Engine management

Originally posted by Joeker@Sep 21 2004, 22:02
If got budget get Motec. (best standalone I think)

But for RM6K++, I will go for Haltech E6X. Load of other function than fuel and ignition mapping like boost control, anti lag, launch control, etc, etc, etc..

Moppy,
In Ipoh, who is selling Power FC? tune by who? Thanks.
Motec is good as well as some others high end ECU is good too but why choose to use a product that you never going to maximise use it and it's not cheap too.
I rather save some money into other parts.

My intention is to make my car about 350 atw or 400bhp at crank, therefore I choose an affordable PFC, some more I heard many good result achieve from Japanese and I found a good tuner here.

If u find a good tuner and good support u can use the other products too. Like what MIST said, (tuner knows what he's doing).

Microtech, Motec, PFC, Pectel, GEMS, Autronics, Link, HKS, etc.. all are good too, depends on does the tuner can tune it or not. The function is the same except some extra features like launch control, ALS etc, but wait a min, how many really going to use the extra features. I'm not a hardcore driver here :lol: . I install just want to have a better fuelling management and make sure my engine run reliable. :D
Oh yes, higher resolution point definitely gives better tuning results but too much can make a tuner difficult to tune and take more longer time. I didn't mean a tuner cannot tune but tuner will need to spend more time into it.

FYI, I heard many user in Ipoh switching the E6x to E Damage. Cos the tuner here has done a good tuning in E Damage. There's one owner expereince that the E6x has reset to original mapping as a result can't start the engine. :unsure:

I'll PM u the seller and the tuner in Ipoh.

moppy, that was a good thingking.

If you're thinking of power just for street running, I suggest, just re-map your ECU chip..

If interested, maybe Khoyos can intruduce to someone who really expert in ECU re-mapping using EPROM.

Originally posted by actuator_bypass@Sep 22 2004, 10:01
moppy, that was a good thingking.

If you're thinking of power just for street running, I suggest, just re-map your ECU chip..

If interested, maybe Khoyos can intruduce to someone who really expert in ECU re-mapping using EPROM.
Thanks. ;)

But I have a little comment about the EPROM programming.

It is good but into certain circumstances. If you are driving your stock car (nothing modded inside) then this is a very econominical way to upgrade.

But what if your are using bigger injector, bigger turbo or different cams duration? Everytime u hv to re-programme the EPROM. Quite hazzle.
Swapping the EPROM can change the rev cut, fuel cut n give u extra higher boost, etc. But I don't think can support bigger injector or higher cams duration. Correct me if I'm wrong.

Therefore I've seen MINES in Japan, they offer their VX-ROM into their demo car, almost all in stock. Except replace the filter element and SS intake pipe.
Recently I watched an old motoring video about a demo car by MINES, it's R34. Tested by 2 driver and one of the driver is "Tshuciya" the drift king, sorry maybe spell her name wrong. :D .
After the test drive he said the car is very fast in response even though is not a big horse monster. I still hv the video file, who want's it PM me.
:D

I think (My opinion) Chip tuning is more perfect but it can't be tuning at real time like aftermarket ECUs.

These is some of the content of the ECU

temperature
Speed
RPM HI/LOW
WOT AFR
Knock Retard
Knock Attack Rate
Spark Retard
Spark Advandce
Volume Effiency
Power Enrichment

and a good tuner will tune according to some of versus table ie

Pressure vs RPM
Maximum Spark retard vs RPM
Knock retard vs Pressure
Accelaration Enrichment vs TPS
Power Enrichment Vs Spark Corection
Crancking A/F Ratio vs Temperature
Air Fuel Ratio vs Temperature
Idle RPM vs Temperature

There no problem at all after a few homework done..
Cam duration,
PnP,oversize valve
Stroker Kit,
Engine balancing and Lithgening
Big Turbo, Extra Injector,
Big Injector..

Good tuner will know what to do,
which or when some part need some be modify, install i.e
stock map sensor can only support less than 2.5 bar
fuel pump, fuel regulator and more..

It can be done and it's already been done by some oldtimer.. example like AMS = Anuar MotorSport

Thanks for letting me know an EPROM can do many things.. but I knew the stock EPROM has this function, but I don't know many things can be changed :D

It can be much more accurate but, the most inconvenient part is everytime u do upgrades u need to fine tune it.

EPROM I believe will give u a range that what mods can be done. u can load the parts into your car but not into precise tuning at each point.
However, yes u still can remap it again but will cost u money is it?

Can pls tell me what is the tuning resolution point can be done in an EPROM?

Thanks in advance :rolleyes:

nowadays u can get 3bar,5 bar mapsensor..

30psi,45psi,50psi,80psi..
available in most engine managements..

the microtech ltx12s come standard with 45psi mapsensor built in.

Waa Haltech E6X plus install plus tuning = RM6500

but what it included ?
MAP sensor how many bar ?
O2 sensor given ?
Water temp sensr so on is given ?

Orange Ng,

Me dunno details cause not me selling.

Why don't give the no. mentioned a call.

U got any better deal? share share with us pls.

for microtech ECU..

LTX8s would be RM4500 inclusive of full tuning and wiring and instalation.

inclusive of map sensor, full wiring loom, manual book,cd software,ecu,fuel pump relay,fuse.

More info email me
[email protected]
or
call me at
012 3205454
or sms welcome

more info on microtech can contact me, i can do demos for u guys..

Originally posted by MitonCT26@Sep 30 2004, 09:51
eh jo,

can rent microtech ah? one day how much you charge ah? ;) got game leh...
50% of game... :P

joshua,
clear ur inbox la brother..
hahha..tried sendin u pm but inbox full..

paisehhh~~hehehe

Originally posted by tony5050@Sep 15 2004, 15:03
SR20Charlie,

if you are interested just to give PowerFC a try..let me know...i can sort out something like a testing session for you..get it if you are satisfied with it..of course terms and condition applied la...PM me if interested...cheers :)

we carry PowerFC Excel software for the last 6 years and has more then 100 of cars running with it (up till 900bhp)...the price that we are doing here is RM4800 with tuning without the commander...VG30 AFM unit, fuel pump, and ECU retuned till 1.2~1.3bar should give you a decent ride...
Hello Tony....you got any power FC for the SW20 MR2 ar?
Am interested in getting a management.You have a test unit also?

heheh MR2 if u get the hand commander, remember to buy the extension wire ;)

not sure if you're interested ... Me fren got a MT4 with handset and all wirings/harness for the SR20. Condition is excellent. Below 2k.