Evo 7/8 Maintenance

Originally posted by lazzy@Apr 6 2005, 16:09
Dear Evo7 brothers,

I will be sending the car i am buying to puspakom tomorrow for checks but i would need to find out where is the engine number located as these puspakom guys ain't going to waste time looking for it. I have attached picture of Evo7 engine and hope someone could point out where the number is and e-mail the picture back to me at [email protected].

I believe the chasis number location is the same with all other protons right?

Thanks in advance.
[snapback]873738[/snapback]​

Found it so no worries.

Chasis number is stamped on a plate secured to the bulkhead.
Engine number - tried to find but cannot locate because of the hoses and the airbox blocking the view. If I'm not mistaken, it's stamped on the block near the mating with the gearbox - somehere there...

saw alot of evo at 10/04/05 sunday track day,isit from meoc?why so many evo but the club not active? :(

saw 2 silver evo 8 mr,2 black evo 7,2 black evo 4,1 black evo 6 and 1 white evo 6 at sunday

braders,

i will be getting my Evo7 sometime this week but a couple of questions about maintenance:

1) which engine oil would you recommend? and if synthetic, after how many kilometer do i need to change oil (service again)?

2) which petrol is recommended? should i pamper by using Shell Vpower or just stick to regular petrol?

3) i live in PJ area, any good workshop to recommend for normal servicing? i understand that evo7 has additional oil which requires to be checked frequently as well.

What does MEOC do anyway other than just having the name EVO owner club?
At least, Subaru club have a their own site and own forum.
Would be nice if MEOC have their own forum also.

Originally posted by lazzy@Apr 18 2005, 11:33
braders,

i will be getting my Evo7 sometime this week but a couple of questions about maintenance:

1) which engine oil would you recommend? and if synthetic, after how many kilometer do i need to change oil (service again)?

2) which petrol is recommended? should i pamper by using Shell Vpower or just stick to regular petrol?

3) i live in PJ area, any good workshop to recommend for normal servicing? i understand that evo7 has additional oil which requires to be checked frequently as well.

[snapback]906656[/snapback]​

Congrats, bro! :D

1. always fully synthetic and always stick to recommended service plan at every 5000km.
2. there's a lot of hype on v-power but i'm sure there are some truth in it. for me, plain 97RON is good enough.
3. to keep servicing cost down, i do normal service (engine oil, filter) at general workshops but for specialize services like AYC service, I choose Speedwork. Lube change - engine+filter+cooler (5.1l), g/box (2.8l), transfer case/center diff (0.6l), rear diff (0.55l) + AYC (0.7l).

Originally posted by faxsmoulder@Apr 11 2005, 22:44
can give anyone of u who wanna join MEOC contact number lor...
[snapback]888222[/snapback]​

I wanna join. What do I do? Have to pay money? Belanja makan?

Count me in; i just got my car last night :)

by the way, where can i find 5 piece (per rim) lug (or lock) nut? most that i see around is 4 piece x 4 = 16.

thanks.

had a mishap over the weekend and damaged the bumper, intercooler and newly-installed downpipe :mad: . everything repaired except the bumper - its bend/dented but not broken. Can it still be repaired? was quoted for a new one for RM1500++. thanks

mine...stock e7 can go 420km...highway....from kl to alor star...no bullshit...speed at 120km/h-140km/h maintained...from fulltank until last fuel line.....

lazzy said:
Count me in; i just got my car last night :)

by the way, where can i find 5 piece (per rim) lug (or lock) nut? most that i see around is 4 piece x 4 = 16.

thanks.

DuraNuts comes in 20pcs... if ur looking for the 'cheaper alternatives', like i did, keke, u can get it from sunway, some sticker shop beside Racing Fit. I got 32 pcs and its the same as you can get in KL but only at 160 for 32pcs....

seventh_son said:
had a mishap over the weekend and damaged the bumper, intercooler and newly-installed downpipe :mad: . everything repaired except the bumper - its bend/dented but not broken. Can it still be repaired? was quoted for a new one for RM1500++. thanks

dude,

take a pic and email. Guess we could help save one....

NoTiGuY said:
dude,

take a pic and email. Guess we could help save one....

Appreciate any advice. Have to do this quickly as it brings tears to my eyes everytime I look at it