Diy : Undercarriage Lights

wanto DIY not hard.. just dat u need to make sure few things

1. add relay if ur undercar lights ON together with ur car lights
2. seal those holes where de wire run from inside ur car to de
outside of de car body wit silicone glue
3. make sure ur ballast(DC choke) metal thing dun touch ur car body
metal parts. if not it will short... try n get those plastic casing wan
4. add a fuse for protection..10A should be enough

hmmm this is interesting...maybe put two small fluorecent along two side skirts can already...the light will be more balance.. :D

what the hell happened again here...back to several days ago...time travel!?!? :huh:

I just bought a DC choke today. It's half plastic, half metal. Since I can't screw the DC choke to the car body (it might short), is it safe if I just use cable tie to secure it? Any idea which part is the safest to put this DC choke ?

u can use a double side tape to stick it on ur carpet....

or u can poke a hole in ur carpet.. then tie ur choke to de carpet with a cable tie...

Ok, my friend managed to finish the wiring for me. To our disappointment, the fluorescent tube is not bright.

What's wrong?

Below are the components we installed:
( a ) 1x Fluorescent tube 18W/865 Philips Lifemax Super 80 Extra Bright
(1300lm) Length = 2ft

( b ) 1x DC choke 40W

( c ) 5A fuse at the input

( d ) Switch at the input

And I can hear a "eeeeeee" (very faint sound) coming from the DC choke. Is it normal?

Hey JohnsonLam...u r the one who works in Authentic Car Shop in 1-Stop rite and happens to also stay in Batu Ferringhi. U and I raced before remember? I'm one of ur shop's regular customer, the one with the white Kancil...with pig's female (try transalating it into hokkien for better understanding). I have one question, can u buy other colors of fluorescent lamps instead of just white? Colors like blue for example?

Mail me direct if possible at [email protected]

My surname is also Lam by the way...peace... ;)

Originally posted by stargate@Feb 9 2005, 09:13
Ok, my friend managed to finish the wiring for me. To our disappointment, the fluorescent tube is not bright.

What's wrong?

Below are the components we installed:
( a ) 1x Fluorescent tube 18W/865 Philips Lifemax Super 80 Extra Bright
(1300lm) Length = 2ft

( b ) 1x DC choke 40W

( c ) 5A fuse at the input

( d ) Switch at the input

And I can hear a "eeeeeee" (very faint sound) coming from the DC choke. Is it normal?
hey dude..

if u r using 40W choke.. then u should be using a 36W or 4 feet long flourescent tube.... in fact using flourescent tube is very very bright... my car use 2 x 4" tubes at de sides... make my car damn bright.... :P :lol:

yep.. de "eeee" sound is normal... but u can solve it....
try put de choke away from ur car player or amp...
n make sure de wiring connection is good...

then it should be ok... mine last time also got sound... then later i put at other place then ok liao

B)

Change to 20W choke, still the same problem.

Maybe those long 4 feet fluorescent tube is brighter (higher power)?

no lar... 2feet tube also bright mah... check ur wiring... DC choke wiring is diff from our house 240V choke wiring...

here's my car undercar lights.. using 4feet tubes at de side n a round room lamp at de back

took de pic just now... :lol: B)

hello im new here.. very interested in this undercarriage lights.. i drive a red lantis.. wanna put on red lights under the car..
but i dun hav any experience on doing wiring and putting this lights under my car..
any1 can help me do ah?? i pay workmenship.. B)
and i from OUG.. hope some1 nearby can help..

khguan ur undercarriage light damn nice looking lar, feel like to do it on my car but scare jpj spot check only :(

when JPJ block quickly off it.. dats y u need to put a switch for dat purpose..

got once i met a JPJ block.. then i switch off de undercarriage lights.. duno de guy got notice or not lar... then kena block.. check lesen... then let me go... no prob..( i guess nobody saw it kua :P)

even if de JPJ officer tahan u n say u have illegal lights under ur car... u can argue..
mana ada? encik ada tengok salah kah? ya.. bawah ada lampu.. tapi sekarang saya tak buka... ini lampu untuk motorshow pakai punya.. jalan raya tak pakai...:P :P :lol:

when JPJ block quickly off it.. dats y u need to put a switch for dat purpose..

got once i met a JPJ block.. then i switch off de undercarriage lights.. duno de guy got notice or not lar... then kena block.. check lesen... then let me go... no prob..( i guess nobody saw it kua :P)

even if de JPJ officer tahan u n say u have illegal lights under ur car... u can argue..
mana ada? encik ada tengok salah kah? ya.. bawah ada lampu.. tapi sekarang saya tak buka... ini lampu untuk motorshow pakai punya.. jalan raya tak pakai...:P :P :lol:

hahahahhaha :lol: :D , later he said, saya tak pernah jumpa u dalam motor show punya?!?! eerrrrkkkkkk :blink: