CELICA & ALTEZZA

gspot

Am kinda interested in these two cars especially the 2002/03/04 Celica. Checked out the late 2004/early 2005 US version.. the Celica GT-S with 190bhp VVTi-L and 6 speeds. As for these ranges of Celicas, rumour has it that the engine is similar to the Altis's 1.8L? Am also looking at the mod possibilities from N/A to forced induction. Anyone with a thought to spare?

Altezza.. convenient 4 doors with a fiesty attitude and certainly good for drifts eh?

Please share as I amy be upgrading from being a Proton Mutant to perhaps a Toyota Mutant? :D

Originally posted by gspot@Dec 10 2004, 14:18
Altezza.. convenient 4 doors with a fiesty attitude and certainly good for drifts eh?

Please share as I amy be upgrading from being a Proton Mutant to perhaps a Toyota Mutant? :D
I quote you, Altezza.. convenient 4 doors with a fiesty attitude and certainly good for drifts eh?.

The Altezza might not look so sporty in stock form versus the Celica but I'd definately pick the Altezza anytime over the Celica. Once you've driven a RWD, you'd understand. Even if you don't drift around with it, it's still nice to play with. :)

pssssst. Altezza with 3SGTE! Yummy!

Comparatively, how about the Celica in terms of "modability"?

Originally posted by gspot@Dec 10 2004, 16:30
Comparatively, how about the Celica in terms of "modability"?
Talking about the recent line-up of Celica (those with 2ZZ-GE), not much can be done from NA Tuning point of view. It's simply becuse 2ZZ-GE is still relatively new so Aftermarket GO-FAST gadgets are still few. Just like 4A-GE 20V, it took a while for performance parts to be available long after its debut in 1991.

Well, you could always consider Turbocharging, but then 2ZZ-GE is a Hig-Comp high revving motor, not like the traditional 3S-GE which is a much more favorable choice for boosted application. And I doubt the reliability of all-aluminium 2ZZ-GE under high boost, an All Iron 4A-GE would be stronger.

Anyway I have seen a few units of Celica fully tuned by TRD and they really looked very promising and full of grunts.

Dear EFN .
May I know how to basic modify need to the 2ZZ-GE ? I fun to drive the celica with this engine ???

Thought of low comp pistons.. but I believe the alu 2ZZ-GE can take it. Am not talking about boosting 2 or 3 bars. Anyway, have seen in some tuning mags of some nasty turboed celicas stateside.

mrs + 2zzge .. lethal combination B) can be on par with elise if done up properly B)

Originally posted by aEROz+Dec 10 2004, 16:00 -->
QUOTE (aEROz @ Dec 10 2004, 16:00 )
--QuoteBegin-gspot
@Dec 10 2004, 14:18

I quote you, Altezza.. convenient 4 doors with a fiesty attitude and certainly good for drifts eh?.

The Altezza might not look so sporty in stock form versus the Celica but I'd definately pick the Altezza anytime over the Celica. Once you've driven a RWD, you'd understand. Even if you don't drift around with it, it's still nice to play with. :)

pssssst. Altezza with 3SGTE! Yummy! [/b][/quote]
I also wish to have altezza, but I also greedy for MRS, haih no $$$ what to do? dream lor :)

Originally posted by aEROz@Dec 10 2004, 16:00
3S-GTE? Heheh I would drop the 1UZ in there instead. B)

altezza actually is a sedan car.

in japan......altezza is like our malaysian perdana....where also got
uncle grandfather driving

Originally posted by whiteprince@Jan 9 2005, 14:27
altezza actually is a sedan car.

in japan......altezza is like our malaysian perdana....where also got
uncle grandfather driving
My 60y/o uncle (now a grandfather liao) is driving Mitsubishi Evo 8 MR, so Evo is uncle car ah? <_<

since when i say altezza is uncle car?

i said "altezza actually is a sedan car"
i never say "uncle car"

im telling you altezza can be seen everywhere in japan and then most of the drivers are uncle.

Celica uses 2ZZGE, i dont think its the same engine as Altis.
Altis is VVT-i only, Celica is VVT-Li.
Altis is 130hp, Celica is higher.
Correect me if i am wrong.

Both of you are correct.

Celica GT - 1.8 1ZZ-FE engine, 5 speed. Same as Altis, MR-S and other Corollas.

Celica GT-S - 1.8 2ZZ-GE engine, 6 speed. Same as some higher-end Corollas.

Originally posted by MK84+Dec 13 2004, 22:52 -->
QUOTE (MK84 @ Dec 13 2004, 22:52 )
--QuoteBegin-aEROz
@Dec 10 2004, 16:00

3S-GTE? Heheh I would drop the 1UZ in there instead. B) [/b][/quote]
if i got the cash..

RA28 celica + 1UZ-FE :lol: if posible convert to carb and use it to wake up neighbours..
and not forgetting some bad as rim...