Diy : Undercarriage Lights

Originally posted by ezwong2002@Mar 25 2004, 09:43 PM
Completed DIY... but 1 thing.. the ballast gets very hot... must be the amp not correct... currently 20amps... any suggestion?
hmmm...madness. why not try using CCFL (cold cathode flourscent lights) instead of these unwieldy home-based flourscent tubes?

only weakness - CCFL tubes are sensitive. very sensitive. hahaha. broke half a dozen already. but the cheap ones are cheap..about 30 bucks for a single tube + inverter..and the inverter is discreet and doesn't get hot like the house ones.

Originally posted by johnsonlam+Feb 25 2004, 09:19 -->
QUOTE (johnsonlam @ Feb 25 2004, 09:19 )
Originally posted by AXXeLL@Feb 25 2004, 01:37 AM
--QuoteBegin-ninja_iga
@Feb 25 2004, 01:35 AM
AXXeLL,

note the switch..

Yeah, it can be off... but what if i keep it ON too long??

Well.. You can leave it ON for like 2 - 3 hours without any problem..
More than that... Hmm...... Must jump start already.

For safety, YOu can wire a RELAY from the Key Ignition ACC. That way, the light will be ON only when there is a KEY present.

Notice Paul Walker's SkyLine in 2Fast2furious.. The lights comes on when he push in the key... Not Switching on the lights yet... [/b][/quote]
any wiring diagram with relay....? :unsure:

thanks...

good idea....

i'll do that....
but 4 knowledge i want to learn how to apply car wiring using relay.
maybe next time i'll put spotlight by myself....

any one expert apply relay 4 car?

Originally posted by ezwong2002@Mar 25 2004, 21:43
Completed DIY... but 1 thing.. the ballast gets very hot... must be the amp not correct... currently 20amps... any suggestion?

Is this light placed in the passenger area? Using balast would be quite hot.

I did mine using led and resistor and tap the power from cigggie lighter and added a switch (in case i need to turn it off "Example in Daytime").

IT is working fine now. But i got no digital camera, sorry still not buy yet.

wat color is ur LED? how many u use? n mind to show ur circuitry? i mean how u connect those LEDs?

bright enuff ah?

I have an LED array for lighting under the hood. Just connect directly to my headlights.

But if use LED, Wouldn't you need alot of them to be bright enough under the car? And what about the problem when it rains??
If use Luxeon LED, 2 will probably be bright enough to illuminate the entire area under the car provided that there's nothing bloking their light... But, they costs about RM100 each...

I use blue Led, RM1 each.

I connect the Positive of the ciggie lighter to the switch. From the switch to positive of the LED. From the negative LED to the resistor. From the resistor to the ground.

I use parallel connection for 8 set, all the positive of the LED connect to the switch. Each LED negative is connect to a 470 ohm resistor. And the end of each resistor to ground.

Use can use how many set u like loh.... and if one LED burn, other is still ok :)

I use 2 watt resistor (a bit overkill but good relability)

Vincew,

like dat better use 4 feet flourescent lights.. damn bright.. blue color tube onli rm9 per pc.. if u ever drive in Serdang at nite n c a car wit long blue undercar light.. dat'll be me..

i think some ppl will say i'm ah beng... having such damn bright undercar lights.. haha :D :lol:

Originally posted by n305er@Jan 31 2005, 14:08
LED is connected Directly to the Headlamps. They on when I switch on my lights.
wah dude.. ur engine so dirty... :P

n is dat Proton original strut bar?

Originally posted by khguan+Jan 31 2005, 15:07 -->
QUOTE (khguan @ Jan 31 2005, 15:07 )
--QuoteBegin-n305er
@Jan 31 2005, 14:08
LED is connected Directly to the Headlamps. They on when I switch on my lights.

wah dude.. ur engine so dirty... :P [/b][/quote]
Eh... I never washed there before... Dunno how to wash... :unsure:

n is dat Proton original strut bar?
I dunno.. I think so... I bought my car 2nd hand... it was there already.

did many cars.. still using florescent.. but using a different method..

1 advise for those doing this :
if u hang yor lights too high.. u might find some parts of yor cars, for example yor exhaust pipe, blocking the light when u switch it on.. so it might look "incomplete" on the floor..

good luck guys ;)

Wah.. It looks really good from the front... But when Look sideways.. Got 1 gap in the middle... kekek... probably need some skirting or lower the car summore... :P

http://www.zerotohundred.com/forums/uploads/post-41-1077615971.jpg

need to confirm if i add relay....

#87 - to light
#86 - to switch
#30 - to fius

is it right?

if u tap ur current from ur car lights... yes u'll need relay... so dat u can draw current directly from ur car batt..

Originally posted by n305er@Feb 1 2005, 07:58
Wah.. It looks really good from the front... But when Look sideways.. Got 1 gap in the middle... kekek... probably need some skirting or lower the car summore... :P
yes.. exactly.. thats y i tel u guys not to hang it too high.. hehe..
but sometimes very hard to find nice places to hang la.. :P

fulamak, i suddenly feel like adding lights under my car pulak, ehee :P inside damn alot of lights adi (the ones like ezwong, then my gear knob, then my meter, then my door light) all also brue brue karer adi :P lolz lolz...

izzit hard to DIY ar??
got alot wiring to do anot??