Charade dillemma

- D i a b l o -

Hey guys,

I just bought a Charade Aura 91'.Its got a CB23 1litre 3pot engine and all the things it supposed to have.

I want to have experienced users here to share their opinions with me on how can i extract more power from the engine.I must rule out engine transplant because my father is not allowing me to do it.

I was thinking of a bolt on turbo,do they exist for Charade Aura?

Any other modification that is vital for it?

Amir

Oh ya one more thing,where's the Daihatsu Charade malaysia club website?

Hi Amir,

Welcome to the Daihatsu channel. Your question is a universal one among Charade owners. To answer your question you need to tell us what sort of power increase are you looking at? Do you want just slightly more power to help in overtaking or coming out of junctions or are you looking for kick-a$$ power which makes you stick in your seat?

What you also need to realise is that increasing power output also normally means a reduction in fuel economy, a rise in fuel consumption and also more wear & tear on engine components.

I also suggest you read a thread in this channel where a discussion on bolt-on turbos was done. This might help you make up your mind. :regular_smile:

Thanks for the info dude.

I dont want to overspend on this car as im looking forward to a FD3S.However,i need a daily horse to ferry me to college.

I just want enough oomph to get me to 180kmh if the ratio permits me.I think i deserve more power..lol

Can you stick the relevant threads? and if you dont mind,which page is the discussion?

CB23 and 180kmh are not actually close friends... but it's not impossible either, if I remember correctly, there's an owner (not zth people) who manage to use his g11 with CB23 and hit that number for a few seconds...

The only significant mod he did is to change the throttlebody of a G11 deto turbo if I'm not mistaken.

Anyway, good luck in your hunt for power.

thanks for the fine wishing.

btw,I DID IT! i managed to convince my dad that my lump got some issues.I've changed to a new carburettor and ask my mechanic to tune it properly and still it has some very veryy bad idling problem.On a hot day,it'll idle up to 1.5k

Paling worst when you try to on the aircond after warming up the engine for say..3min plus..it still idle badly.

SOOO~

i can find for a replacement engine.Maybe a 1.5 - 1.6 DeTomaso ones.
Opinions?

Get Gtti then...it's a direct fit to the charade chassis...thing is, it's really rare right now....and it costs quite a bit...

thats about the only engine which wouldnt need extensive modding to fit the block in.....

eh...Toyota person in daihatsu forum !!! (deongster)
hahahahaha....

- D i a b l o - said:
I dont want to overspend on this car as im looking forward to a FD3S.However,i need a daily horse to ferry me to college.

I just want enough oomph to get me to 180kmh if the ratio permits me.I think i deserve more power..lol
Ok, based on these statements, especially the first, I would recommend you do not do engine conversion or bolt-on turbo. Instead modify the existing engine. If your engine is in not good condition, consider doing a full overhaul on it. A full overhaul will mean taking out the engine and dismantling it. During this time modifications such as port & polish, engine balancing and flywheel lightening can be done.

At the same time, service your carb, change the jettings if you wish and change the air filter to an exposed air filter. All the above mods should make your car hit 180km/h easily.

Speed Demon said:
Ok, based on these statements, especially the first, I would recommend you do not do engine conversion or bolt-on turbo. Instead modify the existing engine. If your engine is in not good condition, consider doing a full overhaul on it. A full overhaul will mean taking out the engine and dismantling it. During this time modifications such as port & polish, engine balancing and flywheel lightening can be done.

At the same time, service your carb, change the jettings if you wish and change the air filter to an exposed air filter. All the above mods should make your car hit 180km/h easily.

its using a brand new carb,i've sent the car to do valve grinding allready.See if any improvement can be seen.

Dougster said:
Get Gtti then...it's a direct fit to the charade chassis...thing is, it's really rare right now....and it costs quite a bit...

thats about the only engine which wouldnt need extensive modding to fit the block in.....

eh...Toyota person in daihatsu forum !!! (deongster)
hahahahaha....

