Can ASIAN think?

Acoustic

There is a book for sale titled "Can ASIAN think?" written by a local. I didn't read it all but from what little I read is fundamental.

Apart from that, I would like to ask "Can ASIAN teach themselves?"

For instance, there are allot of enthusiastic people here / people like us, but why ask a question to others before asking ourself?

why ask a question to others before attempting to find the answer ourselves?

Doesn't it "ring a bell" that we should find the answer ourselves before asking onto others? Or is it simply "LAZINESS"

For example Ngai Seng Moulding in the 4 throttles thread. Allot of people ask where? I don't know the answer because I know how to go there, hence never bother to take down address.

But where does it end???

All of us got education, can read english, got computer, ON_LINE. But why behave like primitive???

Even the government issuing bill-boards advertisement of "1st world facility, 3rd world mentality"

It really hurts me that people are not taking initiative to teach themselves. Why our country like that? Or is it why our people like that? How to surpass other nations??? Always buy from other nations while we loose our currency strenght.

using google search of "ngai seng moulding" found

http://www.google.com.my/search?hl=en&q=ngai+seng+moulding&meta=

the 6th link already have a exact match

Go into the link we find this

http://www.spareparts.com.my/mot_workshop.cfm?category=Motosports%20Specialist

Look carefully and link on Ngai Seng Moulding we find this

http://www.infotoday.net/ngaiseng/

I know I cannot change all the people, but I hope I can persuade some to exceed current mentality.

Allot can be learned from the internet, search only..............

If some one give up it's fine, I guess I don't care anymore, but I'm not giving up.

BTW I show the book to a Australian and discuss with him and he said he feels offended, because he considers himself Asian. By geographic perhaps he is right? or is he?

BTW this Australian is not Bill Sherwood, it's someone else.

welcome to malaysian mentality!!

pandai ask, and they expect to receive.

"search" is a mysterious word that doesn't exist in their vocab.

Acoustic said:
There is a book for sale titled "Can ASIAN think?" written by a local. I didn't read it all but from what little I read is fundamental.

Apart from that, I would like to ask "Can ASIAN teach themselves?"

For instance, there are allot of enthusiastic people here / people like us, but why ask a question to others before asking ourself?

why ask a question to others before attempting to find the answer ourselves?

Doesn't it "ring a bell" that we should find the answer ourselves before asking onto others? Or is it simply "LAZINESS"

For example Ngai Seng Moulding in the 4 throttles thread. Allot of people ask where? I don't know the answer because I know how to go there, hence never bother to take down address.

But where does it end???

All of us got education, can read english, got computer, ON_LINE. But why behave like primitive???

Even the government issuing bill-boards advertisement of "1st world facility, 3rd world mentality"

It really hurts me that people are not taking initiative to teach themselves. Why our country like that? Or is it why our people like that? How to surpass other nations??? Always buy from other nations while we loose our currency strenght.

using google search of "ngai seng moulding" found

http://www.google.com.my/search?hl=en&q=ngai+seng+moulding&meta=

the 6th link already have a exact match

Go into the link we find this

http://www.spareparts.com.my/mot_workshop.cfm?category=Motosports%20Specialist

Look carefully and link on Ngai Seng Moulding we find this

http://www.infotoday.net/ngaiseng/

I know I cannot change all the people, but I hope I can persuade some to exceed current mentality.

Allot can be learned from the internet, search only..............

If some one give up it's fine, I guess I don't care anymore, but I'm not giving up.

BTW I show the book to a Australian and discuss with him and he said he feels offended, because he considers himself Asian. By geographic perhaps he is right? or is he?

BTW this Australian is not Bill Sherwood, it's someone else.

This is a good lesson.
It's happen in our daily life and we do couter many people that expect to spoon feed everyday.
Infomation is the most valuable comodity. (now of future?????)
This is the question that we need to ponder around.

yup...currently...a lot of people can't think by themselves to solve problem even they have guidebook with them.They are so lazy to open the book and look for the information...

WHY?spoonfeed education...proud of their so-called good result...well protected in family...indulged by family members...well,it's sad to see this issue happen in Malaysia...

Nowaday,information,we can search for it in everywhere...internet,reference book,manual...a lot of sources that we can look for...

Hope that this topic will influence as much people as it can...

"Learning is not enough,we must apply,"
"Willing is not enough,we must do,"
by Bruce Lee

Its too subjective for me to give my comment
but one thing I know is malaysian culture = tidak apa attitude
hehehehee

grey area...

I think the examples being used are really grey area. On the one hand, self teaching is good... but there is no point reinventing the wheel. So it is okay to "ask" people. In fact it is fundamental to our daily conversations with family, friends, colleagues and employers.

