DIY Voltage Stabilizer

Erm... here's my explanation...
You seem the multimeter isn't really measuring the Battery Voltage...
It's Measuring the Battery and Voltage stabalizer's voltage together.. It'll display the voltage of whichever is higher...

The battery isn't going to show higher voltage then the Voltage stabalizer cause the charge discharge rate is slower then the VS... The alternator charges both the Battery and VS at the same time... Thus making the reading on the multimeter display whichever is higher... In this case, it's displaying whatever the engine is supplying to the VS cause charging the battery has a slower rise then the VS...

Besides, I haven't grounded my Alternator yet.. I wonder if that could be the cause...

My battery is only a few months old.

Originally posted by n305er@Mar 10 2005, 09:35

Besides, I haven't grounded my Alternator yet.. I wonder if that could be the cause...

My battery is only a few months old.
:huh:
What do you mean by this? I'm still newbie, don't understand the meaning or purpose of your statement.

It means I've not connected any grounding cables from the alternator to the black battery terminal yet... :P

my car also didnt ground the grounding cable to alternator. and all the 3 point is actuall just ground to the car body only.

Originally posted by votech@Mar 10 2005, 13:13
my car also didnt ground the grounding cable to alternator. and all the 3 point is actuall just ground to the car body only.
Hmm.. I dunno.. I just change my battery a few months ago...
Shouldn't be the battery problem...

When I've grounded my alternator, I'll let you know the results.
Maybe it's just some cars and batteries are not very high end...

but it is still within the EIA 20% above and below specs on +60 Degrees. :)

ok, me us know the result ok. hope after connect to the alternator you able to get batter result.

i have a customer car toyota camry able to get 14.4v after connect the VS without grounding. somemore his car ICE setup is super and super expensive

i think grounding to de alternator is important... bcos power supply n charging comes from there... and i dun c any obvious conections connecting de alternator ground to de car body ground...

so i think it is best if u can connect a ground cable from ur battery to de alternator... give it another short cut.. B)

Originally posted by khguan@Mar 10 2005, 13:34
i think grounding to de alternator is important... bcos power supply n charging comes from there... and i dun c any obvious conections connecting de alternator ground to de car body ground...

so i think it is best if u can connect a ground cable from ur battery to de alternator... give it another short cut.. B)
So, you mean from factory cars, does not have the alternator grounded?

it is grounded.. by its own metal body.. then mounted onto de engine bay n then to de car body.... some cars have a thick wire connecting from de alternator body to de car body...

dats y we need grounding cables to reduce de electrical resistance in de engine bay...

Originally posted by n305er@Mar 10 2005, 12:51
It means I've not connected any grounding cables from the alternator to the black battery terminal yet... :P
while u at it....do the +ve terminal as well! get the 4awg!

Originally posted by khguan@Mar 8 2005, 02:01
if ur car is already smooth using de VS then no need to do something to it liao..
if u dun feel much diff.. then ok lar..
After 1 month of evaluation...i feel my car got no difference and sometimes more drag than before...so i took out the fuis...Now my car perform a lil better...that is why i said need to do somethign already muahhahaha :lol: :D

Originally posted by xtorm+Mar 10 2005, 21:43 -->
QUOTE (xtorm @ Mar 10 2005, 21:43 )
--QuoteBegin-n305er
@Mar 10 2005, 12:51

while u at it....do the +ve terminal as well! get the 4awg! [/b][/quote]
dun play play with de +ve wires.. :o

cos +ve onli got one wire onli.. so u can onli replace de original +ve with thicker cable... thats it...

n be very careful not to touch de +ve cable to de car body!!! :o

Originally posted by jaywat+Mar 10 2005, 22:21 -->
QUOTE (jaywat @ Mar 10 2005, 22:21 )
--QuoteBegin-khguan
@Mar 8 2005, 02:01
if ur car is already smooth using de VS then no need to do something to it liao..
if u dun feel much diff.. then ok lar..

After 1 month of evaluation...i feel my car got no difference and sometimes more drag than before...so i took out the fuis...Now my car perform a lil better...that is why i said need to do somethign already muahhahaha :lol: :D [/b][/quote]
i think ur ECU dun like ur VS.. hahha :lol: :lol:

ermmmm...mine one is carbi....got ECU ar?? :lol: ..actually i'm not sure muahahahaha :D

oh carbie.. then mayb de timing not properly tuned kua...

new carbie car also have an electronic thing .. duno wat they call it.. something to do with de distributor... mayb dats de culprit kua..

actually still depend on car itself lo...don't think is tuning problem...my car without the VS was smooth...anyway, just made another more powerful VS, going to try it tomolo hehehehe :lol: . It just fun to make those thing. B)

mine carbie also.dun really feel the engine performance.but ice n head light r better......most obvious is ice!

My Carbie also no extra vroom power... But smoother alot got lar... And no more of that stupid Air-cond compressor thing which suddenly makes my car slow.. haha