Cam shaft

speedemon

how to tell the difference between the auto B16a2 cam shaft for auto and manual if u only have the head set?

nobody ever really came up with a real comparison between the two.

but i think both are actually the same, only that the ecu setting is different to match up the automatic gearbox ratio.

according to HCI mag, and a few Vtech local modder's, it seams that the manual cam is more wilder the duration but i dunno about the lift... is this true..
HCL mag was doing a 200bhp at wheel project using b16 short block and in there explain that auto cam was less "wild"

Is it less wild due to cam timing? How wild a cam is, depends on the degree of the cam timing?

That's what i want to know, the differences in the degree/duration and lift of these cam in auto and manual eng. the B16B is similiar to crane cam stage 1 duration but the lift is less.

My guess is, combination of different ECU settings and different degree of cam timing. VTEC tuners in workshops should know these stuff.

that's why i'm not sure whether to get a manual cam or get B16b head set... if use b16b cam only it won't be efficient enough cuz the springs and retainers are diff due to longer duration and lift.

Originally posted by speedemon@Mar 13 2005, 23:06
that's why i'm not sure whether to get a manual cam or get B16b head set... if use b16b cam only it won't be efficient enough cuz the springs and retainers are diff due to longer duration and lift.
i believe yurs is an auto rite ..??

if yu wanna get straight power gain, get the b16b head set .. can try the cams only at first .. feel the different .. later on can put in the retainers and valve springs ..

if yu still hungry for more .. get the piston sets .. :P

with the B16b head set, i think may have to use the use the retainers straight as the current spring don't comply with the lift of the type r cam.... then kena tuning right?!