DIY Voltage Stabilizer

yes superlon helps... my VS got superlon on top n bottom... not onli can absorb shocks...it aso act as heatproofing...

voltage limiter? i dun think so... bcos when u got a voltage limiter.. then current will be moving one way.. for VS application.. de current must be able to move 2 ways... if posibble also will be complicated...

Originally posted by khguan@Mar 15 2005, 12:33

voltage limiter? i dun think so... bcos when u got a voltage limiter.. then current will be moving one way.. for VS application.. de current must be able to move 2 ways... if posibble also will be complicated...
huh? I though we are using polarized cap. So, current only flow one way right?

Something i got:

Capacitors are used in several different ways in electronic circuits:

Sometimes, capacitors are used to store charge for high-speed use. That's what a flash does. Big lasers use this technique as well to get very bright, instantaneous flashes.

Capacitors can also eliminate ripples. If a line carrying DC voltage has ripples or spikes in it, a big capacitor can even out the voltage by absorbing the peaks and filling in the valleys.

A capacitor can block DC voltage. If you hook a small capacitor to a battery, then no current will flow between the poles of the battery once the capacitor charges (which is instantaneous if the capacitor is small). However, any alternating current (AC) signal flows through a capacitor unimpeded. That's because the capacitor will charge and discharge as the alternating current fluctuates, making it appear that the alternating current is flowing.

polarized or not... de "2 way" i mean is de caps take in current to charge up.. n give out current to discharge...

duno how to explain

guru-gurus,pls help me.i've done one of my VS but it seems it does not help at all..my car is a kenari auto...the VS is built up from 3x4700uf (10v this is wat i can find) 8x1000uf and 3x3300uf...i've put a fuse too so for installing will be easier...can anyone tell me wats the problem occured?

heheheh better use 25v or 16v capacitor ler, however i'm using 16v. just see how long can it last :rolleyes:

just like the camera battery kua...recharge so slowly...can use???

no such thing lar.... battery recharge n discharge is using chemical reaction... n chemical reaction need time to happen...

caps is diff.. charging n discharging is using dielectric materials.. so no chemical reaction... just de flow of electrons... dats y it is fast....

rite or not? pls correct me if wrong... B)

Originally posted by ayell@Nov 29 2004, 18:47
Question.. how to connect them together - series or parallel? and did it have any specific sequence to line them up because of the different capacitor rate?
[snapback]544779[/snapback]​
hey dude, u connect them in parallel, series??? dun b naive :ph34r:

Originally posted by ezwong2002@Dec 3 2004, 21:51
bought those caps for around RM70bucks pcb board and wires... however it didn't work when i tested with a computer 12V DC power supply.. it only managed to go 1.2V instead of a steady 12V.. i wonder why.. who wants those caps i offer at RM30.. 2pcs 4700microfarads, 8pcs 3900mf, 6pcs 2200mf, hows that?
[snapback]546204[/snapback]​
waaaalau, how can it works on ur PC when ur PC doesnt run on piston?????!!! :ph34r:

Originally posted by Esky@Dec 4 2004, 18:10
What's the diff between the small and big capacitors? I mean, for example, is there a diff between using 2 1000uF and 1 2000 uF capacitors?

Will there be a big spark when the capacitor bank's connected to the batt for the 1st time??
[snapback]547431[/snapback]​
the difference is tat , diff cap value distribuate at diff frequency...

Originally posted by servo@Nov 29 2004, 16:53
19168.jpg

http://www.ptrs.com.tw/sard/products/elec/Sweeper.JPG
it supposes do the same thing as SARD sweeper, after all, I opened a SARD sweeper and mod this one

the electricity generate from automotive alternator has a frequency like black curve on figure 1,
with these capacitors helping out we can make the current less ripple and more or lese come to green line
figure 2 is the resistance formula for capacitor(s)
figure 3 is probably the most effecient way for capacitor to share and stablizing the ripples

some users of HKS version report loss power when engine reving over 6000rpm, so I went to test my setup earlier tonight, however I didn't get to go that fast when i spoted flashing lights around next bend on the highway

a4601481.jpg

I went overboard and triple the caps used on my setup over SARD one, so here are the caps spec.

4700uf 16V 105°C *6 (2~3 should be enough)
3900uf 16V 105°C *8 (none in SARD version)
3300uf 16V 105°C *6 (2~3 should be enough)
2200uf 16V 105°C *8 (none in SARD version)
1000uf 16V 105°C *6 (2~3 should be enough)

wiring diagram? look above on figure 3, just connect all negative of cap on the board with soldering iron, then connect all positive side, try to draw it so the middle part of both path are on the side and easily attach a foot of 10AWG(I used 8AWG) cable on the middle and to the side of casing

black wire to negative post on the battery and red wire connect to positive post on the battery. Be advise engine brake would be a little fade once this device installed, but you should notice engine is running a lot smoother and more powerful on start and/or AC/audio is on.

I will be testing on 4AT and NCVT models later this week

[snapback]544422[/snapback]​
hi mr servo, i wonder haf u tested the voltage o/p wether its stable or not? i manage to get mine done(not efficiently), thou i can see tat ur circuit dun include a fuse or LED to indicate .. anyway hope ur test do well :ph34r:

Originally posted by sky_kids@Dec 5 2004, 23:08
can't find the 105 c capasitor...
jus got 85 c capasitor....
the capasitor can stand the heat or not?
[snapback]549081[/snapback]​
dude, it doesnt affect much, heat or not, as long as u feel good about ur driving..

Originally posted by lix@Dec 6 2004, 10:35
Yesterday i Went to Pasar road and purchase 28pcs 4700mf 16v 85c cap.
Total cost less than 60 bucks all in.
After intensive soldering for 3 hours, finally put the product to the test.
after 10 min of driving, power increases from standing start up to the red line, engine felt smoother, head lights brighter and stable idling.
Before 12.9v; After 13.8v.

Very Gooood :lol: :lol:
[snapback]550021[/snapback]​
u said .. b4 12.9v , after 13.8v... so is ur volt stable at all conditions? i mean eg: air-con ON full speed, headlight turn high, car audio full blast signal .. everything! check it ..let me know, thks! :ph34r:

Originally posted by DJgErM@Mar 19 2005, 09:58
guru-gurus,pls help me.i've done one of my VS but it seems it does not help at all..my car is a kenari auto...the VS is built up from 3x4700uf (10v this is wat i can find) 8x1000uf and 3x3300uf...i've put a fuse too so for installing will be easier...can anyone tell me wats the problem occured?
[snapback]822862[/snapback]​
8v is waty too small.. cant find one? order then.. try SG

Hey ufo dude!! you are answering all those "backlog" questions lar...i think they are all very happy and satisfied with their own VS now ;) hahahah