Buying new Pc- NEed Guide-

rebirth

Hi every Zthians, I m new to pc, so, need some guide on good parts
can anyone guide me what should i look for?
I like fast n good things...
thns for helping. Appreciate to look forward

wah 3k, can build a pretty good comp if u dun go for LCD and cordless mouse/keyboard
:lol:

i think..

Originally posted by s15@Nov 28 2004, 20:21
budget .. budget !!!!!!!!!
correct!

also, and what are you gonna use it for? are you going to leave this pc on 24/7? are you in an air-coned room?

the whole set or excluding a number of items?

Originally posted by arrowhead@Nov 28 2004, 20:25
wah 3k, can build a pretty good comp if u dun go for LCD and cordless mouse/keyboard
:lol:

i think..
u state the budget here
i can help u get cheap Dell Workstation or Desktop or Laptop

got 1 server class CPU oni selling for 3K

My recommendation :-

AMD Barton 2500 @ 3200+ - RM350 (overclocked)
SI-97 heatpipe cooler + Delta 51cfm - RM230
Abit NF7 - 280
512MB Kingston DDR400 Ram - 330
120GB Sata HDD - RM350
128MB Radeon 9550xt (128 bit) w/3.3ns ram - RM400
Tsunami casing w/400w psu - RM180
19in Samsung 955df - RM710
Logitech optical mouse & kb - RM100
Battlepad pro gaming mousepad - RM30

All in all it can play all the latest games like Half Life 2 at 1024x768 & need for speed 2 underground but Doom 3 only at 800 x 600 medium specs (unless you upgrade to 128MB RAdeon 9800 pro (256bit) or higher (X800 pro/xt).

aiyo...follow danny's advise cukup le...he works/own a pc shop for overclockers/pc modifiers in lowyat la... :ph34r:

Hmm imho if get a 17inch flat...can invest more on the graphic card...

Dell PrecisionTM Workstation 670
Single Intel® XeonTM processors 2.8GHz/800mhz with 1MB L2 cache (Dual Capable) 800MHz front side bus and Intel® Extended Memory 64 Technology
512MB ( 2x256 ) ECC Dual Channel DDR2 400MHz SDRAM memory
Six DIMM slots support 512MB to to 16GB of dual-channel
2D PCIe Graphics (dual monitor capable):
NEW NVIDIA® Quadro® NVS 280 (PCIe x16 card, 64MB)
80GB Serial ATA(7200RPM) Hard Disk Drive
CD-Rom Drive 48x
Floppy Drive, 1.44mb
Dell keyboard + Optical Mouse
Integrated Sound Blaster Compatible Audio Controller 16-BIT
Integrated Intel Pro 1000/XT Gigabit Ethernet
Integrated ATA-100 EIDE Controllers
Integrated Single Channel U320 SCSI Controller
3 Years Same Day 4-Hour(8x5) Onsite response (parts + Labour)
Standard Telephone Tech Support (Mon-Fri, 9am-6pm)
650Watt power factor correcting power supply
selling for RM 3588!!!!!

DELL DIMENSION 4700 MMT

Intel® Pentium® 4 Processor 530 with HT Technology
HARD DISK 80GB
FLOPPY DRIVE, 1.44MB
MEMORY 256MB, SDRAM WITHOUT ECC
KEYBOARD, ENGLISH VERSION
MS WIN XP HOME EDITION
17" (16.0" v.i.s) CRT MONITOR
DELL PS/2 2 BUTTON MOUSE
48x DVD / CDRW COMBO DRIVE
128MB ATI RADEON VIDEO (PCIE X300)
INTEGRATED NETWORK

1 Year 24x7 Priority User PC Phone Support (Round-The-Clock Access)
1 Year Next Business Day (8x5) Onsite Response (Parts + Labour)
1 Year Standard Phone Support: Mon-Fri 0900-1800.
selling for RM2588

ah the SLI, i think that's when i'll have a reason to change pc.. ahahhaa...

FYI - ATI is also coming up with SLI cards but their spec is different from nVidia's.

Currently in the market now is nVidia's spec SLI called nForce4 ;)
There are also non-spec SLI from 3rd party board makers to confuse the whole situation so you have to make sure its nVidia's or ATI's (when it comes out) spec before buying so you won't have problems later on ;)

SLI generally gives 30-80% more performance but of course a single next generation card is of the same performance as an older generation card in SLI mode.

But its good for upgrading don't you think.

eg. (prices aren't real)

currently you buy a single GeForce 6800T SLI at rm2000 you run it solo
then in 1 years time nVidia comes up the next generation card (lets call it) GeForce 7000 SLI price at a premium rm2000 introductory price. but hey why not buy another GeForce 6800T SLI since its about a year the price might have dropped below RM1000 and you still get the same performance as the next generation card ;)

unless of course the next generation card uses (lets call it) DirectX 10 which has more extra features you might be missing out if you just use the old cards in SLI mode but hey you just sacrifice some eye candy but FPS is the same ;)

sorry to know there are so many low yat sellers in here
i really wish i can go to low yat but, really ma Fan = troublesome
to go there. I live around Klang, so, is a bit far to proceed to there. Hope you guys understand my difficulties. I ask for convenient lo, so, i think i choose pyramid lo. IS is ok?

Any ideas?

However, after considering....
2.5 k for only PC
around 1 k for LCD 17"

Hmm...any good specs?
Really dun hope ppl sell me expensive lo...really sad lo... :blink:

hehe...u try deal with any ZTHian working at low yat to build and send to you loh ;)
make sure he earns abit rm100 oso can wan, hor? :lol:

pyramid prices in general is higher than low yat, some stuff same price or rm5 more expensive only :P

i bought a new pc
using abit uguru as8-v mother board
1gb of ram-kingston
3.0 p4
ati radeeon 9000+ (3d card) -- forgot which series
Creative sound card
dvd r/w
a cd room
it cost me 3000
is it worth?

Originally posted by glozz@Dec 25 2004, 00:25
Ermm; why the HELL do you need 1gb of ram? :lol: :lol:
in ye good old days 1GB ram can load up linux, spoof s/w, hops s/w, etc. and got enough ram to create lotsa bots to flood and DDOS any server :lol:

during dial-up days lah....

nowadays that amount of ram can get you fancy shit windows xp.
hentai vcd playing as wallpaper.
true type fonts with photo realistic skins for every program running on top of an alternative gui? :lol:

got one friend who just use pc for ms office and surf abit for porn.
ask me what specs good.....bring him see pc/notebook always think cheap wan useless, etc.....for his needs i think medium class would do, no lag from really horrible cheap stuff but not too epensive and unrealistic.....i always ask him how fast u want ms word to go? :lol: