Evo I- III

Exhaust flap is just after down pipe, high boost is at 1.2 bar. I got boost controller

bro, i really pity u. usually, stock evo with 1.2 bar should get around 250hp on wheel.

something is definitely wrong somewhere. check out the ecu. there's 1 case where someone purchased an evo halfcut with gsr ecu plugged into the sockets. the owner changed everything and still could not get the power evos supposed to have. finally he found out that he's been using gsr ecu on evo engine.

please give more info on your engine spec. maybe there's something missing somewhere...

Bro khoyos,
I don't think problem is with ECU cos visworks have added a chip on to it when they dyno it. If it were not E3 chip they would have told me i guess... What specs can i give you? Can it really be the pistons? Should i have the engine overhauled change supra pistons? What type of power gains can i get? Must i really change block like bro alvin24 said? What should i do?

khoyos and jinkl is the 4G63 legends. one literally eat drink and sleep 4G63 and one literally married to one.. hehehahahaeheahhaehaehae

changing to supra pistons wont really increase horsepower, but it will improve throttle response due to the design of the piston head. and some people claim that the pistons can withstand high boost, but i cant verify it. once u change to supra pistons, u will definitely get itchy to increase the boost, since u have boost controller. but u must remember conrods are the weak link in evo engines. better beef up the conrod also if u plan to overhaul.

after that, only think of getting bigger turbo, bigger everything...

i suggest exedy racing clutch, 560cc injectors, TD06-20G(or any turbo that u fancy), tial wastegate, hks 272/272 cams, unichip(since ur tuner recommend that), and any efficient big intercooler . with these installed and properly tuned, WRXs wont be any problems, and if ur lucky, even STis hehehe

good luck bro. happy spending.

Aiya bro!
Where to find that kind of cash to do all that in one go? In your opinion, what should be my first step? I'm even considering changing to a FD but that'll mean wasting all i've put in. It's just an idea lah... Should i change the pistons? my mech says it'll cost about 3k. Is that expensive?

3k sounds ok considering the cost of rebore, modification to fit piston to conrod, workmanship, overhaul kit and etc etc. can be cheaper but if ur mech charge that amount, it's stil considered ok.

it would be cheaper if u buy a healthy vr4 block. price around rm500, and workmanship should cost around rm500-1000 excluding parts such as metal gasket, oil seals and belts...

if u want to go for moderate mods, just plonk in a stock vr4 block. if u want to go really big, overhaul ur evo block, and put in forged conrods+pistons

that's just my opinion. some people have reached 500-600whp on stock vr4 block. different people have different style of modifications...

Bro Khoyos,
When you say put in vr4 block, does it not mean i also have to change pistons? Also i have to go for JPJ approval again for the new block? will the E3 exhaust manifold fit vr4 block? vr4 block will get more hp?

everything from evo fits vr4 block, except the flywheel u need to get vr4 flywheel.

bro it's like this. block/piston wont increase horsepower per se, but they do play a part when u go for high horsepower. strong piston/conrod can withstand higher boost.

the main source of power for turbo engines is the turbocharger itself. so if u want more power, u need to upgrade the turbocharger. pistons just help to cope with the added power...

That means must inspect again? My ultimate target hp is around 400+ la... not straight away but thats my target. Must i change block and con rod for that target? If no need then i think i'll send my car in for the overhaul change supra pistons soon... also, i saw in the market place got TO4e for 1.5k. Is it a good upgrade for me?

that one i'm not sure. must ask jinkl. he knows more about E3 than me. i'm using old, small, underpowered mirage 1.6 only

OK. Thanks a million for your advise. But it seems the grand master of E3 is busy these two days haven't seen him around to give advise. Thanks again Bro Khoyos..

kring kring, calling miton, ok ok sifu i got ur msg

what i am typing is the message from sifu miton, he not online marr, so i must reply for him.. he said

E3newbie : y laaaaa mod mounting, go to experience mech and find compatible mountings like alvin24 said. u want 400+hp , errr u got walbro , regulator also already

now u need
- good gripping clutch , exedy fullrace or twin plates
- metal gasket
- vr4block hahahhahahhahahahahahhahah

dip stick fly usually normal for 4g63 , doesnt mean engine blown
do a compression check on ur car
then u can see whts the compression and if piston koyak or compression lost
and thts the reason ur engine HP not high.

when u dyno, how is ur AFR ? wht bar boost.

Sorry la sifu, What is AFR? How to do compression test? When Dyno at 1 Bar

what has the exhaust manifold got to do with the block ?!?! Its bolted onto the HEAD lar... and yes, the evo head fits nicely on the VR4 block.

If u ask me...SR20 pistons are better than Supra pistons... but also harder to come by.

If you're going to go the distance... then get a VR4 block loh... evo block sure can't tahan much wan leh... internals not as strong as a VR4. =Þ

tight budget never mind... just do small small things first lar.. 3" exhaust + downpipe... if possible, re-do the turbo extension kit also (turbo-->downpipe that piece)... dun need wastegate also never mind.
Get bigger fuel pump, fuel regulator, engine management (rechipping also ok i guess if its tunable), metal gasket... then use ur boost controller to up the boost to 1.2 bar... should be enuff fer u to play with stock STi on the roads... should give about 240-250hp on wheels lerz.

stock WRX are slow lar... most mildly modded vtecs also can tapau them laaaa.

Ya, thats what i heard also but turns out i kena tapau by them instead:x I have changed the fuel pump and have gotten a chip installed also a fuel regulator but only got 252 hp at engine, i also got a exhaust flap already. My buget for this round is about 2.5 - 3K. Whats the best suggestion? How about the mountings bro alvin? Thanks again....