DIY Voltage Stabilizer

ayaaa..u ask me to call but u didnt put the no. man..pm me ur no..i come to ur place around 5.30

if i install the VS and leave the car for 2 weeks, will the batt become empty or not? bkos once install the VS, the VS light will blinking.

bridgestoneRE711 said:
sometimes accidently close the windows ... ? hehehe ....
anywhere ... one thing to make sure ... how long will those CAPS lasts ?

bridgestoneRe711, it will depend to what type of cap and what grade of cap will be use. polycap will serve you for life time...(damn expensive) highgrade e-cap can last you for 5 to 6 years. low grade cap.. hahaha.. god only know...

GTR said:
if i install the VS and leave the car for 2 weeks, will the batt become empty or not? bkos once install the VS, the VS light will blinking.

i think add an relay to it will be better,
once the key turn to on ---> VS turn one and battery only than charge the VS
once key turn off ---> VS disconnected from battery and discharge it by the LED

i think this should be better

badguy said:
i think add an relay to it will be better,
once the key turn to on ---> VS turn one and battery only than charge the VS
once key turn off ---> VS disconnected from battery and discharge it by the LED

i think this should be better

The relay way is not that good. If the battery is weak, with this method you will only make it worst during start-up.

The best is to install a manual switch, so that you can off it when ever you want. Or just remove the VS when you are away for long time.

I did my vs today! Mine consists of the following caps:

8x220uf (odd number cause I ran out of space on my circuit board)
10x330uf
10x680uf
5x1000uf
5x2200uf
5x3300uf
5x4700uf
2x6800uf

Total: 81460uf

Here's some pics:

http://img413.imageshack.us/img413/9884/dscf47501115kj.th.jpg

http://img413.imageshack.us/img413/6043/dscf475311113ta.th.jpg

http://img413.imageshack.us/img413/9629/dscf47551112fr.th.jpg

It took me 4 straight hours of soldering to get it done! Everything including the box was purchased from Jalan Pasar for less than RM70. I tried charging it using a 9 volt battery and it worked. Will try it on my car tomorrow once I get the wires, LED and fuse installed. Thanks for all the help you guys have provided to make this project successful!

BTW, I saw a VS at an accessory shop today. Selling price is RM400+. :rock:

bridgestoneRE711 said:
there is a reason why they use 4 big caps only . reduces the resonance .
at the same time , the rating is 40V , not normal 12V . that makes a difference .

I think you can ask your EE friend to try to calculate the parallel resonance effectwith 20-30 caps in parallel....he sure going to say "WOW"....

and the votage rating, actually makes a difference. Caps basically is built around charge per area concept using two plate and one dielectric. Higher voltage rating caps have a larger area to retain charge, so it can simply store more. Other than that, most caps looks the same outside, but when come to ESR rating, that one is going to make a difference again. Good caps have low ESR rating, which reduce the chance or starting a self resonance. Resonance is noise, is not good for the car. And one last thing, tolerance, I bet you dun want to put this into calculation when there's so many caps add up together, the variation is great.

So, never judge a book by its cover, which is what bridgy trying to say...am i right?

votech said:
I think you can ask your EE friend to try to calculate the parallel resonance effectwith 20-30 caps in parallel....he sure going to say "WOW"....

and the votage rating, actually makes a difference. Caps basically is built around charge per area concept using two plate and one dielectric. Higher voltage rating caps have a larger area to retain charge, so it can simply store more. Other than that, most caps looks the same outside, but when come to ESR rating, that one is going to make a difference again. Good caps have low ESR rating, which reduce the chance or starting a self resonance. Resonance is noise, is not good for the car. So, never judge a book by its cover, which is what bridgy trying to say...am i right?

What effect does resonance have on the car's electrical system? Sorry I'm not really electrically-inclined.

resonance is ossilation....which is the generation of frequency...which becomes noise. And parallel resonance means, one cap start to ossilate, it can cause all the caps connected together to resonate as well, which can sum up to become a great force...(just trying to explain in layman term)

votech said:
resonance is ossilation....which is the generation of frequency...which becomes noise. And parallel resonance means, one cap start to ossilate, it can cause all the caps connected together to resonate as well, which can sum up to become a great force...(just trying to explain in layman term)

Icic. So this force refers to resistance?

yeah . the LED , i saw tyhe votech LED from web . it is soo oooo oooo tiny small . won't eat up ur battery .
but if u really want to idle ur car for weeks , better take off the VS . coz the capacitors actually can drain ur battery .

anywhere , thank you uncle votech explanation although i am not his customer .
i listen my friend explain in Hokkien to me ... i listen till blur blur ...

I installed the VS in my car today and nothing significant happened. Maybe I didn't really test the car so the effects were not noticable. Will do more tests tomorrow.

the LED used is 12 v or 9v one????

where can i buy the 12v LED???
how much for one?

no need find 12V LED..

using normal LED, series with 1k ohm resistor (1/4W) or 100K ohm (1/4W) "dark but can c, and save power especially long time no using car". It's ok already.

normal LED need around 2.5V and 20mA. That's y need resistor for voltage drop.