Evo 7/8 Maintenance

Stormvolution 9 said:
aja, Euro-R Vs Galant? Mmmm... tough choice... de Galant u r getting is a turbo + 4WD car, rite? so maintainance wise wil b higher compare to Euro-R... oso wil those spare parts hard to source? Mmmm... if ask me hor... i think i'll choose Galant turbo, cos u get more room to play with compare to NA car... hehehe.. :D jus my opinion...

storm,

No lar. the one i'm ordered is NA 4G94 2.0cc 4WD Galant Manual Tranmission, not 2.5cc V6 6A13 Twin Turbo one. That 2.5 TT, can't imagine how the maintenance looks like. I've tested drive one before actually. Really stunning, with 280ps and 5 speed Tiptronic. Melompat kete beb!. Really powerful, but then if u see the engine bay, hmmm.. can't imagine how long it take to change the timing belt. Confirm high maintenance!!. The 2.5cc TT price is only around RM10k extra from the 2.0cc NA 4WD. Actually, the main reason i bought the 4WD Gallant was to convert to Mivec Turbo also, when the time come for me (maybe within 2-3 years) & I'm ready enough to layan the turbo car. Prior to that, i've tested few other turbo car also like WRX Motor Image (nice 'motorboat' sound) & Toyota Caldina.

As for the powertrain for 4G94, it's only like 150ps with around 190Nm torque. Plus minus the 4WD & transmission loss here & there etc, donno how much power left (bhp) at wheel!. As for my current 'coincident' Euro R, considered ok lah for a 'lazy' person like me!. FC not bad also, power ok lah. Maintenance easy & free. No problem at all. Just refuel & drive. Can budget the FC also!. Car still stock standard. that the beauty of NA. Easy & affordable maintenance. Can even 'belasah' the car all the way!! (as what i normally did)

Last saturday afternoon , i went to my friend's car yard at KL. I've tested 1 Evo 9 yellow color & Colt 1.5 mivec Turbo. As for Evo 9 Mivec Turbo, it's really torque engine la. High responsive!!. I think it's much2 better than E7.

aja,

Respect ur decision as everyone of us hv to go accordingly to our own budget in deciding what car to buy n how to maintain it! Mmm... Galant with mivec turbo engine sounds good n cool! how wil de $$$ like for convertion n maintainance like for it? Sure u must hv a good plan for it huh... :D

yeah, E9 really responsive due to its mivec thingy n huge torque output @ low rev... tht's y for me, i think an air filter + manifold + exhuast + ECU = wil b damn keng liao... this wil take me a yr or so to upgarde it... by then am looking for 320 - 330bhp with de parts i mentioned... ZinZan, u agree with me? :D But by then de FC sure wil b lots worst....

cyilaw,

So ur Wiralution is ur daily used car or de MR? i guess with 4G63 underneat it... de FC for de Wira wouldnt b cheap hor? how's de FC like? Did u get ur alarm? Clifford n Viper r de top choices in de mkt at de moment due to theirs reliabilities... :D but costly...

ZinZan, did u manage to put on de timer? or u wanna to stay real stock for a while? Heard from my fren who works in a tuner house, HKS came out with some after mkt parts for E9 lately... wil go n check it out what r de parts... previously only Ralliart do hv after mkt parts for E9... Mmmm... i believe soon there wil b hips of new thingy flooding de mkt for E9 from all brands... By de way... how's ur FC like?

Storm,

Still keeping it really stock for indefinitely may be until after the 1st yr. HKS sounds interesting. Gotta check it out. I see you also gatal already to mod u car. My fc is bout full tank RM 70 get bout 330km. Damn sakit some more my daily car.

Law,

Wah liao evolution oso got, wiralution oso got. i got got give u salutation heheheh

ZinZan,

Yalor... gatal for upgrade now... but due to bz hor... me keep postponing visiting my fren's tuner house... ai... so hv to wait again... somemore see all my buddies modding their Evos n keep improving... really hard to tahan lar... :D but 1 thing is good tht v hv a group of frens all enjoying Evos/lancers, so information/experiences on those after mkt parts can easily to share... oso when facing any mechanic problems, easily u can get advises from all this frens lar... Mmm... tht's y v hv MLOC or MEOC... hope to meet u up (or anyone interested) 1 day when our MLOC got any TT... :D

Storm,

Yeah sounds like good idea. I would like to meet up with the MEOC & MLOC for TT

ZinZan,

Good! I'll try my very best to arrange a MLOC TT. Some kind of get together/ information sharing gathering... Will let everyone know abt the date!

maybe a TT in the afternoon? so we all can have a look at the evos in broad daylight!!!

green,

How's ur E7 status now? Get it liao? hehehe... if yes, must show me lar... :D

By de way... v r in de midst of arranging a gathering btw MEOC - MLOC... its gonna b big!!! date to b confirmed... wil definately let everyone know abt it... n it is open to all frens n members here who r interested!!!

hi to all fellow evo owners. Just came across to this homepage and see quite a number of evo owners. Nice meeting u all. I'm from sarawak. Currently driving evo ix gsr too
Red colour. just a bit of modifications here and there. hehe .
Hope to hear from you all soon
;)

ExtremeEvo9,

Hey hey... nice meeting u here!!! Welcome Welcome!!! Wow a red E9 ah? How is de car for u? Satisfying? Any comment? Wah.. oredi mod ur car liao ah? What hv u done to ur E9? Air filter + exhuast? Rims? can share ur experience for de E9?

