Evo 7/8 Maintenance

ZinZan said:
Storm,
Law,

Wah liao evolution oso got, wiralution oso got. i got got give u salutation heheheh

haha...wiralution more cheap to get high hp. now MR will coz more money to spend on it and time to wash it..hahah..

cyilaw,

Hey Bro., welcome back!!! haha... Where hv u been ler? wah... u really rich guy lar.. got 3 cars timmm... hahaha... Hey how often u come down to KL? If there is a Evo gathering, would u b interested to come over?

As for de jerk in 1st gear into 2nd gear... i guess is de gear ratio gap tht make de different... for E8 onwards, Evo get de close ratio 6 speed gearbox... 1st gear - 2.909, 2nd - 1.944 n de rest r pretty close... so from de figures, i guess this is what make de 'jerk' gua... hehehe... jus my guess lar... but i'll b finding out more abt it n share with everyone...

Wah seh... wiralution with 400hp!!! Damn Keng lar... How long hv to own it? Mmmm... to hv tht kind of hp, u must b spending a lots on it... so did u change de stroker kit n turbine to achieve 400hp?

As for ur MR sudden boost up to 1.6 bar... did u hv a boost controller to monitor de boost bar? Mmm... sound strange to me oso... better b careful b4 anything bad happen... Cheers!!!

cyilaw said:
haha...wiralution more cheap to get high hp. now MR will coz more money to spend on it and time to wash it..hahah..

hahaha... So what's ur plan for ur MR ah? 400hp oso? Wah... i really wish i can do de same as u - "more money to spend on it and time to wash it..." Anyway... me oso in de midst of planning 'something' for my E9... been looking ard, quoting n considering!!! LOL!!! :D Hey... if u did something to ur MR or wiralution which u think can share us... pls do so... hehehe.. cos wanna to learn more!!! k? ;)

Stormvolution 9,

lately i'm doing my project at Raub, so will back home only once in a week, so only once in a week can online....

my parent get this wira for me when i form 5, i using it to college when study at kl, about 5 year i own this car, just start to crazy mod it began on last 2 years when i back from oversea, before this no money to mod, after work then become crazy to mod it...hahah....

my wira is using custom forged piston from aussie which claim much stronger then JE piston, price also double of JE, using crower conrod, ARP bolt and HKS twin plate clutch and running with haltech ECU and upgraded fuel pump. now just wanna put in Garret 3037 turbo, hopefully can push to 400hp on it without nos..hehehe...

my MR i got the boost meter, havent put in any boost controller yet, so yesterday i try to push abit and found over 1.5 bar going to 1.6 bar, still look at it now, not dare to push it too hard later my engine kaboom..haha...

that is very hard for me to attend the gathering at kl, but is some time i at kl when u ppl hve gathering, i will try to make it. but for now, still have to busy with my work for 1 month++ more...hope to see u guys ..

Stormvolution 9,
Asked N1R already, even his 8MR also peak boost at around 1.4-1.5 where it drops a bit at redline. So i guess it is normal. My mechanic over here in sarawak says it is normal too. So no worries for it brother.:) I might want to install a fuel pressure regulator. It is adviseable by my mechanic. What actually issit huh? care telling me wads the purpose? sorry because i'm not too good in modding cars.

cyilaw,

Hey Bro., of cause u hv to concentrate on ur job 1st!!! hahaha... Car is jus a hobby!!! As for me, am helping my Dad (bozz) to run his biz... most of de time very bz oso... so i kinda understand ur situation!!! :D

As for ur Wiralution... damn Keng liao!!! Haltech ECU, harden piston + conrod, upgraded fuel pump n HKS Twinplate clutch...KENG!!! From de above mentioned parts, i guess u wil b able to get +/- 330hp... Somore 3037 turbo!!! :eek: Sure it can boost up to 400hp... no problem provided tht all other things run smoothly... cos for GT 3037S turbo, it can go up to 500 - 550hp... Like de HKS TRB-02 Evo 8 @ 550hp!!!

As for de gathering, no worry i'll b posting all information here... so if u happen to b in KL... then come n join us lar!!! ;)

ExtremeEvo9 said:
Stormvolution 9,
Asked N1R already, even his 8MR also peak boost at around 1.4-1.5 where it drops a bit at redline. So i guess it is normal. My mechanic over here in sarawak says it is normal too. So no worries for it brother.:) I might want to install a fuel pressure regulator. It is adviseable by my mechanic. What actually issit huh? care telling me wads the purpose? sorry because i'm not too good in modding cars.

Hey Bro., me jus confirmed with 1 of my sifu cum good fren, who is really expert in car mod (n he is driving an E6 - damn Keng) b4 answering u!!! hehehe... cos dun wanna like other ppl, jus simply said n teach others without ground!!!

When u decided to go for higher boost than de original setting, there r few things u need to take care/upgrade too. 'Fuel Pump' is to ensure there is enough fuel delivery when high boosting ur car. And 'Fuel regulator' is to regulate de pressure!!! But hv to make sure de original 'Injectors' r big enough for de boost ur r doing... besides, if going for very high boost, better change ur 'Fuel Rail' oso... All this r essential for ur engine when u ever consider to boost up higher than de original bar!!! :D Hope this help u!!! Besides, remember to re-tune ur Air flow ratio too!!! ;)

stormvolution9,
Thanks for the info bro, guess i wont be doing much on my engine at the moment. Dont wanna rosak my engine.haha. Now prefer more on my exterior look. Oh ya bro, where can i get advan RG or RG II in kl? wad is the price for those rims? Storm, next time u come sarawak remember to tell me lo. i go bring u around. go see Pretty chicks around.hahahah

