Carburetor Section

erm, i thought adjusting the timing means adjusting the distrobutor there to either advance it or retard it? screw screw one is idling lar bro.... the timing is nothing to do with screw wan.....

gavan said:
erm, i thought adjusting the timing means adjusting the distrobutor there to either advance it or retard it? screw screw one is idling lar bro.... the timing is nothing to do with screw wan.....

mind to guide....i dunno bout carb :biggrin:

huh? you kidding rite???

anywayz, here it goes...

to adjust the timing of the car, you have to loosen the screws which is connected to the engine block where the distrobutor cap is, twisting it in either direction would result in the engine's either revving higher or bogging down....this is also known as advancing the timing or retarding it. the beauty of tuning a carb is that it doesnt just take one tuning, you can keep on playing with it till you are satisfied with it.

so for more power i suggest you to advance the timing a lil, but not till the max as the car would start to shake when idling and requires a higher RPM to make the car shake/rattle free.

then there is the idling tuning, on most carbs, the screw would be the largest one which could easily be adjusted with your hands. adjusting this scew would also do soe movements to your butterfly controller(the thing where the cable is attached to). its suggested you tune the enigne idling before you attemp to adjust your timing.

then there is the AFR srew, which is normally located at the back of the carb where its either hard to access or its almost imposible to adjust, certain carbs require you to use a special key to turn the screw to adjust the AFR(this is so because the AFR is the last thing you need to adjust during car tune -ups and its also for security reasons)

so once all this is done, its time to adjust the idling when the air-cond is turned on...

[note: 1) all those tuning before was done when the air-cond is turned off and the engine is warm-up to runnning tempreture 2)remember to rev-up your engines after each time you turned and adjust the screws to see if its at the point that you want it to be]

so now, swtich the air-cond on to the max(highest fan speed and coldest temp)

this would make one equator push a screw onto your carb throttle/buttlefly controller, now to make sure its the right screw you are adjusting, try turning on and off the air-cond, you could see that thing move when the air-cond is turned on and off. so turn it on to the max again, then start adjusting it to your liking and preferbaly higher rev than before as this would prevent the engine from vibratiing when the air-cond kicks in and out during operation.

and then you are done...drive the car around to feel how your car is like, then if it snot satisfactory, tune it again... ;) hope this helps

anyway...thanks...hope tis wil helps me...gotta try it out 1st la...ahhaa....dunno wil works for me o not

gavan said:
huh? you kidding rite???

anywayz, here it goes...

to adjust the timing of the car, you have to loosen the screws which is connected to the engine block where the distrobutor cap is, twisting it in either direction would result in the engine's either revving higher or bogging down....this is also known as advancing the timing or retarding it. the beauty of tuning a carb is that it doesnt just take one tuning, you can keep on playing with it till you are satisfied with it.

so for more power i suggest you to advance the timing a lil, but not till the max as the car would start to shake when idling and requires a higher RPM to make the car shake/rattle free.

then there is the idling tuning, on most carbs, the screw would be the largest one which could easily be adjusted with your hands. adjusting this scew would also do soe movements to your butterfly controller(the thing where the cable is attached to). its suggested you tune the enigne idling before you attemp to adjust your timing.

then there is the AFR srew, which is normally located at the back of the carb where its either hard to access or its almost imposible to adjust, certain carbs require you to use a special key to turn the screw to adjust the AFR(this is so because the AFR is the last thing you need to adjust during car tune -ups and its also for security reasons)

so once all this is done, its time to adjust the idling when the air-cond is turned on...

[note: 1) all those tuning before was done when the air-cond is turned off and the engine is warm-up to runnning tempreture 2)remember to rev-up your engines after each time you turned and adjust the screws to see if its at the point that you want it to be]

so now, swtich the air-cond on to the max(highest fan speed and coldest temp)

this would make one equator push a screw onto your carb throttle/buttlefly controller, now to make sure its the right screw you are adjusting, try turning on and off the air-cond, you could see that thing move when the air-cond is turned on and off. so turn it on to the max again, then start adjusting it to your liking and preferbaly higher rev than before as this would prevent the engine from vibratiing when the air-cond kicks in and out during operation.

and then you are done...drive the car around to feel how your car is like, then if it snot satisfactory, tune it again... ;) hope this helps

ahh...there you go, master Gavan has spoken,

if you want to adjust the AFR ( warning ! ) use old spark plug for special tools, u need to adjust the electrode to make it straight. screw it in till touchdown and screw out for 2 1/2 turn, then do some fine tuning, slow slow + -, take a look at your muffler for moisture/water, if yes...congrats.(tune this in the morning after warming up)distributor adjustment are for pick up or top speed, up to you, you can set & test, again slowly lah, good for your experience.

BTW my setting for autochoke are 1.5RPM b'cause i'm using Mikuni heh, for proton 8v its used manual cable, for 12v - autochoke, go check with ur mech. bro, running in cold temp not good wei, especially for carbs. always clean ur carb with carb. cleaner(liquids spray)

jombiee said:
ahh...there you go, master Gavan has spoken,

if you want to adjust the AFR ( warning ! ) use old spark plug for special tools, u need to adjust the electrode to make it straight. screw it in till touchdown and screw out for 2 1/2 turn, then do some fine tuning, slow slow + -, take a look at your muffler for moisture/water, if yes...congrats.(tune this in the morning after warming up)distributor adjustment are for pick up or top speed, up to you, you can set & test, again slowly lah, good for your experience.

BTW my setting for autochoke are 1.5RPM b'cause i'm using Mikuni heh, for proton 8v its used manual cable, for 12v - autochoke, go check with ur mech. bro, running in cold temp not good wei, especially for carbs. always clean ur carb with carb. cleaner(liquids spray)

yup agree with jombiee sif000 Gavan albertein have spoken :rock: :

friend, where did u manage to buy the mikuni carb I am looking for it high and low pls advice tq :dancing2:

Fren, I got mine form frens too. He got it at Powerzone.
For mikuni twin choke try contact sirazul, trade in ur satandard carb for rm750, that was long time ago, I think still got stock & mebbe got used carbs. all the best.

[email protected]

jombiee said:
For mikuni twin choke try contact sirazul, trade in ur satandard carb for rm750, that was long time ago, I think still got stock & mebbe got used carbs. all the best.

[email protected]

fstrader said:
wahhh all powerful carbs :eek:

wei uncer fred, mikuni twin choke no match for weber ler, whats ur project now ? looking for more powderfull carb is it ...ha ha

jombiee said:
wei uncer fred, mikuni twin choke no match for weber ler, whats ur project now ? looking for more powderfull carb is it ...ha ha

hehhehehe got lor :biggrin:

carb?

does it include all the carb engine?how to tune kancil 850 carbie?im so the very new here..

jombiee said:

[email protected]

thanks got a reply from him :rock:

fstrader said:
sif00 cookie buying twin mikuni ahh? :eek: another fast old skool toyota... hehehehe..

war me only ask the price where got sifu like uncle Fred :eek: