Celica TA22 ideas

80 is good price if condition good good. fast fast grab it loh. wat other parts they got ???

UR engines is still new ler. And mucho expensive. UZ engines plentiful, and can handle 600 horses no problem.

hi vantageX and all u guys..i suggest to use the s13 front adjustable shocks + coilover and brake system, ke70 steering rack, rear use the merc w123 'bilstein' shocks + rear ae86 axle + disc brakes (just plug and play).engine u can leave it alone but twin weber would be nice.my fren changed to a single carbie..fuel consumption really improves and ride much more responsive..i think if u wanna swap the engine just go for 4age..more balanced and suitable to the chassis. if u need some hard to find parts..u can call hidayat 0176941851. happy restoring..

actually most of straight axle rear asb are the same 1 lah.... how its look like ?? look like ke70 1 loh, jz mayb shorter, or bigger diameter. other option is u can look for those 4x4 pajero/land cruiser rear absober. i found a lot at h/cshop but not sure fit directly or not.

talk about rear axle, they say mustang's rear shock is direct fit into ae86/ke70, just shorter. but where can we get mustang shock here? :-<

The rear absorbers on these cars would be telescopic dampers. The Kancil uses these types of absorbers and yes, they all look pretty much the same but the difference is in the length of each of the different types of absorbers. Don't know if you can simply take one from one car and fit it on another. It might fit but how will it handle on the road and if compressed too much, will it last?

VantageX,

For all old skuul car owners, my advice is to get the car body done up nicely. Fix all the rust problem. No point putting high hp engine, LSD, etc all those performance parts but the car body flexes like nobody business.

Remember, chassis is the building block for a good and well balancedand handling car....

SKY999,
hi Bro, what happened to the new celica door pics? and how's your progress of your fibreglass rear bumper project? Doing very good I hope...

ken yeang said:
VantageX,

For all old skuul car owners, my advice is to get the car body done up nicely. Fix all the rust problem. No point putting high hp engine, LSD, etc all those performance parts but the car body flexes like nobody business.

Remember, chassis is the building block for a good and well balancedand handling car....

SKY999,
hi Bro, what happened to the new celica door pics? and how's your progress of your fibreglass rear bumper project? Doing very good I hope...

soli for the delay cos nowdays quite bz with office work. my rear bumper project haven start lah.... wait untill i finish i done the front bumper 1st lah but really not free those day.... will update if its done:regular_smile:

SKY999 said:
soli for the delay cos nowdays quite bz with office work. my rear bumper project haven start lah.... wait untill i finish i done the front bumper 1st lah but really not free those day.... will update if its done:regular_smile:
eh, the other day you tell me and tauhu about your fiber project is the fiber glass bumper ar? :biggrin:

wan ask, beside all the resins and stuff, how many sheet of fiberglass fabric you need? few layers? i thought they are very thin... how about top layer use carbon fabric? :biggrin:

ken yeang said:
VantageX,

SKY999,

Thanks for the info but the body is good...did the welding last year. As I mentioned earlier I'm not looking for a fire-breathing car, just something that can keep up with modern conditions, that's why I'm looking at the carb and the ignition side of things. Hoping to get to know somebody who has done an electronic ignition conversion on the TA22. I've seen it done online but wanna see it in real life.

At the moment my plans are just to get the carb sorted out, see what can be done about the ignition and possibly get rid of the engine run fan for an electric one.

SKY999, fibreglass rear bumper? What your plans like? You moulding it in the form of the original bumper to save weight or you going for a different look?

rollakid,
actually the front bonnet with curves almost done, but no time to touch up untill now. not only the front bonnet+ bumper, done my rear huge duck tail already n some other small small parts. (lastime very free mah)

i will suggest 2 layers loh. 1 layer too thin.i think should b can put it on normal fiber top layer but jz for look only. i saw N1 civic also use similiar Carbon fiber bonnet leh.

vantagex,
i think 4age 16v frm ae86 will b jz nice sit in ur car since u no need powerfull engine.the fiber bumper i copy out frm ori bumper for save weight and for spareparts. front will make it into difrent look.

hey SKY999, any pics of all the work you've done so far? Really wanna see what your car looks like now :)

sky,
how thick is the fiberglass fabric you use? cuz the last time i check on them fiberglass fabric get to be as thin as 0.06mm, same story for carbon fabric.

and, forget to ask you, how thick is the bonet you make?

sky999 said:
i will suggest 2 lawyers loh. 1 lawyer too thin.
big case you got there... i suggest you feed the later with apitton weight gain milk..

vantageX,
din take any pic lah.... its not all done yet wat...

rollakid, knn... laught at me on my spelling mistake....
got 0.06mm tht thin meh ?? nv go measure it. even its jz 0.06mm but whn u apply whn resin it will be difrent loh. 1 layer = 1-1.5mm.. i jz aply 2 layers.

frm wat i knw,the cf fabric i saw is thinner than fiber fabric. there r difrent type of cf fabric and the 1 u saw mayb not the 1 i saw loh.

i don't really know how to read their specs, all i see is 1k-1k, 3k-3k, 6k-6k.. until 48k-48k the biggest i've seen. makes me feel that its the number of fiber in each weave or whatever you call it.

1k-1k is less than 0.1mm thick, 48k-48k one is like 2mm thick, maybe used to make car chasis one.. :biggrin:

and yeah, same with vantageX, i haven't really see your celica before ler.. pics!! pics!!

i got no idea about those fiber fabric spec. but i notice the fiber fabric i bought abit thicker than those selling in Paint shop. i dono how many type in market cos the plc i always bought selling 1 type only. my car nth 1 lah.... buruk sillycar only.

how bout u all reveal the hidden monster pics..we can share2 see them.i wonder if my ta22 put the ducktail ok or not? sky999...can i see yours?

sure no prob.... will show the pic after everythg done.....

hows ur monster celica?? running good ?? ur 1.8t project done already ??