Need HELP! B18C head..

TonyChopper

Hey guys.. I am using a b18c3 engine.. which is the asia version of the USDM b18c1 GSR.. the head is a p72 .. the wordings on the valve cover is DOHC VTEC (dohc wordings bigger than vtec)

Ok I need help.. I now planning to convert my auto tranny to a manual one.. get more power ^^
But.. my friend and mechanics told me.. In order to get more power.. I have to change to b16a head as well.. bcos they told me mine is a small V head..
But from what I know.. the only dohc motor that has big V small V difference is the b16a1 and b16a2.. they are both using a p73/pr3 head (similar to typeR).. and that the intake manifold is straight single run type.. which is completely different from mine..
SO.. Is a GSR head a small V head?

My mechanic told me that if I change to b16a big V (p73) head on my 1.8 block.. It will be something like a B18c type R motor.. as the cams are better and the combustion chamber are bigger thus provide better flow rate.. (basically the structure of the head is similar to typeR)
But.. from what I found out in Acura forums.. the GSR head have larger cams than b16a.. and out of 10 users.. 9 agreed that GSR cams are better.. and a good port and polish work will make the head as good as the p73.. but an extra advantage with the GSR cams..
so? what u guys think.. can I continue using my current head or swap it?
Also, I've seen some posts in ZTH saying that auto and manual DOHC engines have different cam profile.. isit true?
so in my case.. as a GSR auto.. does it have different cams as well compared to the GSR manual??

Erm.. I am really confused right now.. I hope u guys can help me out.. especially those who are familiar with b18c3 motor..
Please tell me what should I do..

change to manual ITR gearbox with 4.785 final drive
change ecu
change ITR intake manifold
P & P u'r ori GSR head with cam gear
change Header
engine management

TonyChopper said:
Hey guys.. I am using a b18c3 engine.. which is the asia version of the USDM b18c1 GSR.. the head is a p72 .. the wordings on the valve cover is DOHC VTEC (dohc wordings bigger than vtec)

Ok I need help.. I now planning to convert my auto tranny to a manual one.. get more power ^^
But.. my friend and mechanics told me.. In order to get more power.. I have to change to b16a head as well.. bcos they told me mine is a small V head..
But from what I know.. the only dohc motor that has big V small V difference is the b16a1 and b16a2.. they are both using a p73/pr3 head (similar to typeR).. and that the intake manifold is straight single run type.. which is completely different from mine..

My mechanic told me that if I change to b16a big V (p73) head on my 1.8 block.. It will be something like a B18c type R motor.. as the cams are better and the combustion chamber are bigger thus provide better flow rate.. (basically the structure of the head is similar to typeR)
But.. from what I found out in Acura forums.. the GSR head have larger cams than b16a.. and out of 10 users.. 9 agreed that GSR cams are better.. and a good port and polish work will make the head as good as the p73.. but an extra advantage with the GSR cams..
Also, I've seen some posts in ZTH saying that auto and manual DOHC engines have different cam profile.. isit true?
so in my case.. as a GSR auto.. does it have different cams as well compared to the GSR manual??

Erm.. I am really confused right now.. I hope u guys can help me out.. especially those who are familiar with b18c3 motor..

putting a b16a head on top of the GSR block would lose you a bit of compression due to the dome of the piston which is diff from B16A...so some mod on the piston head needs to be done...

my advice, keep the GSR head...P&P the intake manifold AND throttle body...match the intake manifold porting with the intake port of your GSR head...also P&P the b18c head for better cfm...velocity velocity...make sure the cams are changed to B16B else you wont fell much of a difference...the b16b will only work well if you have P&P the head the intake manifold as it was meant for high cfm and high compression cars...(one reason why all type r cars are factory P&P)...

As for the block...try the option of B20B (if you want)...else keep the block but change the internals...

LASTLY, good luck...

Yea I actually plan to P&P my intake manifold..
but it's a dual run curved-type

http://www.dh-racing.com/images/GSR%20Manifold%202.JPG

Instead of a straight single run type

http://www.importhorizon.com/images/skunk2manifold.JPG

Also, my major concern is that can a p72 head work as well as a p73? or isit like what my friends said it is a small V and it wun do well..

so some mod on the piston head needs to be done...

what kind of mod? I actually planning to keep 1.8block and use typeR piston.. but these are future mods..

Forget about ori cams....go for Crower cams..heheh
make sure the cams are changed to B16B else you wont fell much of a difference...

