Evo 7/8 Maintenance

so you spent a total of rm3750 before accident, hmmm .... i was advised by N1 not to oversize my piping more than 2.75" as 3" or higher is meant for higher cc cars (eg. skyline, supra or etc).

anyone heading to sepang this weekend for the DragBattle?

and know anyone selling HKS SSQV with e7 kit? hard to find the e7 kit, i believe its the recirculation kit.

i've read that Rhys Millen (top tuner somewhere in calif. usa) swap the stock exhaust system of an evo8 to 3 inch pipe from downpipe until the mufffler (cat conv. not removed) and make wheel hp gain from 233 to 251. remove the cat, upgrade the breathing, you could see about 260-270 whp... roughly. that translates to engine 300++ bhp probably...

i am not really familiar with car mods and that is why i am learning slowly now if time permits.

the original exhaust has 3 box, i assume 1 cat but not sure about the other 2; and what i understand, removing the boxes leaving the cat will gain higher hp and better response, is that true? the ganador i am looking at is cat-back meaning only 1 box (cat) up to the muffler and i can opt to remove the silencer. is this your current set up?

should we start a new thread on this Evo7 tech talk?

bnew radar detector for sale

i have an extra unit of brand new highly rated radar detector for sale; please see http://www.zerotohundred.com/newforums/showpost.php?p=580488&postcount=29

anybody deal with Cahaya Automotif in cheras before? i found their price is big different with Naza, have anything wrong with their tax paying or AP?

seventh_son said:
Congrats, bro! :D

1. always fully synthetic and always stick to recommended service plan at every 5000km.
2. there's a lot of hype on v-power but i'm sure there are some truth in it. for me, plain 97RON is good enough.
3. to keep servicing cost down, i do normal service (engine oil, filter) at general workshops but for specialize services like AYC service, I choose Speedwork. Lube change - engine+filter+cooler (5.1l), g/box (2.8l), transfer case/center diff (0.6l), rear diff (0.55l) + AYC (0.7l).

Hi there... I am interested in learning more about e7/8... will be considering an e7/8 when I manage to sell off my Altezza.

Some maintainence questions...

1. Engine Oil + Filter + Cooler (5.1l) - every 5,000km (correct?)

2. g/box oil (2.8l) - ??? (how often?)

3. transfer case/center diff (0.6l) - ??? (how often?)

4. rear diff (0.55l) - ??? (how often?)

5. AYC (0.7l) - ??? (how often?)

Also, in regards to this issue about illegal AP... does getting the car inspected at puspakom before buying from dealer helps?

Thanks.

cyilaw said:
anybody deal with Cahaya Automotif in cheras before? i found their price is big different with Naza, have anything wrong with their tax paying or AP?

Hi cyilaw,

I'd send my iswara 1.3 to Cahaya before. They inspect my car and gave a good reasonable price (about 15.5k). Not sure how much they will sell my car for interested buyer, but service wise is pretty ok. Not dealt with them before on tax/AP. Perhaps you can send them email to check? Best of luck.

Will78 said:
Hi there... I am interested in learning more about e7/8... will be considering an e7/8 when I manage to sell off my Altezza.

Some maintainence questions...

1. Engine Oil + Filter + Cooler (5.1l) - every 5,000km (correct?)

2. g/box oil (2.8l) - ??? (how often?)

3. transfer case/center diff (0.6l) - ??? (how often?)

4. rear diff (0.55l) - ??? (how often?)

5. AYC (0.7l) - ??? (how often?)

Also, in regards to this issue about illegal AP... does getting the car inspected at puspakom before buying from dealer helps?

Thanks.

Can only help you about legal stuff only. :D
According to the bank, when the seller is selling his/her car, they need to get puspakom inspection letter (the bank need it). They will inspect the car condition only!! To verify the car AP and all the documents, you need to go JPJ. Make sure you get both puspakom letter and JPJ verification letter on the AP docs before you go to bank and submit your loan application.

Hope this helps. Good luck! I'm still waiting for my loan approval. :D

wira_gsr,

just deal with cahaya, their service pretty good and friendly, just submit my documents to apply loan today...

cyilaw said:
wira_gsr,

just deal with cahaya, their service pretty good and friendly, just submit my documents to apply loan today...

cyilaw,

Good to hear that. So what car you are getting? I saw 2 x Evo8 MR, WRX and mini there on sale. Are you one of the car owner soon? ;)

Hi, Where is this cahaya? I've checked out 2 places in Old Klang Road, Cinta and Lweng Auto ( i think ) any one dealt with them before?

Well one of them selling a blue e7 with suspension modi, do you guys think its worth to consider modded unreg cars? just worried the jap ownders trash em kao kao.

By the way I'm looking for E7, E9 would be ideal but it would blow the bank :(

wira_gsr,

there got 2 unit evo 8 MR?...i only saw one and i get that unit, but unfortunately dun come with BBS rim. The salesman said last week have one WRX STI with rollcage and rally style sticker, but one singaporean get it already.

Replay,

this cahaya at Cheras, near Leisure Mall. yesterday there just came one unreg recon silver evo7, and the salesman said few unit coming. i test drive that evo7 also. this car all stock standard, interior and exterior in good condition, mileage is around 30K

cyilaw,

do you have their number? wanna give em a call, I'm looking for one with a sun roof if possible, by the way, anyone had problems with their sun roof?

so test drove the silver e7 already, so how its condition?

o?..u also notice their emblem lose already?..i require them replace for me with the original emblem, the salesman got mark it down and promise will replace for me, so dunno they will replace for me or not lo, but i definately want the emblem. u test that car before?