Engine overheats after driving in rain? Earthing problem?

guntherfurlong

Has anyone had this problem? I drive a Honda Civic EG... and I've notice that after driving in rain... my engine will start overheating... the temperature gauge rises up... this has happened only after driving in heavy rain.... I've already cleaned out my radiotor and changed to coolant prior to that...

Is this some earthing problem? Acidic rain water causing some some of electrical conduction?

Thanks...

wow i tot driving in rain can low the engine temp?:hmmmm2:

maybe ur wiring on radiotor or sumthing?or leaking at the fuse box due to heavy downpour?jz my guessing onli~

Erm, might be the fan termostat control problem... Once rain, cool and it never triggers the fan to run... Just maybe, not 100%... :_:

Hmmm.. fan thermostat? Well... i have to check out with my mechanic. I don't know but he did mention about 'earthing' the car... what the hell that means? :) haha

I have experienced one earthing problem earlier last month where every meter panel inside my Kancil gone mad!

the RPM meter showed I was running 160km/j!!!. but occasionally working well (dont ask me why!??!) . The temperature reading showed my engine was VERY HOT. the radio wasnt working. the electric window gone. so as the indicators. so as the air condition.

I suspect you should try re-grounding the battery. and see how. if the problem still there, then its something else.

hmm.. temperature should be lower when it's raining.. perhaps it's de thermostat.. tat's de culprit most of de time.. :regular_smile:

Hmmmm ... my car is almost 10 years old (more :) )... so the electrical circuits are old... I did notice that when the headlights are off... the temp meter drops ... some grounding problem here?

number 2... I think the other problem is the radiator leaking... I got my mechanic to clean the radiator 2 weeks ago... and now after half an hours drive.. I have to top up the water level in the radiator.. somewhere's leaking.. got to find out what...

so annoying la...

Update: Got my mechanic to check out the car... supposedly my Gaskets have worn out... so that's the cause of the over heating... well hopefully that's will be the only damage (in terms of funds!) ... haha

ur gasket worn out maybe due to ur car overheated before...

some workshops hv the pump to test the radiator leak..but i duno wat the name for tat tool.

paiseh:_:

lol rain so much problem ar... last night rain like hell here and my tacho went out of service.. for a while.. then come back on... i thought my engine stalled.. but still running XD.

yeah.. changed the gasket ..cost me 600 rm including labour. My engine much better.... slightly more power... :) ... well.... case closed I guess :)