I no money.. that's y.. can u tell me whether GSR cams are better than b16a big V ? Also, auto cam isit same as manual cam?

The reason why I blur blur cant decide which head to use is because I dun want to spend unneccesary money.. as u know install gearbox already poke a hole in my pocket..

Anyway, thx for the suggestions u guys gave ^^
really helpful to me

change ecu
change Header
engine management

avantasia said:
change ecu
change Header
engine management

woi abg avan

this guys asking whether need to swap to b16a head or remain using b18c lah... your suggestion delivering to much power laa heheheh

tony

as far as im convern should be any problem if u swapped b16 head to your b18 block...

another thing basah boy... why such piston dome will kacau ur head coz i think it will nicely land on your valve without mods.. just plug n play ur head will do .. coz my fren's car had been set up like this and never encountered any problem .. mind telling me why bro??

i'd been informed that the degree lift of b16 and b18 cam lobe slightly diffrent to each other.. the reason why?? this one maybe need to check from others.. ehehheheh i'm out !

Hmm.. If go do P&P.. which workshop is good?
Lets say Johor area..
What I'm looking for is good workmanship + reasonable price.. :biggrin:

j.b dun have any idea where to do it......

if u need further explaination please contact mr sepat as he running on as u'rs

avantasia said:
j.b dun have any idea where to do it......

if u need further explaination please contact mr sepat as he running on as u'rs

hahaha... avan oso running b16 but very fast like b20 ..u can asked him also

TonyChopper said:

get my AEBS GSR manifold and rocket motor sport M22 camshaft set and ITR pistons.dun forget eric racing 320WHP N/A 2 L Racing motor just run GSR head.anyway use my camshaft u get life time warranty if u broke the cam.i can grand for u but u need pay the shipping.thanx

check this link!

http://www.honda-tech.com/zerothread?id=1346742

very powerfull GSR!

http://www.honda-tech.com/zerothread?id=1338056

can u see?put in B16A pistons will make ur GSR be the high compression!the B16a is ur choice.B16B 2 high for the compression.thanx

TonyChopper said:

Not necessary to change to P73 head to get more power....in fact u'll lose compression. Unless of course you change pistons as well or run a thinner metal head gasket.

One more thing about the p72 head, it has a 60 degree valve angle.... where else the P73 has a 45 degree valve angle. the major weakness of the P72 head is the intake manifold, which is basically designed to give better mid range power....doesn't work that well if you wanna push aggresive cams such as TODA C's or Jun III's . However, the intake manifold can be modded.....as seen in erick's racing (fastest NA in the world 9'sec 1/4 mile time). he is using a P73 head with the dual runners intake manifold (modified of course!)

yes. B18C cams are 'wilder' compared to those of the B16A. i think auto and manual is the same for the B18C.

so to your question should i swap head or not? Seriously, if you dont have intention of changing to wilder cams now, keep the head! the powerband produced by the GSR actually beats the B18C type R all the way untill 6000 rpms, thats where the type R engines starts kicking. But for daily dirivng, u have a really nice flat midrange torque for your everyday drive wif the GSR head!!

I have my other ideas as well....but im not goin to share them to you now...hahahahaaha *hint* yes it involves a P72 head! so go figure

wooo thx ah brother.. ur words "dip wake the dreaming guy" chinese idiom... lol.. ur infos are really useful to me.. cos thinking about whether to swap or not.. really makes me cannot sleep.. cannot eat.. cannot drink :eek:

How to mod the manifold? port and polish?? somebody told me the Aebs straight run manifold can fit my head.. and the price is good with contrast to its performance.. but currently dun have much more $ to spare..

Wow.. what kind of crazy ideas u have?? share ler .. or at least hint more.. :rock:

Thx alot.. haha now u make me cannot sleep cannot eat cannot drink again.. trying to figure out ur crazy ideas...

can u see?put in B16A pistons will make ur GSR be the high compression!the B16a is ur choice.B16B 2 high for the compression.thanx
get my AEBS GSR manifold and rocket motor sport M22 camshaft set and ITR pistons.dun forget eric racing 320WHP N/A 2 L Racing motor just run GSR head.anyway use my camshaft u get life time warranty if u broke the cam.i can grand for u but u need pay the shipping.thanx

Lol.. how much for those camshaft?
thx for those great examples btw.. really appreciate it ^^

TonyChopper said:
Lol.. how much for those camshaft?
thx for those great examples btw.. really appreciate it ^^

pm send.b'live my product u will happy wif them.
they will rock ur car.they r great.