Exhaust Control Valve (ECV)

clanzkiller

As title, the so-called exhaust control valve or exhaust valve controller or similar, that they have a string to pull (manual type) for the valve to close so that it won't be that noisy, and auto type by pressing buttons up n down?

Assumed i'm using direct exhaust downpipe with 1 silencer and a muffler, my question is:
1. Will this ECV really minimize the exhaust sound production?
2. If let's say i close the valve to the maximum closing point, and my airflow output of course will remain the same from turbo downpipe, will the air return back to turbo since there are restriction to reach the exhaust and atmosphere?
3. Izzit the same theory as in, if i open the valve, the sound can be hear loudly throughout downpipe and exhaust, if i close the valve, the sound can be hear just through the exhaust? like with more silencer?
4. I went to consult some exhaust specialize shop, and i heard there is an auto type, no need to pull the string, but by using a controller to adjust the valve open/close. Anyone using it mind to share how good it is, because the price range compare manual and auto is too far away.

Reason of creating this thread in case u guys wondering,
i'm planning to upgrade my exhaust system, but i have few concern before doing it. Cause i know once if i did it, it will be very loud, and thus, this are my reason:
1. I lived in a quiet community, and i afraid that my exhaust make my neighbors angry/dislike/mad.
2. Sometimes i need to fetch my sister and her son from places to places, so is not good if it is too loud for the kid.
3. I drove my car to work, sometimes i need to fetch client, and is not good if it is over noisy.
4. Police issue.

I hope someone experience with this can share his experience with me, or maybe we can meet up and show me how's it really works in reality since i can't really hear/see/feel it from youtube.

Thanks alot

what i noe is that there are 2 types:

1. one is like the apexi control valve where u put somewhere along ur exhaust piping; effect when ure switching it on is like using a silencer, purpose is mainly for reducing noise only

2. another type is like quicktime exhaust cutouts, where u install a Y-shaped pipe to somewhere near the downpipe and the ecv is installed at the other side of the Y-pipe (so ure actually having 2 exhaust outlets). exhaust gasses can come out directly through the Y-pipe, bypassing the rest of the exhaust system for maximum flow/noise; this method will only work for u if u already have a silent catback, or a silencer for ur catback, since ur main concern is noise levels

mebbe method 1 is the better one for u? haha simpler, lesser hassles since u only add-on one small item without replacing any others

i think method one is more likely my choice. But i need someone with the EVC installed to show me how it really works, i can't hear clearly through youtube even i search mostly everything related to it. All i can hear is, like 10% reducing only, instead of that i need more than 50% (which if it is possible, i dunno?).

method 2 is abit out, cause my OEM only 1 pipe with 3-4 silencer + muffler, tak kan i need to change to 2 outlet lol...prefer straight pipe thou for performance.

im planing to get the y pipe sugestion done.. any idea how much the whole set up will cost?

I found something real cool... but too bad we have to buy the muffler together with it.
The remote control looks similar to the one i found which they call it Automatic ECV. Unlike the Apexi ECV, which u need to pull the string.

So that's mean let's say we got 50psi airflow from the exhaust when valve open, so when the valve is totally closed 90*Degree, assumed that only 10psi are able to pass through, will the 40psi return back to the engine?? If yes, that is dangerous...

YouTube - Varex remote control muffler.

all those u need lotsa money la haha

have read about problems with electronically-controlled ones, with motors

simplest one is the evc

arospeed has it, too, i think for 2.5 inch piping

Yeah i guess so...
Auto and manual one also got problem...
EVC quite hard to get new one and is quite costly i guess if for a NEW one..
i found one, from brand Drift, by Overboost performance, his one seems reasonable..will try it out, but first have to install my exhaust first to see how loud is that then only decide to get the ECV.

Aerospeed got 2.8-3 inch ?

I have one for sale... contact me at 017-6033810
DSCN7541.jpg

DSCN7544.jpg

but yours have to replace the bearing isn't?
do u mind to PM me the price u selling?
will only let u know if i need them next week cause waiting my fren giving me his mid pipe

Abit confuse bro joe_mirage..

with the raceland exhaust electric cut out, from your set-up, it has only 1 mid-pipe, and the raceland exhaust electric cut(EEC) out is installed before the muffler.
So you're using S-flow muffler.

Assuming u wan quiet setting, u will OFF, thus:
Airflow coming out from mid pipe -> pass through the EEC without Valve -> Muffler -> Atmosphere.

If u ON,
Airflow coming out from mid pipe -> pass through the EEC with the valve open-> atmosphere.

So u won't get any restriction from the S-flow muffler.

But now my problem is, i will upgrade my exhaust system:
-remove catalyst converter
-current 3 silencer, after upgrade 1 silencer
-enlarge from 2.5 (roughly) to 2.85 or 3 inches.
-Cat-back muffler (HKS Hi-Power 4" outlet, 3" inlet)

So if i installed this, and assumed i'm right with the scenario above,
When i OFF, airflow will run through mid pipe -> EEC -> Muffler -> Atmosphere
When i ON, airflow will run through mid pipe -> EEC -> Atmosphere

My main concern still, i'm afraid that my current setup with 1 silencer and muffler, it will be very loud. that's why i'm doing research on this so called ECV.

Interesting..... What's the budget like?! Kinda keen to know more bout this.
Btw Clanzkiller; you can change your avatar ad, no more satria 4G93T, now 4G63T :rofl:

bro HKS, no time to edit picture lee hahaha...leave it as what it is first ba, really got time only change xD..

Haven't yet bro...mahai my fren haven't go to his warehouse and take the exhaust, so i have to wait....
btw, i will install the exhaust first, then test if it is too loud, if yes, then only proceed with this ECV...

got many kind of this
electronic one and tie with certain sensor or your car parameter like TPS sensor etc

it popular on those super car nowday
but i check damn expensive

even the APEXI DECS spec ECV costing Rm3k new that time

Finally done my exhaust. Well is not as noisy as i expected that need to use ECV to control the volume..so can save cost now :)..