Generally speaking, I think the people within these forums are inquisitive and all for self teaching and learning. The fact we are all here to gather information by asking a friend, the sifus, a foreman, anyone on the forums, send an email, send a PM, search the Internet is still rather pretty much the same. It is information gathering... one way or another.

The method and media used of course should suit the occasion. Example for a direct question it is more effective and sensible to PM because your message could get lost in a long thread. Another example is to gather opinions, it is best to just start a new thread so that everyone can see it and reply to it.

Asking where a shop is located is quite a good idea. It is probably located on our street maps and on the Internet. However, that is not going to tell you things like:
a. That place is often "jam" from time A to time B
b. There is road closure
c. I've got an alternative route to teach you
d. They recently moved last week
e. Speed traps near there
f. Watch out for this landmark after the right turn...

g. ... you guys get the picture

The fact that someone selected the method of communicating and enquiring normally means that their brain is subconsciously wanting to know other intagible things about that location.

peace. just my opinion.

Accoustic bro : funny you should post this "can asian's think" post in the Toyota thread :D Wrong section don't you think? :D But yeah, I agree with you all the same.

I agreed wat sifu Acoustic said. Same scenario happened to me in my office. Once do them favour, they relying on u to do their job. i.e help to print photos even their computer connected to the printer.

Hi guys

Thanks for the enthusiasm. I am indeed surprised, especially not being kaaaa boommmm at. From this I think Malaysia has moved forward and I didn't realise. You guys made me realise that.

Everyone is right!

Bettergrip gave valueble feedback. To top that up I just like to add that what I really wanted to say should have been: -

Why never search for the answer first before asking unto others, especially clues have been given, on such trivial matters as to where, what, how, why.

The internet resources itself is so huge that often answer can be found, although not very easily, but with efforts answers normally can be found.

And if not......... this is one of the good place to ask and perhaps / sometimes those who'd search would say: -

I tried to look on the internet and called telekom yellow pages but cannot find, can something direct me?

I've seen some people post questions and showed their hard efforts to look for themselves beforehand and often people like these are worth help / supporting all the way.

That is all - not that I want to bam boo people, just that I hope to influence more people with the "teach ourselves" mentality. And you guys have succesfully teach me that allot - like you guys have actually moved forward.

Izso, this is certainly a strange topic in Toyota section. I also don't know why I put here, perhaps I know the people here a little better and estimated everyone is on the level and probably would not give bad answer. ???

agree.......sometimes keeping quiet is better than always repeating the same ages old question...infact i do a search quite often in another new forum i found....and spend hours to read and read and read..its way faster than waiting for people reply...

i guess who ur friend,where you work and how your family brought you will contribute to all this...

wrong section... ok wud

I don't think anything wrong with you posting here. After all we are among friends... but I think your feedback and response is much better here because of the group demographics.

I know I am making a very rough and terrible generalization... but it is my theory that most Toyota drivers:
a. own their car
b. paid for it using their own money
c. have decent jobs to support point b. (which is to pay off the loan)
d. bought it not ENTIRELY because of performance... because if they did, they should have gone V-Tec from the beginning

... so the people in here are all keen on learning, sharing ideas and enhancing the thought process.

wow ... i am sure u hit alot of nerves in the malaysian system ... heheheheehee ... but i am afraid to say thats the way things work around here ... and we just have to face it everyday .. :P
on the other hand ... when u said ppl like to ask b4 even thinking of answering it themselves ... this is what i have to say ... everyone is human ... they would love to hear other about other ppl's experience b4 they start anything themselves ... afterall it is cheaper to learn from someone elses mistake maaa ... hahahahahaahaa .. same reason why i love to tok kok ... instead of answering a question based on your experience ... hehehehhee ... if i answer then ppl will find more ways to ask me why didnt do this or that ... and then would even try to find faults in what i have done ... so i fedup laa ... let them find out themselves ... if so kiasu then dont do laa ... huahahahahahahaaaa ...
damm good topic ... i will post a link in general talk to this topic ... :)

bettergrip your generalization is infact a very good one. There are allot of loop holes to what I've said and you address allot of it.

GT20v answers is even more keng, our surroundings makes us what we are.... there's no deny about that ......

QiW, I don't think this thread hit any nerves because I believe what you said people just take it as what it is so they are not bothered.

No the other hand, I just want to voice my opinion, and I'm glad I did because GT20v has shown me that he is reading allot allot and I'm very happy for that and I'm sure there are some like this too.

There are allot to be learnt from reading before asking anything.

For example, I'm quite close to Bill Sherwood not because I want to, because I don't really ask him much.

More importantly before I ask him anything, I provide my findings for discussion and we laugh about my ideas. It makes a more interesting conversion. This is what I am trying to say.

Instead of ask and bye bye

bettergrip said:
I don't think anything wrong with you posting here. After all we are among friends... but I think your feedback and response is much better here because of the group demographics.

