cables.... power cables and speaker cables

renxun

i was wondering why cables are divided into speaker cables and power cables... for some of the powerfull woofers i see their speaker cables are quite big also ... and can it actually use the amp power cable to become the speaker cable and vice versa? if cant what is actually the difference between this 2 types of cable... im thinking to use power cable as my speaker cable cuz i got quite a lot of spare 4ga cable

usually it is hard to find lower gauge speaker cables hence the easy way out is using power cable as subwoofer cable. But i would recommend no lower than 10 or 12 awg otherwise you will find it hard to fit into the sub or amp.

and using 4awg for speaker/woofer is OTT. I have no idea how to fit this cable into the driver...

If I am not mistaken, the number of strands play a factor too right?
4GA for speaker cables might sound overkill though.
Probably you can try test first before actually using the 4ga as your speaker cables?
Speaker cables are not advised to be used as power cables because of the insulator (I think). I don't think they are able to handle the voltage and current your amps gonna need if they are used as power cables.
When I go buy speaker cables, they auntie always tell me that, "this is speaker cables". I guess she's scared I used it as power cables :D

if youre talking about subwoofer, then yes, quite common to see them just use 8-10awg for sub cables. if normal speaker cables, usually around 12-16awg

kawtim today .... wired it using the spare 4ga cable that i had in my store room...heck its big..took me sometime b4 i figure how to wire them...

care to share a pix? i have no idea how do you fit 4awg cable into the sub terminal..

trim the bulu wire a little bit with scissors and just plug it in.... i dun have a digicam.. sorry