DIY Voltage Stabilizer

:o oh..votech...good to know u guys are ready

u must be alan rite? why dun wanna to use back u punya nick hor.....
anyway...nice design for ur votech...i tot the name is voltech?
wat's ur price like ya... the oem u showed me was like 150 plus plus... how the price now ya...

good luck for sales in u guys business... :lol:

:rolleyes: hai,,,diy has been comercialize n no more sharing going on in this forum... this is the real world... who know the skill then cari makan liao

why has the spirit of DIY has gone...

let's sit back n see two major VS in our forum now... see whose is more competitive to another ,,,,and whose can improve urs car better.. :huh:

FOR THOSE WHO STILL KEEN DIY>>>> I BELIEVE U ALL LIKE ME ... ALEDI LEFT THE FORUM N NO EYE SEE....BETTER DO UR OWN n ENJOY DIY with 100PLUS :D :D

good to hear that man...going to try my new VS tomolo....more type of caps and higher total value also..... B)

ah lee, glad to know that ur DIY spirit is still high...***thumbs up***

DIYer should not give up DIYing...its more fun and u'll learn more from DIY if u ask me.

We have done alot of serious research work and testing for more than half a year (even free demo and testing to collect feed back for about 3 months) and have bench marked many other commercialised and branded units in the market before we came out with the commercialised one requested by a few frens who are now our distributor. Yeah...company now called Votech coz the other name was taken...too bad.

There was one commercial Voltage Stabalizer I saw a while ago.... Inside the transparent casing were like... AA batteries... :lol: I have no idea if there are caps like those or are those something else... :P

there's a few transparent one in the market, some blue, some grey...all look similar inside. performance wise...also no difference from our test. ;)

Originally posted by ah lee@Mar 12 2005, 01:27
:rolleyes: hai,,,diy has been comercialize n no more sharing going on in this forum... this is the real world... who know the skill then cari makan liao

why has the spirit of DIY has gone...

let's sit back n see two major VS in our forum now... see whose is more competitive to another ,,,,and whose can improve urs car better.. :huh:

FOR THOSE WHO STILL KEEN DIY>>>> I BELIEVE U ALL LIKE ME ... ALEDI LEFT THE FORUM N NO EYE SEE....BETTER DO UR OWN n ENJOY DIY with 100PLUS :D :D
dun worry.. still got me mah... :P :lol:

i'm DIYing n selling my DIYed VS.. so for those who lazy or failed to DIY.. can buy my DIY VS lor.. :P :P cheap cheap onli :lol:

anyway.. i still share share wit u all mah.. look.. my VS got no secret wan.. i post pics showing inside of my VS wan.. rite?

any questions u can still ask me.. i'll still try to help.. ;) :lol: B)

So far i DIY 2 VS. Both successfully just that the first one provided my car no improvement, so i took out and replaced with the improved one...my friend saw the old VS said he wanna try hahaha :lol: ...still evaluating my improved version of VS :P

Anybody care to advise the wire size for the VS? In mm or AWG. Thanks. :P

just use thick speaker cable will do.... it is not necessary to use those thick power cables...

those cables are so short.. n ur caps r not supplying high ampere current.. but if u got more money to spend.. go ahead... it looks better with thick cables.. :P but serve de same purpose..

Problem with thick wire is that it's hard to solder the wire's copper onto pcb board...took a lot of space...care to advise? :)

u need soldering paste to make de solder stick to de copper wire easily...

then u will need a higher wattage soldering iron to supply enough heat to melt de solder onto de thick cable...

solution/advice :

use smaller cables.. thick speaker cables will do... u dun need such thick cables for ur VS... onli look nice.. but purpose is de same... as i said.. ur VS dun supply high ampere...

this is my DIY VS cable B)

Ahhh... The part where I failed... Thick Wire on the PCB... HAhahaha...
I used 4 AWG cable directly on the PCB... and erm.... Lots of Lots of Lots of wasted solder and solder paste... I've even managed to broke my soldering iron that day! :lol:

wah u put 4awg on ur vs!!!!! so xtreme ahhh! :P my 4x100w rms amp also using 8awg only...kakakakkakaka

but 8 awg for me is quite easylor to solder....cos i got a 100w solder

Originally posted by n305er@Mar 14 2005, 19:36
I used 4 AWG cable directly on the PCB... and erm.... Lots of Lots of Lots of wasted solder and solder paste... I've even managed to broke my soldering iron that day! :lol:
Don't solder them diractly to the board. If you check the soaristo site, they use a connector for both ends of the wire. One end, they screw it to the board. So, you can solder the wire to the connector or crimp it before solder. The other end, of course do the same thing, just that it's connected to the battrey.

Originally posted by xtorm@Mar 14 2005, 20:14
wah u put 4awg on ur vs!!!!! so xtreme ahhh! :P my 4x100w rms amp also using 8awg only...kakakakkakaka

but 8 awg for me is quite easylor to solder....cos i got a 100w solder
What's your max power for the AMP? 400W?

Originally posted by cacin+Mar 15 2005, 08:09 -->
QUOTE (cacin @ Mar 15 2005, 08:09 )
--QuoteBegin-n305er
@Mar 14 2005, 19:36

Don't solder them diractly to the board. If you check the soaristo site, they use a connector for both ends of the wire. One end, they screw it to the board. So, you can solder the wire to the connector or crimp it before solder. The other end, of course do the same thing, just that it's connected to the battrey. [/b][/quote]
Contact Points are not good for Currents. Unless the component is going to be on a very stable area, then ok.. But for something which vibrates as much as inside a car, I prefer everything soldered... :P

not necessarily... if u tighten de contact points tightly.. it will also give a good contact... yes u r rite.. when come to vibration... dat depends on how u screw or make de contact points...

if de cable too thick... i think not recomended to solder lar.. cos when u solder.. it will hold up de heat there for some time... n it may burn or spoil some of de small components nearby.. or mayb reduce de reliability of other components.. not good to de PCB also.. de copper lines may just come out...

Originally posted by n305er@Mar 15 2005, 10:08

Contact Points are not good for Currents. Unless the component is going to be on a very stable area, then ok.. But for something which vibrates as much as inside a car, I prefer everything soldered... :P
Maybe can put superlon inside the box so it does not vibrate that much?

I have one more idea. Since one of the people mention about voltage spike and to protect the caps, can you use a voltage limiter? Integrate one in the existing circuit so that only 15V max is entering the circuit to charge the caps.

Newbie suggestion only :)