I know I am making a very rough and terrible generalization... but it is my theory that most Toyota drivers:
a. own their car
b. paid for it using their own money
c. have decent jobs to support point b. (which is to pay off the loan)
d. bought it not ENTIRELY because of performance... because if they did, they should have gone V-Tec from the beginning

... so the people in here are all keen on learning, sharing ideas and enhancing the thought process.

You just made a fool of yourself by generlizing here. I resent what you said here and I find some of it quite... ridiculous.. but to each his own and my comments will be kept to myself. Acoustic on the other hand said he posted it here because he knows the Toyota people. I can live with that but your a) b) c) d) are just plain ignorant and stupid.

Sorry.. but you hit a nerve here and I want you take back your statement! You make us "OTHER" drivers sound like stupid fools who can't afford toyotas and can't afford to pay for our cars with our hard earn money because we don't have decent jobs!!

JEEZ.

Anyway, with regards to what the others said : Some people do ask questions because they genuinely don't know. Like myself, I've seen the DIY TB cleaning threads a dozen times and each time doesn't help me because I really just don't know where to look. But recently I had my mech show me step by step how to do it (he was quite patient) and now I do it myself. Is that really so bad? Helping a person who really doesn't know with ridiculous step by step instructions on how to go about things? I dunno.. please do comment on my statement.

Wow, lets not get cranky - it's all my fault to start of with and I apolagise to everyone before hand.

I'm sure bettergrip does not mean the way you describe it, although I re-read it and agree what you've said is right.

I sincerely think bettergrip was lazy and simply typed to fast and summarise too short of his original meanings. That happens all the time. Lets give him some room and I'm sure he'll provide a better picture.

It's like last time I keep getting scolding from ICE community and I never understand why they cannot understand what I've said and is very mad at me.

Only after 2 years due to not giving up and changing methods of delivering then they finally realise. And it was all my fault for not typing in this sentence.

"under anechoic conditions"

My god, just 3 words but got all my relationship with them all screwed up. What to do, it's my fault.

Your description of the mechanic showing you step by step very patiently is a good one. I also learnt allot from various mechanics performing various task. I don't DIY that much now because I realise their labour charges are truely low for the amount of work they provide and time spent.

To do the same thing at home like engine oil change, axle oil change, gearbox oil change would normally take me 6 hours, preparing and cleaning up after that. To save a mere RM30 of labour and waste 6 hours doesn't seem reasonable anymore.

Pay them and it'll be settle no more than 2 hours.

Apart from this, the ITB cleaning was also a nightmare, although I know how to do it, but I'm not going to DIY anymore, am very willingly to pay RM50 to a mechanic to do it for 2 hours. Mine is a FR so taking out and putting in is allot more easier than FF hence time less.

OK OK I'll stop here, else going to be labelled a old man liao.

Wow!!!!

What To Say Have Been Said....

But... If There Are Ppl Who Still Believe That Mat Salleh Is Better Than Us - Asian
Have A Big Surprise When You Really Deal With Them.. Even With The So-called Cheap Indian Programmer..... I'm Not Trying To Down Grade Anybody Here... My Apologies In Advance.... But ... What The Important Thing Here Is That, We Are Human And Thus Are Equal ... The Only Differences Is That These Ppl Are Being Taught To Express Them Selves Better Than Us Asian Do...thus Making Them Look Good!!!!!....

This Coming From My Working Experience....

Cheeers

think what you want of it...

think what you want of it... I'm not going to apologise for anything.

flame wars start because there is one tiny point that is left out and someone wants to make a big deal about it... when in fact... you can't cover every little aspect of any discussion on a forum.

I'm too old to want to justify myself to anyone... so go ahead with your spectacular attitude of not focusing on problem solving... but instead attacking individuals by calling me a "fool", "ignorant" and "stupid". I don't mind... because after all.. all that is relative. Compared to my grandma I am indeed ignorant.

all I know is that flame wars are like the Paralympics... even if you win... you are still spastic.... so I'm not going to participate.

I'm happy to continue discussing this issue further with anyone... in PM or whatever... you can even question me... and I'll correct myself... but I refuse to apologise to anyone who demands it in that form of rudeness.

btw...

to pay respect to all the sifus... and even older uncles... I'm sorry the thread turned sour.

*sigh* those who know me... know I meant well to build-up the discussion.

I'll just bite my tongue if more stuff is said at me... and ignore.

Sham, you are give very good mature answer :)

bettergrip - it's OK lah, it's only a small misunderstanding on a sensitive issue that I shouldn't have brought up. I'm sorry about it. But please lets not let these things get into us.

We are all humans like Sham said. Lets just move-on remembering both good and bad and make a better future from whatever pass mistakes.

BTW you sound like very old only, talk until the wisdom power so strong...... cannot be what? I thought you college kid :) - got GF intro ah? I am single and available to girls only :)