Valve Seal.....

skyline2778

Recently,when i start my car,i usually get white smoke comin out of my exhaust.According to my fren,it is most probably my valve seal.Plus i also noticed that my black oil is reducing.Is it the valve seal kaput already?? :frown: How much would it cost me to change it?Tq.

well, i guess it depends on which engine you are using. Maybe you can write down the engine model here so that zthian can give you a better feedback.

skyline2778 said:
Hahahaha.....dun be fooled by my nick......hehehehe :biggrin:

Yo Dude! If you change the valve seal it will last only for 3 to 4 months. I have the same situation as u where my ejoz vent white smoke. So I listen to one foremen change valve seal. So i Changed. yes it solved but for few months only. then i have to top up my engine oil once a week. Then when I asked more experience foreman they said it is due to many reasons for white smoke.

1. valve seal
2. piston ring and bla bla bla

if change piston ring also it would last 1year ++ depending on how you drive. To make it last long change one set of piston as well as the ring. For this also he said it would last only for 2-3 years. His last advise to me is to change engine because the cost for changing pistons and rings is almost close to change 4G91 engine.

So think wisely on cost and future cons.

an easy hint...

white smoke when acceleration..valve seals worn out.
if thick smoke emitted by exhaust pipe even at idle...he he its the piston and ring.

if latter is common to u, change engine laa...becoz overhaul is costly.

but normally , under normal ciscumstances if the engine is less than 10 years old (or about 200,000km maybe higher u only need to do top overhaul @ also known as grind valve (or grembal by mekanik pokok ceri). as u had removed the cylinder head from main block, feel the cylinder liner. if top portion thicker than the sidewalls...its advisable to change piston ring set. not necessary piston itself. the mechanic shud know this.

to be precise, use the proper equipment to measure whether the said components are still within their clearance spec. otherwise, change.

p/s or change to 4G91..he he..

Hahaha....thanks for the info guys.....frm the looks of it,have to convert la...hahaha....must save money already!!! :biggrin:

easiest way is 2 plonk in a 4g15 block...
u wan 2 top overhaul also going 2 cost u a bomb
changing valve seals n piston ring n valve grinding
will set u at least more than rm500...
then skim the head a bit 2 get higher compresion..
then u can feel ur car more powerful

skyline2778 said:
Hahaha....thanks for the info guys.....frm the looks of it,have to convert la...hahaha....must save money already!!! :biggrin:

hey bro.. u know what this means ah...... CONVERT !!!!!!!