Engine Stoped While Running At 60km/h

black4G93

Dear all the sifus here, this few days my car's engine stoped while I am cruising aroung 60 - 80 km/h.....the car still moving but I can felt that when I press the accelrator pedal like nothing at all.
Why?? Is my Fuel Pump or I just need to change Fuel filter 1st??
Thanks for helping me..

If it's fuel pump or fuel filter, the engine might die even if you rev the engine while your car is on neutral. try that and see 1st.

what car are you driving ?? EFI or carb ? How old ? Any mod ?

I know my wira also does that sometimes when i change gears too slowly. My friend's wira also same problem. When the throttle body is dirty, the engine always die after revving, even when changing gears too slowly.

Originally posted by g88@Jun 8 2004, 08:23 PM
what car are you driving ?? EFI or carb ? How old ? Any mod ?
Mine 1 is Proton Satria 1.3(M) converted to 1.8(M) 4G93 only. Just normal modification on open pod air filter, 4-2-1 extractor, straight flow piping and RalliArt computer chips.

Originally posted by kapitan@Jun 10 2004, 12:22 AM
I know my wira also does that sometimes when i change gears too slowly. My friend's wira also same problem. When the throttle body is dirty, the engine always die after revving, even when changing gears too slowly.
Mine 1 also like that, everytime need to clean the throttle body using some sort of caburator cleaning spray when faced this type of problem. But this is not the correct way to solve this problem. How to do it in correct way so that I no need to respraying it every months.

black4G93. check your air flow sensor + your throttle body...

Originally posted by black4G93+Jun 10 2004, 10:04 AM-->
QUOTE (black4G93 @ Jun 10 2004, 10:04 AM)
--QuoteBegin-kapitan
@Jun 10 2004, 12:22 AM

Mine 1 also like that, everytime need to clean the throttle body using some sort of caburator cleaning spray when faced this type of problem. But this is not the correct way to solve this problem. How to do it in correct way so that I no need to respraying it every months. [/b][/quote]
No correct way one. I was told by Proton tech guy that you need to service it every 40,000KM when I sent mine for cleaning last time. It starting to come back to me liao. I think must change air-filter every 5000KM.

Does your RPM goes crazy while shifting gears for corners? take out the whole TB assembly and have it cleaned with petrol. If it is the fuel pump, u may face the same problem when u rev your engine about the same range when u are crusing at 60km/h. if fuel filter dirty u may feel hesitation when accelerating but not till engine stall. A faulty fuel regulator might also contribute to this illness. The worst is the ECU or the relay have it checked as well. Hope that helps.

Thanks dude....Now the problem is over after I changed the FUEL FILTER last night. Wah lauu..the petrol is brown in colour 1 after my mechanic plug out the old fuel filter. That why lah.....the fuel filter already stuck by dirt. So the fuel cannot transfer smoothly for burning. Hai yohhh...now my car's performance is back liaow...quick response of rpm. When I step all at 2nd gear, it can reach 7500rpm in short time than before. SATISFACTION!

Originally posted by black4G93@Jun 18 2004, 09:58 AM
Thanks dude....Now the problem is over after I changed the FUEL FILTER last night. Wah lauu..the petrol is brown in colour 1 after my mechanic plug out the old fuel filter. That why lah.....the fuel filter already stuck by dirt. So the fuel cannot transfer smoothly for burning. Hai yohhh...now my car's performance is back liaow...quick response of rpm. When I step all at 2nd gear, it can reach 7500rpm in short time than before. SATISFACTION!
great! so it's the fuel filter eh? how much u buy the metal fuel filter? I got mine for RM65

Originally posted by ezwong2002+Jun 18 2004, 06:22 PM-->
QUOTE (ezwong2002 @ Jun 18 2004, 06:22 PM)
--QuoteBegin-black4G93
@Jun 18 2004, 09:58 AM

great! so it's the fuel filter eh? how much u buy the metal fuel filter? I got mine for RM65 [/b][/quote]
I got it just RM28 - 1.6 fuel filter (I think is retails price) But for my opinion, RM64 is too expensive lohh, because on the price tag there just shown RM46 only. .... Because the mechanic is my best friend mahh.