GTti,i only saw one with engine kosong and not the halfcut.... sad

i suggest u make your engine current one more reliable by doing a overhaul... fix everything... then work on the handling and braking of the car... trust me with sufficient power u can whack a lot of ppl round the bends but the car must handle la... try not to do a conversion la... hassle ma... jpj, police and all.. if yo ureally must do a conversion i do sugegst the deto or the gtti instead of the 4e... its easier to do and easier to pass jpj if u actually try... u get what i mean la... the 4e is more fun but also more hassle if you are willing to go through all hassle for the extra hp then go ahead...

conversion is hard work,why not just find a nice bolt on turbo or supercharger.I dont need to race with this around.

EDIT

"This is a mule,you cant turn a mule into a racing horse,it dont have the pedigree to do so."

EDIT

*quoted from a very established racing mechanic whom i went for consultation.

lol a mule,he described my car as a mule! outrageous son of a ..

True also lah,how fast la this thing can go.I just want to make life easier by having some more power.The reason why i dont want to think of converting is,if i do?

I'll throw in a 13BT.Rotary for life.

a nice suspention set up will make ur day more fun...

bro...u're driving aura right? it still ok compare with espri

LOL

used to drive 1.3 (carb) Aura to college.. Fun car, managed to kill the g/box. Spend your money on suspension and brakes.

This car taught me how to 'drive' fast. Underpowered vehicle ma....so no choice.....kill g/box.

- D i a b l o - said:
conversion is hard work,why not just find a nice bolt on turbo or supercharger.I dont need to race with this around.This is a mule,you cant turn a mule into a racing horse,it dont have the pedigree to do so.

*quoted from a very established racing mechanic whom i went for consultation.

lol a mule,he described my car as a mule! outrageous son of a ..

True also lah,how fast la this thing can go.I just want to make life easier by having some more power.The reason why i dont want to think of converting is,if i do?

I'll throw in a 13BT.Rotary for life.
No offence to the mechanic, but his statements do not go along with what you have and what you want. Indeed I agree with him that you can't change a mule into a racing horse. Then why suggest a bolt-on kit? It totally conflicts with his own statement.

The fact is, you own a Charade and might not be able to afford a "racing breed". The fact is, you want more power but do not wish to spend loads of money. Which is why I suggested repairing and modding your current engine.

And in defence of our little Charades, one thing most people do not realise is that they have 2 characteristics in their favor: 1. high power-to-weight ratio and 2. very good low rpm torque. Slight modifications increase both factors and allows you to beat many more larger cc cars off the line. On my old CB23 the only mods I did to it was an exposed air-filter and a DIY port & polish. Just these 2 mods allowed me to beat almost any 1.3cc car and match most 1.5cc ones.

Speed Demon said:
No offence to the mechanic, but his statements do not go along with what you have and what you want. Indeed I agree with him that you can't change a mule into a racing horse. Then why suggest a bolt-on kit? It totally conflicts with his own statement.

The fact is, you own a Charade and might not be able to afford a "racing breed". The fact is, you want more power but do not wish to spend loads of money. Which is why I suggested repairing and modding your current engine.

And in defence of our little Charades, one thing most people do not realise is that they have 2 characteristics in their favor: 1. high power-to-weight ratio and 2. very good low rpm torque. Slight modifications increase both factors and allows you to beat many more larger cc cars off the line. On my old CB23 the only mods I did to it was an exposed air-filter and a DIY port & polish. Just these 2 mods allowed me to beat almost any 1.3cc car and match most 1.5cc ones.

I hear you man.... i was a cb23 owner 2....

What speedy said about modding ur current engine now has a lot of truth in it... Personally, the cb23 was a really good learning platform for me... and for a lot of other cb23 users.... u learn things along the way....like how to tune a carbie....adjusting timing/idling/air fuel ratio etc...

And yes...the cb23 was not the slowest thing on the road....and with little tweaks, it could really hold its own on the street....

Slowly modding and learning..reaps much more benefits than going straight for big power....u wont learn a thing....

With reference to our cars....and automobiles....its not so much about where you are....rather its more about how you got there thats important... :)