Engine Swap

basahboy

Bruders...

I have been hearing horror stories of 'kena kencing' case of type r engine but it is essentially only a b18c1 block with a b16a head...

so my question is how do we possibly have a comfort level that the engine itself is a type r? is there any engravings i.e. p73, etc. on the block? i know for one that the GSR block has a p72 engraved on it n on the rods there is a R engraved on it (but who wants to open the block just to check???)....

would appreciate all the help...thanks

you mean one can claim that it is a type R engine but the block is type R and the head is actually a b16a head?

basahboy said:
Bruders...

I have been hearing horror stories of 'kena kencing' case of type r engine but it is essentially only a b18c1 block with a b16a head...

so my question is how do we possibly have a comfort level that the engine itself is a type r? is there any engravings i.e. p73, etc. on the block? i know for one that the GSR block has a p72 engraved on it n on the rods there is a R engraved on it (but who wants to open the block just to check???)....

would appreciate all the help...thanks

very2 easy to identify normal B18C/GSR or B18C type R....
base on displacement....
B18C/GSR = 1797cc
B18C type R = 1829cc

method:
1) chk at AP if still halfcut condition.
2) or chk roadtax for displacement(cc) and rotax amount if the car already converted.

method to identify head:

base on what year of head production...as we know B16A big V head production is from 92~95...
how to chk: pls take a look at top of exhaust manifold no.1....left side...just behind exhaust manifold cover....we can see clearly...

poji_EG9 said:
method to identify head:

base on what year of head production...as we know B16A big V head production is from 92~95...
how to chk: pls take a look at top of exhaust manifold no.1....left side...just behind exhaust manifold cover....we can see clearly...

yeap, the year of the head being manufactured is near the block number, chamber number of the extractor

BUT THEN, it coould be a type R head with b16 internals, like cams and valve springs....

zero4 said:
yeap, the year of the head being manufactured is near the block number, chamber number of the extractor

BUT THEN, it coould be a type R head with b16 internals, like cams and valve springs....

ha ha...if type R head with B16A internal (cam/valve/spring) actually we cannot detect la by doing only appearance checking....
need to open rocker cover to chk that camshaft ring type at distributor slot (for intake camshaft).

LOL, but i dun think someone will go through all this trouble just to kon ppl is a low cost type R head, heheee

poji_EG9 said:
very2 easy to identify normal B18C/GSR or B18C type R....
base on displacement....
B18C/GSR = 1797cc
B18C type R = 1829cc

method:
1) chk at AP if still halfcut condition.
2) or chk roadtax for displacement(cc) and rotax amount if the car already converted.

Aren't the displacements the same for both B18C's, regardless of GSR or Type R?

i think displacement for the b18c r is different with gsr one...
b18cR engine no will start fr 2XXXXXX. that b18c type r.
if it start with 1XXXXXXX. its GSR.

B18C GSR- production 93 until 95
B18C tapR- 96 above..
so from head can tell the manufacture date..

poji eg u reading this?

i went and check mine, the fourth chamber on top of my extractors stating (first left) is 9/8, does it mean that it is a 98 head?

zero4 said:
poji eg u reading this?

i went and check mine, the fourth chamber on top of my extractors stating (first left) is 9/8, does it mean that it is a 98 head?

yes u're right....9/8 mean yr 98.......mine 9/2 mean 92....too old aarrgghhh...
another method to identify is try to chk yr spark plug cable....you can see the cable with year eg. 98 ...something like that la (printed).....some production have...some don't.

Got some info here to share....

To identify type r...
1. agreed on the mfg date as you all mentioned...
2. you can check that all type r has a green marking on the top left of the engine head belakang skit...it will wear off but mesti ada skit green le..
3. usually the engine will be left open on the intake manifold holes and stuff with paper....open it up and u can see the port and polist...all type r engines are port and polish by hand by honda engineers....
4. also bring a torch lite and see the valves...the type r valves punye tengkuk lain skit from the rest...

And also....

There are 60 changes made into GSR to make a type r....overall weight difference is 45kgs...type r is lighter....

I am quoting this from a honda engineer in the Japanese Carboy magazine....

hope this helps...