ExtremeEvo9 said:
stormvolution9,
Thanks for the info bro, guess i wont be doing much on my engine at the moment. Dont wanna rosak my engine.haha. Now prefer more on my exterior look. Oh ya bro, where can i get advan RG or RG II in kl? wad is the price for those rims? Storm, next time u come sarawak remember to tell me lo. i go bring u around. go see Pretty chicks around.hahahah

Waliao... Pretty chicks ah... My favourate ler... :p hahaha... Somore i never been to Sarawak b4... Hey, as for de RG rims hor, u wanna brand new 1 or used 1? oso what size u wanna? Existing E9 size or u wanna upgraded to 18"??? Jus let me know more info, then i help u souce for it!!! k? :D

Stormvolution 9,
I asked for the RGII already. too expensive.. 18"x9" gtr face cost bout 12 thousand. only rims.. ARghhhh too expensive la. That is why wanna ask you whether how much KL selling for the RG. RG 18" i guess will be cheaper, anyway if you happens to pass by those rims shop, please help me to see. I prefer new wheels :)
cheers man

ExtremeEvo9 said:
Stormvolution 9,
I asked for the RGII already. too expensive.. 18"x9" gtr face cost bout 12 thousand. only rims.. ARghhhh too expensive la. That is why wanna ask you whether how much KL selling for the RG. RG 18" i guess will be cheaper, anyway if you happens to pass by those rims shop, please help me to see. I prefer new wheels :)
cheers man

Hey buddy... Last time my fren tuner house offer me de used RG Advan 18" (95% new) for less than RM6k... sourced from Japan with existing stock... but i didnt take it... cos tht time i jus got my E9 for 1-2 wks, dun wanna change anything yet lor... hehehe... now a bit regrets liao... LOL... No worry, whenever i go over to his side, i'll try ask for u abt it...

ExtremeEvo9 said:
Stormvolution,

ok thank buddy. So wad have u done with ur car?? care to share with me?

My car stil damn stock except for a turbo timer... hehehe... :D But am looking ard n r in de midst of planning out how to mod de car... not in a rush... Am looking for 1. Air filter 2.manifold 3.exhaust system + 4. ECU... so doing research on how n which brand(s) to use in order to grind out de best results!!! Oso wanna to play safe!!! Hey buddy, feel free to view de forum below... i got it from lancerregister forum... ppl in UK who r owning E9 GT spec with Magnesium turbine, facing turbaine failure problem when they boost up their engine... But for us GSR spec... so far so good lar... jus for references... Cheers!!!

http://www.lancerregister.com/showthread.php?threadid=83361

&

http://www.lancerregister.com/showthread.php?threadid=83266

storm9,
That's why i'm bit worry now y my boost is at 1.48 but not 1.3++ . I guess i gotta install a ebc to make the boost lower.. Really quiet worry though. And some more mine is magnesium too :(

ExtremeEvo9 said:
storm9,
That's why i'm bit worry now y my boost is at 1.48 but not 1.3++ . I guess i gotta install a ebc to make the boost lower.. Really quiet worry though. And some more mine is magnesium too :(

Brother,

My advise for u now is 1. Boost controller 2. Boost meter, in order to monitor de boost bar... I was damn shock oso when i 1st saw de forum... but its true n what happening in UK... huh?!! urs oso GT spec meh? Shouldnt b rite? As for mine is GSR spec... GT spec is using de Magnesium turbine (faster respone due to its light weight) from E9 RS spec but with GSR luxury interior (power window n etc)... n normally de pricing for GT spec is damn expensive!!! Dun worry lar bro., check on everything 1st... no need to panic...

Hey oso feel free to pop into this thread, all abt Evo IX... hehehe...

http://www.zerotohundred.com/newforums/showthread.php?t=33306&highlight=Mitsubishi+Evo

ExtremeEvo9 - Hi there, am new to the forum. Read your mod on your Evo. I am interested in the intake and heat shield mod you have done. Would is be possible for you to share the picture of the abovementioned mod you have done?

ExtremeEvo9 - Also, notice that you are running 1.48 bar on boost with the mods. Have you checked with your mech whether you need to tune the air&fuel mix to compliment the boost increase?

For your info, I have a stock std E9. Am waiting for delivery of those beautiful amber Defi gauges (Boost, oil temp and water temp), controller, a HKS BOV and apexi turbo timer.

Storm,
Mine is GSR spec with magnesium turbo. that is optional parts. Still considering to get a boost controller. argh.. quite worry bout it. boost too high :( but then ah..the car damn fast le :P hehe

Golfer,
I will shoot some pics and post it maybe next week ya man? cause tomorrow i'm going to sabah to play GOLF! .hahaha. Defi gauges rulez.really looks damn nice man. I'm using greddy BOV.dun like hks ..too many Kancils,wiras using . sorry man..no offence.hehe

ExtremeEvo9,

Waliao, play Golf in Sabah timmm... hehehe... :D Wei, do u hv many members now driving Evo in Sarawak? If yes hor, do send us some of ur TT (gathering) pic can ah? Hey borther, after boosting up higher, of cause de car very fast ler... but it means ur engine n turbo r under higher pressure oso lor... hehehe... tht's where de danger come from!!! Ok lar... enjoy ur break!!!

EE9 - I see you are also an avid "golfer", nice to know as I am also a golf fanatic. Unfortunately, I'd be lucky to play once a month. i don't have Kancil and Wira problems over here however, similarly, there are many HKS BOV in Macau. My 2 cents - observe your oil and water temperature. I don't think you'll be in trouble BUT just in case. Thanks for agreeing to take shots of your mod, look forward to them.

S9 - Glad to see you here..