Experience with Puspakom

if i'm not mistaken, the side slip is bcoz of the tires and the angle of ur chambers...if u did the wheel alingment using those ir devices, try going to am oldskool mec that those the adjustments using manual adjustments... using a leveler, measuring tape, and the angle calculator on under the wheel... the side slip can also be caused by uneven tire ware...

walau...like dat how to solve ???
i think most of us normal drivers will depend on the skill of the mechanic + the machine to "Properly" align our 4 tyres.....if Puspakom test reveal side slip failure, means that we've been cheated by the mechanics la.....if we are being cheated, how can we then make sure that when we send in for alignment the mechanics are doing the "proper" job ????

and if Puspakom always say side slip failure according to their test, that also means that those mechanics are putting us all in danger by driving an non-reliable car which may potentially cause accident...

hmmmm.....could that also be the reason for accident to occur ? i mean, if there was no side slip failure, then could we as drivers manage to 'control' our car better when during emergency ????? then next question is, what would be the cause of accident ? human error or side slip failure ???

walau.....this is something new to me, although i always suspected that those alignment mechanics are always taking me for a ride...somehow my camber always lari...and have to pay RM25/wheel to 're-adjust' camber.....

wow.. corona u could be right.. i think those machines that they use to do alignment once old it could be out of calibration rite.. maybe will go check at those old school shops as u mentioned.. damm man.. i hope the next time we go back to puspakom it will pass the test.. thanks guys.. will keep u guys updated..:)

but normally, if minor problem they would pass it & just put a remark at the column, like my case, i went to puspakom, my windscreen cracked, they just put a remark & pass me......small matter like this they wont care....unless your chasis bengkok or keta potong, then only they will fail u.

i agree with what tonytony said, i visited the glenmarie brancs and found out that the boys there are very hard working.. i normally go to the pdg jawa one.. there those guys are useless as the treat the car as mentioned earlier and they freaking take so many breaks.. once i was waiting for my report for so long.. and when i asked the counter what happened she said dia pergi minum.. it was 10 am.. i still have no idea what is side slip test.. haih.. need to go back next week but need to fix this prob before that if not sure fail again...

From my point of view, Puspakom is full of bulls**t.

I have experienced with JB branch twice for my previous Satria and my EK. If you guys feel dat the technicians over there are hardworking then u r wrong. Actually Puspakom have insufficient manpower. It explains why they work hard and later they lost focus and profesionalisme. Then they start slamming doors, shout-out when we ask question, etc... My cars pillar cover and door's rubber oso got torn thanx to the technicians...

Another issue is the lanes.. If not mistaken JB have 8 lanes. 2 lanes for commercial vehicles, 2 lanes for lorry & bus, 2 lanes for private vehicles. I noticed 2 lanes were inactive. Well I guess, they need to improve the facilities (proper waiting area, cafe, increase inspection lanes, etc...) For God sake, we are paying their salary! We bring bussiness to them and we deserve some appreciation!

Puspakom has been empowered by JPJ to do detail checking and examine safety aspects. FYI, Puspakom is just another private-GLC company with big power. We have no choice but to deal wth them. "Under-table", "Duit kopi", "Kantau", "Setel Tepi" becomes very common. As time moves on, they are getting "besar kepala"

just an update.. yesterday took the car to a tire shop recomended by a workshop.. the guys there were very professional.. even though this car is old and not like the higher end clients he gets he delt with us.. very nice guy.. anyways he has done the alignment plus he printed a report for us and told us it might help if we go back and they tell us side slip fail.. today gonna go get the back brakes done.. hope all goes well..

well the car past the test.. the thing is on the first run the rear brakes still showed similar values.. then the technician tried it again and it showed higher values.. i think some of u guys are right its up to them if they wanna pass it anot.. well im glad that it passed.. my friend is happy now that his car is officially endorsed and changed to his name.. he even sent me an sms saying he is officially married to lucky( car's name) hehehe...

puspakom is a load of crap
is there anyone that v can complaint to if we r not satisfied with wat they do?

Sorry for bumping old thread.. But I can't help but to answer TS' question.. XD

Side-slip is the distance of the direction that ur car pulls toward in a straight line with ur steering straight..

The acceptable value is plus minus 5m/1KM.. Which means.. with ur steering straight over the course of 1km, ur car shouldn't be pulling more than 5m to the left or right..

I'm answering this bcos I'm sending my car to puspakom for 18 point check tomorrow.. :banghead:

Passed the Puspakom test with flying colours :biggrin: But damn dulan, I removed all my tint d. Go there they didn't even bother to check using VLT meter. Just open door, stick sticker, cincai write 78% & pass. :sweat:

They removed the rubber from my door & pillars, but placed it back nicely for me. Which is really nice & considerate :biggrin:

As for the side slip test, mine was -0.4m/1KM. :hahaha: a bit more can fail sia..

They were blasting my RF ICE system with Like A G6 when they're inspecting my car. I was sitting in the waiting area, suddenly I heard music from outside. :mad:

But overall, very quick inspection at xxx xxxxxx Puspakom. Took less than 20 mins. Workers are quite careful with my car, which is a plus point. Apart from the ICE incident of course. =.=

Oh, and btw.. I went to Wangsa Maju Puspakom before going to the one mentioned above. Apparently W.M Puspakom is closed for renovation till middle of November. Take note of this if u're planning to go for an inspection!

blasting the sound system is better than ramming yr engine till redline...but as long as its pass and the stereo ok...thats great cos if fail, very troublesome...:)

Passed the Puspakom test with flying colours :biggrin: But damn dulan, I removed all my tint d. Go there they didn't even bother to check using VLT meter. Just open door, stick sticker, cincai write 78% & pass. :sweat:

They removed the rubber from my door & pillars, but placed it back nicely for me. Which is really nice & considerate :biggrin:

As for the side slip test, mine was -0.4m/1KM. :hahaha: a bit more can fail sia..

They were blasting my RF ICE system with Like A G6 when they're inspecting my car. I was sitting in the waiting area, suddenly I heard music from outside. :mad:

But overall, very quick inspection at xxx xxxxxx Puspakom. Took less than 20 mins. Workers are quite careful with my car, which is a plus point. Apart from the ICE incident of course. =.=

Oh, and btw.. I went to Wangsa Maju Puspakom before going to the one mentioned above. Apparently W.M Puspakom is closed for renovation till middle of November. Take note of this if u're planning to go for an inspection!

they do have 'implanted' VLT meter in their eyes. bare eyes or ikut suka type of inspection. hihihihihihi

from what i know, in klang valley, u better don do that...ends up in trouble la