CD/Mp3/WMA Player. Clueless N00B.

kirks

I'm interested in upgrading to a better player than my current Wira player and I'm hoping to get something around the range of RM400-600.

Of course if it's cheap and good, all the better.
All i want is a player that doesn't skip when I go over bumps, can play all three formats (If it plays vcd's all the better..but i think don't believe it's possible) and if it looks good, that's a bonus.

Also, are there any speakers that I can look for? I'll be fixing it to the front doors of the wira that's all. Its mainly for rock, pop, kinda music.
No techno boom boom songs.

sorry if this topic has been repeatedly posted, but I can turn to nowhere else for help. My friends and my dad are absolubtly ICE blind.

well u have lots of choices.

major brands are available
shop around and choose the one u like

what should I look for?
I like any player that looks sleek and blackish.
i can't relaly choose like that can i?

goosfrabar said:
u can try blaupunkt.....

very good players. the high end wants u dun even need amps.

highend units usually do not come with built in amplifiers. HUs like Alpine 7990, Nakamichi CD700MKII, McIntosh, Eclipse 8053, Alpine 9990 and some other top end pure decks do not come with built in amplifiers.

The point of having an external amp is to deliver clean power. The amps built-in inside the HU is very minimal power. Most of them put 50watts x 4, however that's the peak power and not nominal power rms. So don't get excited when your HU mention 60watts x 4 or 50watts x 4. Read the specs carefully, u'll notice they mention 20watts rms x 4.

Btw, a real 50watts rms x 4 amp can't be fitted into the HU coz of the size, the power module section and the amount of transistors, capacitors and the coils.

wow thanks a lot for the replys.
Now i know what the heck an amp's for.
Used to think it's just to make it sound loud.

now i have a lil idea of what to get. Scared kena the salesman tipu blindly.

Well.....a pure deck is not for everyone. The average user would be nore than happy to keep things as simple and low cost as possible, so 2 sets of speakers front and rear and the HU is the way to go. Get poisoned by auditioning setups and then its all downhill from there! Ahahhahaaaaa.......

back to your question kirks.....try the pioneers, RM600 can get you CD and MP3 functions. Dont bother with VCD dude, if you really wanna go down the AV path, you do it right the first time off and that will require a lot of moolah for starts.

Say you allocate RM400 for components....you can get pretty decent ones, shout loud enough and maybe some of the resident sellers here can help you out! Good Luck!

yeah, i was also thinkin about pioneer since so many people recommends it.
But wat's a HU? (I did say I wuz a n00b :P)

nemind, i"ll get the CD player first. ANd soon I'll add on the speakers.
now to start shouting for resident sellers help.

you can get a vcd head unit for 600 bucks but you're probably gonna pay another 500 to 700 on a lcd screen. in fact a brothers one. but anyways, 600 is a pretty ok budget for a cd/mp3 HU. i got my pioneer 5650MP for RM630 and if you're lucky, you can still find this player around this price. the 5750MP is abit more expensive. jvc makes pretty decent HU's too but i do have some reservation about sony players. bad experience more like it.

at rm600, maybe you can save a little bit more

go for Alpine or Eclipse entry level HUs.

yeah...top up bit get a better HU....btw mp3/WMA don't sound nice in ICE....

among popular models and brands, how come you guys not into kenwoods? any problems or any reservations about this model?

getting a HU for my other car very soon and i dont want to make mistakes. :D

miton bro,

Hm.. why not so much into kenwood is bcox kenwood not so in audiophiles quality hence u wun be hearing much plp talk about it here.

normality kor kor,

TQ for the remark.

AFAIK in my Small noob brain, i am quite suprised that pioneer is included in the audiophile's choice. so that's why i was wondering how come their direct competitor is not included, that's all.

well...sifu has spoken..time to get one. :D

Wahahaha.... Miton kor kor, u r more senior thn me la.

Pioneer actually is quite good on its 8650mp and 9650mp series. The sound output is comparable to Alpine 9835 series. So far in our south bound neighbourhood country, Pioneer P9 which is the highest end of pioneer series and most choosen one for IASCA competition. Its selling like hotcakes and quite affordable.....

norm bro....if its affordable, can help my "tabung" P9 ar!? .... hehehhee

yeah the 8650 looks good and sounds good.

Master D said:
norm bro....if its affordable, can help my "tabung" P9 ar!? .... hehehhee

yeah the 8650 looks good and sounds good.

basket... u dun come kacao kacao.... u r going to afford something even more the P9.