DIY projects

ahh ic..thanks..

i dun understand "lazy man's sequential"

does it mean u made to to non sequential??

thats right. joe is running non-sequential. both turbos come on at the same time.

quick question..
when the air pump is removed... shall i cap the hose to the engine ? or i put a small shield and remain it to be breathable ?

i'm refering to the output of the air pump... the input is from the air intake... out put is somewhere into the engine... shall i cap that ? or leave it breathing ?

Alchemis said:
quick question..
when the air pump is removed... shall i cap the hose to the engine ? or i put a small shield and remain it to be breathable ?

i'm refering to the output of the air pump... the input is from the air intake... out put is somewhere into the engine... shall i cap that ? or leave it breathing ?

you can cap this thing off, up to you. It actually leads to no where, if you've removed your cats. either way, it really makes no difference if you cap it or not. however, if you choose not to cap it, you're car will make a "mooo" type sound when its cold. the other (& more complicated) option would be to remove the hard pipes & related hardware. You'd need to fabricate block off plates to block off (duh!) the holes where the pipes once were. plus side, the engine bay looks SO much cleaner.

joe13 said:
1. Remove Air Pump
Ease of Mod : 4 / 5 (Easy)
Cost of Mod : 4 / 5 (Cheap Cheap)
Mod's Value : 4 / 5 (For the minimal effort you have to put in, this is one heck of a "value buy" mod
Should you do it : Hell yeah
Pros : Quicker engine response, Engine Bay looks SO much cleaner
Cons : U're choking good ol' mother earth quicker, but no diff if your main cat's gone

some qus about this,,,when i pull out the air pump wire the RPM will drop.izzt normal or i need to adjust it back n where i need to adjust???my car already didnt have cat ,just wana make engine bay look more clean .is that ok ?have any side effect??

alex- just plug up the hardpipes going to cat. have you removed the airpump completely?

phat7 said:
alex- just plug up the hardpipes going to cat. have you removed the airpump completely?
my car already didnt have cat liao,then how ah??hihi n i didnt remove completely i just plug out the wire socket!!!hehe..

when you pull the cable, nothing should happen, as your cat is already missing, and the airpump is literally sitting there doing nothing. there is no side effect from removing the air pump at this point of time, as i've stated, you have no cat, hence, air pump = dead weight. if you just plug out the wire socket, there really is no benefit to this. the main reason why ppl remove the airpump is to 1. reduce weight (hunk of iron IS heavy), less 1 pulley, less one heat soaking unit, and for the fact that its sitting there doing nothing, its can be considered junk anyways.

DIY Day/Class

Planning to have a DIY day. Anyone?

Date: 6th August 2006
Time: TBA
Tools: Bring some light tools

1. RERider
2. Sarakun aka Alex ??
3. Chun Beng?? want me to show u how to do a heat shield??

Rattle plastic? Cracking sound? Solution is here....

1. Remove all plastic panels. Be careful not to destroy it as I think it should be fragile.

2. Time to respray it to desire color.

3. Before you install it back, use a 3M tape (those thick tape with sponge type) and tape it at the edge of the plastic. To act as cushioning.

Well, while doing step 3, you can add tapes at any desire spot which you think will damn the sound.

Good luck

Fabricate broken plastic

Broken plasctic? Well, you dont need to scratch your head and try to source the whole new/used plastic panel again. Help is here...

Buy epoxy putty, follow the given instruction on how to use it. Use correct amount and fabricate it. Viola!!!!

Good luck.

how come i didn't realise there's this thread..... maybe i missed it.

Lumpy idle or low rev jerk? Solution is here

Lumpy idle or low rev jerk? Solution is here. Try to look at the TPS settings. Work for me and Jim aka donKey.

Cheers,
Jason X

dude.. which site got the TPS information... the fd3s.net one very vague... difficult to understand....

Here you go;

http://www.robrobinette.com/tps_adj.htm

Alchemis said:
dude.. which site got the TPS information... the fd3s.net one very vague... difficult to understand....

Noisy cabin?

Noisy cabin? Well most probably the noise comes from the gear box console. Solution to this problem is, take out the plastic console and apply a layer of insulation material. Try to cover as much area as possible. After that, viola... quiet cabin, or at least better than last time...

Cheers,
Jason X