5 KB · Views: 412
  • DSC09393.JPG
    DSC09393.JPG
    320.2 KB · Views: 445
  • DSC09394.JPG
    DSC09394.JPG
    368.4 KB · Views: 445
  • Image387.jpg
    Image387.jpg
    98.9 KB · Views: 406
  • DSC00462.JPG
    DSC00462.JPG
    192.9 KB · Views: 407
  • DSC00463.JPG
    DSC00463.JPG
    167.3 KB · Views: 415
  • Image384.jpg
    Image384.jpg
    163.3 KB · Views: 400
  • Image386.jpg
    Image386.jpg
    121.6 KB · Views: 430
  • DSC00458.JPG
    DSC00458.JPG
    193.7 KB · Views: 428
  • Bonnet.JPG
    Bonnet.JPG
    21.6 KB · Views: 417
  • Bonnet divide 1.JPG
    Bonnet divide 1.JPG
    27.1 KB · Views: 412
  • Bonnet contour.JPG
    Bonnet contour.JPG
    26.1 KB · Views: 417
  • Bonnet divide 2.JPG
    Bonnet divide 2.JPG
    32.8 KB · Views: 411
some scratches are not worth to remove if cut through really deep (single stage: close to primer / clear coated: close to base coat) if you insist to cut all the scratches you'll end up cut alot on the paint/clear coat. and also some scratches are cannot be removed no matter how much you cut.

Holy shit dude, you've got a sense of humor as well as dedication.

Admitted, I giggled when you said But mine is "now you see it, now you see it clearer" aahahahahhaha.

Anyways respect to you for sharing what to expect for first time detailers :itsme:

that is a huge huge experience

congrats for crossing over now

- bro if I am you ( as what i have been asking u for pictures)

I would use OPC full strength to clean this babe thoroughly & rinse off (save half yr mess of Compound & after which u can OHP - u will get tada (try it again)

of one thing i see your strength u r good in graphic
keep it up

Cheers

& way to go ( cant wait to see more of yr posting)'

My fourth try...

My friend's kancil due for repray.... You know what this means la :biggrin:. It means an all out battle!!!

This car is parked out under the unforgiving, merciless sun of Sabah (heat more aggressive than KL) for about 5 years. Side panels are still okay but the roof and bonnet are largely damaged with clear coat failure (oxidation and even peeling!). So I got permission from her to try to fix it!

As you can see, most of the horizontal panel is badly oxidised witht he paint looking dull and white patches all over.
attachment.php

Close up
attachment.php

There are quite a number of these really bad, deep scratches to the primer.
attachment.php

Clear coat peeling with a black paint tranference
attachment.php

A mysterious deep cross scratch. Done by an angel? No... Angel of death I believe.
attachment.php

Scratch till the paint is gone
attachment.php

Started with ONR. I always love the smell of ONR like bubble gum! Just 1oz into 8 L provides plenty lubrication and the dirt glides off effortlessly...
attachment.php

Not so dirty actually... Accidentally clayed on a panel that I haven't washed :biggrin:
attachment.php

So coarse and blurr...
attachment.php

I can't even see the proper shape of my light bulb...
attachment.php

I just can't help but b attracted to this cross and wonder what caused it?
attachment.php

This is after compounding by Optimum wool pad + Optimum Hyper Compound. First round only... Didn't snap the second round. Gloss restored but still not there yet. Need the mirror effect!
attachment.php

After polishing and refine with Optimum polishing pad with Optimum Hyper polish... Okay! At last can see the bulb on my ceiling!
attachment.php

No halogen yet... Try to spot come marrings with flashing all over the bonnet... Okay lah!
attachment.php

Only did the bonnet because of time constraint. I started 8 at night when my hands felt itchy... Didn't get to do the rest... Next day, I sent it for paint.

Shaved off some paint as the clear coat was gone in many places already... Thanks to OPC, cleaning the wool was a breeze. I took time learning how to use this product. But once got use to it, it really is quite convenient! Clean engine, tough stains, paint, interior, and pads...
attachment.php

Thank you for viewing... :sleep:

• DSC00479.JPG
    DSC00479.JPG
    101.6 KB · Views: 371
  • DSC00478.JPG
    DSC00478.JPG
    97.8 KB · Views: 378
  • DSC00477.JPG
    DSC00477.JPG
    116 KB · Views: 333