For me, i feel something funny when i sprint off from 1st gear n engage into 2nd gear... feel a bit jerky... Strange!!! Do u realise tht? What abt u ZinZan(another E9 owner)? I wonder E8 MR wil hv de same problem huh, cyilaw? Cos i did tried on E7 b4, but it was quite smooth...

Extreme,

Welcome bro. Wah liao eh. already mod damn man, that's fast.

Storm,

Yeah it is a bit jerky. I tot it was me not drivin manual for a long time. It get's jerky when i'm pushing, but when it's easy driving no probs

Storm, maybe the mivec thingy only kick in at 2nd gear?

btw, my e7 coming next week. finally!!! but gotta check it first lor. cant wait!!!

now getting excited liao...hahahahha

if all ok, put in alarm n V-kool. then time to get acquainted back to manual driving....

wah all this car gathering getting shiok lah, we have vios club, subarus, celicas, bmws, satria GTIs.....

i hope no kapchai gathering lor.....:)

green,

Wow... Congratulation man... so next wk come... register, loan, car no., bla bla bla... means another 1-2 wks lor... so by end of this mth, ur Baby should b with u liao... Mmm... Good Good!!! Early welcome to u as u r going to b an Evo onwer soon!!! :D Hahaha... then for de rest of de following 2-3 wks, u wil hv endless of sleepless nite... LOL... cos too excited n cant wait to drive it lor!!! Oso hope tht u wil b able to join de gathering in time lar... although time hvnt fixed yet... hopefully can b after u get ur car... Cheers!!! ;)

Zinzan, u r right, if during normal drive it is steady n easy... but if u wanna to sprint-off in de 2 Fast 2 Furious fashion... then there is a problem btw 1st n 2nd gear!!! Sigh!!! Wil try to get a solution... n let u guys know...

green, its nothing to do with de Mivec thingy lor... really strange feeling... n i really affraid tht if try too hard, i'll burn my clutch!!!

Storm,
I'm still running in the car, so haven't do much modifications yet, only add defi amber gauges in . Greddy Type RS bov, Trust Intake. ARC titan heat shield. Currently running 1.48 bar with above little mod. Issit too high? Storm,Zinzan whats u guys stock boost?
So nice hoh u guys in penisular can haf those evo gatherings. where as in sarawak there is no evo gathering, probably not much out there having evo too . :)

Storm, Zinzan
Brother, where can i get good deal in KL? i mean for those performace parts? currently my stuff had been bought from N1R. Any other places that have good deal for evo?

ExtremeEvo9,

Hey Bro., thx for sharing with me on what u hv done to ur lovely car!!! So am sure its much better than de std Evo 9 lar... Do u know how many hp now? :rolleyes:

If am not wrong, E8 boost @ 1.31 bar for std engine, n E9 @ 1.38 bar. From de figures, v can know tht it is a very high pressure turbo car. So for ur 1.48 bar, its damn high lor... hehehe... :D But if ur mechanic did checked eveything n feel confident abt it, then it should b ok... but better make sure 100% u did check everything. Especially de fuel pressure, make sure there is enough fuel for it.

What kind of performance parts u r looking for? Not sure over here it wil b cheaper than ur side... hehehe... U wanna good deal for Evo? U means u looking for another Evo? Let me know which Version?

Yeah... over here there r lots of Evo lovers n owners... so gathering is a very good, exciting n easier...

Stormvolution 9 said:
cyilaw,

wow!! Wiralution u got lar??? hahaha... how much hp u think u gonna go for? 350hp?? hey, wanna ask u hor, for launching wise is ur MR better then de wiralution? MR wil b heavier, but de 4WD transmission system is much much better. Whereas de wiralution is lighter but de transmission might not b as good as Evo... so what's de results? hehehe... oso when u driving MR, any wiralution or satrialution try to challenge u? hahaha... i guess its quite normal it happened rite?

hi brother, just back from outstation..

my wira i wanna do it to 400hp, but still dunno can reach there or not. so will just try and see..heheh...

for launching, i haven't try to launch my MR at high rpm, i feel MR will more heavy to launch. but my wira is evo 3 4wd system, i feel its ok for drag launch. at my mechanic there got a 600hp evo 3 for drag, still using orignal evo 3 system, so this evo 3 4wd actually is very strong. i still think wira will better in launching coz it very light. some more my wira got anti-lag and launch control and also flat shift system, so sure will win my MR..

in kuantan here is a small funny place, u drive an evo majority ppl dunno what car it is, unless some young ppl that like car then willl know. so far i havent meet any body kacau me on road even i drive to kl, still safe on it..heheh..

Stormvolution 9 said:
cyilaw,

So ur Wiralution is ur daily used car or de MR? i guess with 4G63 underneat it... de FC for de Wira wouldnt b cheap hor? how's de FC like? Did u get ur alarm? Clifford n Viper r de top choices in de mkt at de moment due to theirs reliabilities... :D but costly...

now i use waja to site, MR for long distance and wira for fun lo..hehe..i found FC for MR and wira is same now, just very weird the MR so heavy on fuel... :confused: ..and today i found my MR will going up to 1.6bar, my mech told me is only 1.5 bar, so dunno what happend liao some more is new car.. :rolleyes:

Stormvolution 9 said:
ExtremeEvo9,

For me, i feel something funny when i sprint off from 1st gear n engage into 2nd gear... feel a bit jerky... Strange!!! Do u realise tht? What abt u ZinZan(another E9 owner)? I wonder E8 MR wil hv de same problem huh, cyilaw? Cos i did tried on E7 b4, but it was quite smooth...

I haven't face this jerk problem in my MR, but i know E7 got this problem when i test drive 2 E7 also will jerk. is that a serious jerk? should be normal i think..